JB4tech.com - International Turbo Tuning Discussion
(#376)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-18-2013, 04:16 AM

what sort of gains did u get on your m135 i ?
Reply With Quote
(#377)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-18-2013, 04:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by malrayes
Map 2 requires a ******** and octane 93, do you have a ******** on your car?

And.. Your profile says you have a f20, did you check with terry if the jb4 is compatible with your vehicle?
no ******** , but we run 95 octane fuel in south africa , and i know someone
who has the same car with jb 4 and it work's well
Reply With Quote
(#378)
Old
Bruce GT3 Bruce GT3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2013
Car: 2013 M135i
Default 12-18-2013, 04:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
what sort of gains did u get on your m135 i ?
See my post here; http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=359

This is a JB4 Stage 2 with a Scorpion ***** ******** and TBE and running Shell V-Power (99 RON in UK terms). HTH?
Reply With Quote
(#379)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-18-2013, 05:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce GT3
See my post here; http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=359

This is a JB4 Stage 2 with a Scorpion ***** ******** and TBE and running Shell V-Power (99 RON in UK terms). HTH?
why do you use a fly wheel dyno , not accurate, engine must be pulled out for these figures to be correct , my car on a wheel dyno pulled 212kw (289 hp ) and 459nm of torque (338.5 ft/lb) and these are my car stock figures , your fly wheel figures are estimate.
Reply With Quote
(#380)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-18-2013, 05:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
why do you use a fly wheel dyno , not accurate, engine must be pulled out for these figures to be correct , my car on a wheel dyno pulled 212kw (289 hp ) and 459nm of torque (338.5 ft/lb) and these are my car stock figures , your fly wheel figures are estimate.
what is TBE ?
Reply With Quote
(#381)
Old
copperman05 copperman05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: BMW M135i
Default 12-18-2013, 05:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
no ******** , but we run 95 octane fuel in south africa , and i know someone
who has the same car with jb 4 and it work's well
I think the issue more is heat build up at the turbo, without a sports *** or ***** you risk overheating the turbo as the exhaust gases bottlehead at the DP. It may run fun for a while but in the long term I would suggest its not ideal.
Have you tried map 1?
Reply With Quote
(#382)
Old
malrayes's Avatar
malrayes malrayes is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2013
Car: 2012 BMW 640i F13
Default 12-18-2013, 07:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
no ******** , but we run 95 octane fuel in south africa , and i know someone
who has the same car with jb 4 and it work's well
Oh no, no, no my friend! Your octane is as same as we have here in the arab world, its european measurement. 95 octane is equal to 91 or 90.5 in the US!

So basically your running the map with low octane and a catted pipe!!


2012 BMW 640i Coupe F13 | Dr. Euro Down Pipe | BMS intake | M Performance Exhausts | JB4 Stage 2

Last edited by malrayes; 12-18-2013 at 07:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#383)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-18-2013, 08:58 AM

so we running crap fuel ! pls tell me what is TBE
Reply With Quote
(#384)
Old
Benstermin's Avatar
Benstermin Benstermin is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2013
Car: F20 125i M Sport
Default 12-18-2013, 09:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
so we running crap fuel ! pls tell me what is TBE
Turbo Back Exhaust



F20 125i M Sport (N20 218 PS)
Reply With Quote
(#385)
Old
Bruce GT3 Bruce GT3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2013
Car: 2013 M135i
Default 12-19-2013, 02:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
why do you use a fly wheel dyno , not accurate, engine must be pulled out for these figures to be correct , my car on a wheel dyno pulled 212kw (289 hp ) and 459nm of torque (338.5 ft/lb) and these are my car stock figures , your fly wheel figures are estimate.
I refuse to get into the perennial "my dyno reads this" and "my dyno reads that" argument. I know that the only true figures one should use are the wheel hp and torque but here in the UK dyno operators tend to use the fiddle-factor and estimate the flywheel figures. All I will say is that the dyno used to get these numbers was a Dyno Dynamics run in shoot-out mode - a set up generally believed to be one of the most reliable and harshest of judges when it comes to estimating transmission losses and giving an estimate of the flywheel numbers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
what is TBE ?
As said, a turbo-back exhaust - so basically everything from the turbo to the tailpipe!!
Reply With Quote
(#386)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default map selection - 12-19-2013, 07:15 AM

hi ! can someone pls tell me if the steering wheel controls work for selecting maps , and how do i know what map the car is in on a 6 speed m t ? f20 m135 i
using a jb4 n55
Reply With Quote
(#387)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-19-2013, 07:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce GT3
I refuse to get into the perennial "my dyno reads this" and "my dyno reads that" argument. I know that the only true figures one should use are the wheel hp and torque but here in the UK dyno operators tend to use the fiddle-factor and estimate the flywheel figures. All I will say is that the dyno used to get these numbers was a Dyno Dynamics run in shoot-out mode - a set up generally believed to be one of the most reliable and harshest of judges when it comes to estimating transmission losses and giving an estimate of the flywheel numbers.



As said, a turbo-back exhaust - so basically everything from the turbo to the tailpipe!!
all i wanted to know was what your gains were so i could compare to mine , but i cant because mine is wheel and yours is flywheel , just wanted info ! thanks for tbe explainsion
Reply With Quote
(#388)
Old
Bruce GT3 Bruce GT3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2013
Car: 2013 M135i
Default 12-19-2013, 07:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by m135ispeedy
all i wanted to know was what your gains were so i could compare to mine , but i cant because mine is wheel and yours is flywheel , just wanted info ! thanks for tbe explainsion
No worries mate. If you get my numbers and subtract what BMW give as standard you should get a pretty good idea of what to expect.

Re: your car, I have the Sport Auto and the steering wheel buttons work for changing the map (i.e. the number of blinks on the gearshift LED = Map number). Note that this will only turn the JB4 on and off; AFAIK you can't change the JB4 map you're running on the fly, merely switch from the standard BMW map to whatever map the JB4 was running previously. HTH?
Reply With Quote
(#389)
Old
copperman05 copperman05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: BMW M135i
Default 12-19-2013, 05:24 PM

Latest firmware will allow you to swap between whatever map you have selected and map 0. So you can switch between map. 6 and map 0 on the steering wheel for instance once map 6 has been selected via the laptop.

On the manual the only way to check what map you have selected is to connect a laptop, but you should feel enough difference to know its switch on or not...
Reply With Quote
(#390)
Old
easy2speed easy2speed is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2008
Car: 2012 GTR and 2011 335is 6mt
Default 12-24-2013, 03:35 PM

Installed an F30 JB4 on my buddy's 2013 335i. It was just ordered last week. Does he need flex fuel wires to run E85 or is that only the original stage 2?


'16 M5 ZCP - JB4 and BCM
'16 M3 6mt - JB4 with intakes
'16 X5 50i Msport - Wife's

Sold:
'13 GTR - 800whp
'07 997TT - 700whp
Reply With Quote
(#391)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 34,198
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 12-24-2013, 04:04 PM

Yes all N55s need the flex fuel connector to run more than 20% E85.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#392)
Old
add1ct's Avatar
add1ct add1ct is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: F30 335i
Default 12-26-2013, 05:45 PM

Any update on time frame for map5 being available for f-series?
Reply With Quote
(#393)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 34,198
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 12-26-2013, 09:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by add1ct
Any update on time frame for map5 being available for f-series?
No update has been posted on that. But it is still being worked on.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#394)
Old
2blu 2blu is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: F30 335i X-Drive M-Sport 8AT
Question 12-28-2013, 11:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
Here is a photo of what the pneumatic boost solenoid looks like. It's on the passenger side of the engine above the turbo. Most cars have this but a few use a different electronic design. The electronic version is not yet supported for Stage2.
After reading up a few things on the net I've gotten a little paranoid. Might seem like a bit of a noob, but from what I've understood, the pneumatic wastegate actuator is recognizable from the tube with the green lettering on it ? Mine looks like the one you reference, but the tube doesn't have green lettering.

Here is mine, is it pneumatic or electronic ?



Thanks.

EDIT: IT IS PNEUMATIC

Last edited by 2blu; 01-05-2014 at 11:59 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#395)
Old
ghostchili ghostchili is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 2014 335xi
Default Can I install firmware before car install? - 12-30-2013, 08:57 AM

My can will FINALLY be here tomorrow after sitting in port over 30 days!! I have my jb4 sitting here and I'm bored. Can I install the firmware now or does the JB4 need to be installed in the car first?
I plan on installing it asap but map 0 for a while during break in, then map 7 all day everyday!
Reply With Quote
(#396)
Old
ghostchili ghostchili is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 2014 335xi
Default 12-30-2013, 09:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2blu
After reading up a few things on the net I've gotten a little paranoid. Might seem like a bit of a noob, but from what I've understood, the pneumatic wastegate actuator is recognizable from the tube with the green lettering on it ? Mine looks like the one you reference, but the tube doesn't have green lettering.

Here is mine, is it pneumatic or electronic ?



Thanks.
On that note, since mine is a 2014 335ix will it be pneumatic or electronic automatically?
Reply With Quote
(#397)
Old
m135ispeedy m135ispeedy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: m 135 i (f20)
Default 12-31-2013, 01:41 AM

hi guys what is the latest firmware for the n55 jb 4 stage 2
Reply With Quote
(#398)
Old
UTenigma UTenigma is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 2013 335i F30
Default 12-31-2013, 01:36 PM

Anybody have a DIY on how to run the bms USB cable from inside the engine bay into the cabin? (F30 335i)

I've poked around, removed the passenger side kick panel, and haven't found anything obvious. I see wire bundle in the foot well that seems to terminate in the fuse panel in the engine bay but haven't been able to make that work. Any ideas?

Last edited by UTenigma; 01-02-2014 at 02:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#399)
Old
MarinoB's Avatar
MarinoB MarinoB is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 51
Join Date: May 2008
Car: E92 335i
Default 01-01-2014, 08:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostchili
On that note, since mine is a 2014 335ix will it be pneumatic or electronic automatically?
Unfortunately like me probably electric. Seems like we won't have a solution for a while.


2008 Jet Black E92 N54, JB4, FBO, Meth
2011 LeMans Blue E92 N55, JB4, ********
2014 Estroil Blue F30 N55, JB4
2018 Mineral Grey F80 M3 - JB4, *********, BMS Intake
ON DECK: 2020 X3 M Competition
Reply With Quote
(#400)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 34,198
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 01-01-2014, 10:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by UTenigma
Anybody have a DIY on how to run the bmw USB cable from inside the engine bay into the cabin? (F30 335i)

I've poked around, removed the passenger side kick panel, and haven't found anything obvious. I see wire bundle in the foot well that seems to terminate in the fuse panel in the engine bay but haven't been able to make that work. Any ideas?
It's pretty easy. Remove a rubber plug in the engine bay, use a knife to put a slot in the carpet behind it, poke it through, and fish it out from the passenger area by the firewall and in to the glove box.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2022, JB4tech.com