N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#151)
Old
Drottam Drottam is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2017
Car: F10 550i N63tu xdrive
Default 03-05-2019, 07:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
Yes the same upgrade kit we offer for the S63TU should work, you'd have to update the firmware to N63TU V2 firmware.
Thatís great news! Is there an exchange program? If so what all do we need to send back? Does V2 require a new harness too?

Thanks in advance.


F10 N63tu 550i Xdrive Msport, Imperial Blue Metallic, Beta JB4 w/BCM, Frequency intelligence catback, 20" Matte Bronze Ferrada F-8 wheels, H&R springs - WR 11.057@123.19 quarter mile
Reply With Quote
(#152)
Old
bryanZ bryanZ is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2018
Car: 2015 650i vert
Default 03-06-2019, 01:35 PM

do you still have to hook up fuel wires with the v2?
Reply With Quote
(#153)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,977
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 03-06-2019, 03:40 PM

We no longer offer fuel pressure connections for it.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#154)
Old
Drottam Drottam is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2017
Car: F10 550i N63tu xdrive
Default 03-07-2019, 09:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
We no longer offer fuel pressure connections for it.
Does that mean V2 will not support fuel connections Iím using with V1? If there are no fuel connections is the dme still able to keep afr in the correct range?


F10 N63tu 550i Xdrive Msport, Imperial Blue Metallic, Beta JB4 w/BCM, Frequency intelligence catback, 20" Matte Bronze Ferrada F-8 wheels, H&R springs - WR 11.057@123.19 quarter mile
Reply With Quote
(#155)
Old
ceboo ceboo is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2019
Car: F30 335xi
Default 02-05-2020, 02:21 PM

Hi iím looking to get the jb4 for my 550i f10 16 N63tu

Iím wondering about the installation;

for the n63tu apparently we have to unplugged the MAF sensor and its provide
a check engine?? What thats meant? You always get the check engine on with the jb4 installed?

This issue is still on for the recent version?

Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
(#156)
Old
Splittlive Splittlive is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2019
Car: BMW 550i F10
Default 02-05-2020, 04:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceboo
Hi iím looking to get the jb4 for my 550i f10 16 N63tu

Iím wondering about the installation;

for the n63tu apparently we have to unplugged the MAF sensor and its provide
a check engine?? What thats meant? You always get the check engine on with the jb4 installed?

This issue is still on for the recent version?

Thanks for any help
No, the newest version clears the code upon starting the car.
Reply With Quote
(#157)
Old
ceboo ceboo is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2019
Car: F30 335xi
Default 02-05-2020, 04:57 PM

Hi
Thanks for your help.
Its a good news, but can you clarify the code is erased or reset upon starting the car? Nothing to do or you always have to go thru the phone app to delete the code?
Reply With Quote
(#158)
Old
Splittlive Splittlive is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2019
Car: BMW 550i F10
Default 02-05-2020, 06:26 PM

It clears the code each time the car is started automatically. My experience is I do not have to launch the app for the code the be cleared. When I start the car no CEL comes on.
Reply With Quote
(#159)
Old
ceboo ceboo is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2019
Car: F30 335xi
Default 02-29-2020, 03:54 PM

is that me or thereís relatively no reviews on the newest version with bcm integrated..?

Have a 16 550i and iím impress by the numbers advertised!
But what about reliability of this compare with the one for the N55/N54 with lot more tester on the market?
Reply With Quote
(#160)
Old
Repo335i Repo335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 335i
Default N63 tu - 05-18-2020, 10:41 AM

do I have to connect the bcm? and which maps can I drive without Bcm and without hardware changes? can I drive map 2 and if so, how much power does map 2 bring?

Last edited by Repo335i; 05-18-2020 at 10:57 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#161)
Old
ceboo ceboo is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2019
Car: F30 335xi
Wink New oem bosch plugs - 05-19-2020, 07:15 AM

Question is for Terry

I have a 16 550i f10 that i just changed the plugs
Oem Bosch

My question is , according to you
Could it be fine to add the jb4 only with Brand New OEM plugs
and no other mods...

Or you ABSoLuTELY recommends to switch with ngk to avoid misfire?
Car have 45k miles for info
New (oem) plugs have not even 500km....

Thanks appreciate your help!
Reply With Quote
(#162)
Old
doggboy doggboy is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: Mar 2020
Car: 2013 650i
Default 06-24-2020, 08:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceboo
Question is for Terry

I have a 16 550i f10 that i just changed the plugs
Oem Bosch

My question is , according to you
Could it be fine to add the jb4 only with Brand New OEM plugs
and no other mods...

Or you ABSoLuTELY recommends to switch with ngk to avoid misfire?
Car have 45k miles for info
New (oem) plugs have not even 500km....

Thanks appreciate your help!
The factory plugs are fine if you are only adding a couple of pounds of boost (like a stage 1) but when you push more, you will need a colder plug and you will need to tighten the gap a bit. They do not have to be NGK, but I didn't see any 2 step colder plugs that would fit our cars from Bosch. Some people have said they run the JB4 or BM3 on stock plugs, but my car did not like it.
Reply With Quote
(#163)
Old
SirTex SirTex is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2020
Car: BMW 650i xDrive F06 2013
Default 11-24-2020, 07:56 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this forum and wanted to know if I only need the BCM connections because the gearbox always opens the wastegates and thus regulates the boost pressure down when the boost gets too high. I am asking this question because i already have a transmission tune on my ZF8HP80Z which deactivates the boost pressure regulation in any gear.
If this would be the case, i would not need the BCM to be connected, right?

Btw i have a 2013 BMW 650i xDrive (N63TU).

Thanks for the help in advance and greetings from Austria!
Reply With Quote
(#164)
Old
///Monst3r ///Monst3r is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 273
Join Date: Oct 2014
Car: 07 335i
Default 02-01-2021, 09:28 AM

So are fuel wires no longer a option or is it one of those things you can do but unsupported? Iíd like to see fuel pressure readings


2015 FBO 550i msport(Daily)
2007 e92 MT single turbo 335i
Reply With Quote
(#165)
Old
Mikeurbano1 Mikeurbano1 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2021
Car: M550
Default 02-06-2021, 12:32 AM



Hey guys I’m new to this forum but not new to JB4, I had some questions I just turned my 2021 M550 and installed down ***** as well. I was curious on what map you think I should be running my vehicle on? Right now I am running it on map 2 but I think it can definitely get more power with a different map.. any help or suggestions would be great
Reply With Quote
(#166)
Old
Yo_Holle Yo_Holle is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2021
Car: F15 X5 E46 M3
Default 03-03-2021, 05:00 PM

Hello
I have a 2015 X5 xDrive50i with the n63tu and thinking about getting JB4

What type connector will i need?

Does it still having steering wheel controls like older versions? or will i just have to use the app?
Reply With Quote
(#167)
Old
DCFS222! DCFS222! is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2021
Car: 2021 M550i
Default 03-06-2021, 10:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L
This is actually G series, but I'd like to hear from Terry on this also. I've heard a few people with the N63TU3, 5, 8, and X series, saying that the gains were very underwhelming, which I donít like hearing when they bought off my recommendation. Thinking the TU2/R firmware may not be optimized for the TU3.

I haven't installed my JB4 yet, waiting for the EWG harnesses, but considering how much the stock TU3 seems to like ethanol (I'm on my second tank of E25), E25/30 could really wake the motor up with a custom Map or firmware.
Mike Levy - I have driven in a 2021 m550i with ********* and the JB4 and I would have to say, whether it was just from the *********, or both, the car was considerably faster than my 2021 M550i. I was very impressed.

I see you're waiting on EWG harness, is that to achieve more power with running your E25/30? Also I don't see the EWG harness available for our engines?

Since we're limited on our 2021 m550s, I too would like to hear what Terry has to say about making more power.
Reply With Quote
(#168)
Old
DCFS222! DCFS222! is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2021
Car: 2021 M550i
Default 03-06-2021, 08:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L
I dunno. I haven't driven one with the JB4 yet. All I can do is report what people have told me.

The EWG harnesses are because on the later cars the wastegate connectors are upside down, so we can't plug them in. The harnesses will flip them. They haven't been released yet. The N63TU3 can run up to E25 from the factory.
Okay gotcha. Thank you for the reply Mike.
Reply With Quote
(#169)
Old
Tsukasa Tsukasa is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2021
Car: Vw SW 4mo dsg
Default 03-17-2021, 07:21 AM

Hi !! Im about to install a jb4 on my friend bmw m850i 2020 and i read somewhere that for the basic installation i juste need to install two of the connector to the intercoolers and the one that go to the obd2.

On the site they installation is showed on what seems like a older version of this engines. Is there a walk-through for the newer version ?

And we dont need to remove the power from the battery when installing the units ?

Last edited by Tsukasa; 03-17-2021 at 07:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#170)
Old
///Monst3r ///Monst3r is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 273
Join Date: Oct 2014
Car: 07 335i
Default 03-29-2021, 07:16 PM

For some reason the JB4 will not target anymore than 25psi. Iíve tried both map 8 and map 6 . Upgraded turbo car stacked with bm3 flash.


2015 FBO 550i msport(Daily)
2007 e92 MT single turbo 335i
Reply With Quote
(#171)
Old
Yo_Holle Yo_Holle is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2021
Car: F15 X5 E46 M3
Default 06-30-2021, 05:43 AM

I have a N63tu Jb4 with V2 board and want to run map 7, Do i still need add the fuel control wires and if so how do i attach them?
Reply With Quote
(#172)
Old
l1nk3d l1nk3d is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2020
Car: 2012 BMW X5 E70 N63
Default 11-03-2021, 08:47 PM

I'm not sure if anyone is still in here or monitoring this, BUT, I purchased a JB4 for my 2012 E70 N63 and just traded it in for a 2017 F15 50i N63 (not sure on the exact engine code yet). Looking at the intercooler sensors they look the same, but I can't find an install guide that matches my engine configuration.

Will the JB4 work with my F15 and I can just download the maps accordingly or do I need additional/different connections?
Reply With Quote
(#173)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 225
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 12-02-2021, 07:10 AM

Do we need to use a BEF to install 3.5tmap or could we setup on jb4 alone like on n54 platform?
Reply With Quote
(#174)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 225
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 12-05-2021, 06:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L
The user settings on the JB4 allow you to program the 3.5 BAR TMAP.
Thx Mike.
I installed some and put tmap =1
No codes for TMAP. I assume it worked good.
Reply With Quote
(#175)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 225
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 12-05-2021, 06:44 PM

Where can i find the steering controls. I am not familiar on haor to do the map switch on the fly. Im only able to do ot with JB4. Any videos on how to use the controls out of the steering wheel. How to get into the menues. Thx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com