N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#476)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 07-31-2019, 12:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowfree52
does the new firmware improves things in map 6 also or it's only the other maps ?

sometimes I get a "pause" between gear changes with my R 310 dsg7 but only once in a while.

I just updated the firmware now but didn't use the car yet
There are part throttle improvements. If the pause is after the shift try increasing the autoshift boost redux value. If you have 0 then start with 60 and work it up in steps.
If it persists need to taper boost from 6000 and higher or give map 4 a shot.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#477)
Old
salik990 salik990 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2019
Car: Audi A3 1.8TFSI
Default 08-01-2019, 11:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.8TFSI
Just making sure Future Use D for Audi Value 0, not bit:0 (which means value 1)

91 octane
Other day ran map6 with 5.5 or 6 in 4500rpm and got very rich arround AFR 9.somethng. So dialed to 5.

Does it means gas is not good?
i have the same car as yours: A3 1.8TFSI, on which FOL you have set? If you are going rich which is very rare on 1.8tfsi engine i think it should be on 60FOL. Have you tried map4 on new firmware which is slightly better than map2.
Reply With Quote
(#478)
Old
Zapruder Zapruder is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2017
Car: Audi S3
Default 08-03-2019, 04:49 PM

Hey George ! Hope you are well mate.
I just updated the firmware and gave map 3 a go. It feels smooth and strong, very similar to my custom map 6. I ran a couple of Dragy 0-60mph tests and map 3 gave me 3.82s vs map 6 @ 3.73s. So it’s a solid map... well done !
Looking forward to the VIN update ��
Cheers !
Reply With Quote
(#479)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-05-2019, 12:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapruder
Hey George ! Hope you are well mate.
I just updated the firmware and gave map 3 a go. It feels smooth and strong, very similar to my custom map 6. I ran a couple of Dragy 0-60mph tests and map 3 gave me 3.82s vs map 6 @ 3.73s. So itís a solid map... well done !
Looking forward to the VIN update ��
Cheers !
Great to hear. You must be getting good traction on launch with those numbers


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#480)
Old
Matt-tom Matt-tom is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2019
Car: Mk7.5 Golf R
Default 08-09-2019, 02:31 PM

Hi,

I’ve updated to the latest firmware and was running map2 but have seen that map4 would be best for a mk7.5 golf R with 7 speed DSG, I have swapped to map 4 but was wondering if I should have done any logging before switching to map 4 ?
Reply With Quote
(#481)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-09-2019, 02:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt-tom
Hi,

Iíve updated to the latest firmware and was running map2 but have seen that map4 would be best for a mk7.5 golf R with 7 speed DSG, I have swapped to map 4 but was wondering if I should have done any logging before switching to map 4 ?
If you on 93AKI/98Ron you good to go with map 4.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#482)
Old
Matt-tom Matt-tom is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2019
Car: Mk7.5 Golf R
Default 08-09-2019, 03:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
If you on 93AKI/98Ron you good to go with map 4.
Thatís awesome, thanks for the quick reply :-)
Reply With Quote
(#483)
Old
FeldiSan FeldiSan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2018
Car: VW Golf 7 R
Default 08-10-2019, 12:38 PM

Hi George, In the interface is indeed a field with the last failsafe, where I once had the point 2 Afr lean. How can I delete this or how can I tell what my last Failsafe really is?

Greetings from Germany
Reply With Quote
(#484)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-10-2019, 04:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeldiSan
Hi George, In the interface is indeed a field with the last failsafe, where I once had the point 2 Afr lean. How can I delete this or how can I tell what my last Failsafe really is?

Greetings from Germany
The failsafe will only change once you get another failsafe and find the unit map switched to a safety map. There is no way to zero it.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#485)
Old
bryanviper bryanviper is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2019
Car: VW
Exclamation 08-10-2019, 06:40 PM

Hey guys quick question,

2016 Golf R - ********, drop in aef air filter.

I usually run Map 2 when racing. However I just noticed Map 3 says the following,

ďMap 3 Peak boost 6psi 93AKI/98Ron recommendedĒ

Iím usually running 94 Octane so I should be able to use map3 while racing without any issues right? Itís more power which would help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
(#486)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-11-2019, 03:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanviper
Hey guys quick question,

2016 Golf R - ********, drop in aef air filter.

I usually run Map 2 when racing. However I just noticed Map 3 says the following,

ďMap 3 Peak boost 6psi 93AKI/98Ron recommendedĒ

Iím usually running 94 Octane so I should be able to use map3 while racing without any issues right? Itís more power which would help.

Thanks
You good on 94 and map 3


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#487)
Old
Rekt Rekt is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2019
Car: Golf R
Default 08-11-2019, 04:54 AM

Can we have some definite guidelines on what are the requirements per map?

Which maps can a stock car run? Which maps require bolt ons?
Reply With Quote
(#488)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-11-2019, 05:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekt
Can we have some definite guidelines on what are the requirements per map?

Which maps can a stock car run? Which maps require bolt ons?
Map 1-4 are octane related and will run well both on a stock car as well as a car with bolt on mods. Map 2-4 need 93AKI/98Ron minimum.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#489)
Old
FeldiSan FeldiSan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2018
Car: VW Golf 7 R
Default 08-11-2019, 09:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
The failsafe will only change once you get another failsafe and find the unit map switched to a safety map. There is no way to zero it.
Hello,

Okay, thanks for that answer. I have created a log for map 5 without meth, only with 102 octane fuel in Germany. What I see looks really good and goes forward massively. The timings go to 11-13 degrees with no dropdowns. So just wanted to make sure that I get that too, should he go to the failsafe.

Greetings
Reply With Quote
(#490)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-11-2019, 11:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeldiSan
Hello,

Okay, thanks for that answer. I have created a log for map 5 without meth, only with 102 octane fuel in Germany. What I see looks really good and goes forward massively. The timings go to 11-13 degrees with no dropdowns. So just wanted to make sure that I get that too, should he go to the failsafe.

Greetings
Sounds good. Main thing to look at is the timing. Also in Germany run in the higher gears since its normal and see if it looks good through to high speeds.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#491)
Old
quattromaniac quattromaniac is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2019
Car: 2018 Audi S3
Default 08-11-2019, 09:40 PM

I'm thinking about getting a flash ECU and TCU tune for my 18' S3 and stacking it with the JB4. Do I have to take the JB4 out before flashing the car or just leave the JB4 in but unplug it from the OBDII port? I need the OBDII port to flash the car obviously.

And what map do I need to run the JB4 in after flashing the car? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
(#492)
Old
FeldiSan FeldiSan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2018
Car: VW Golf 7 R
Default 08-12-2019, 04:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
Sounds good. Main thing to look at is the timing. Also in Germany run in the higher gears since its normal and see if it looks good through to high speeds.
Hello,

OK. The log I made is from 2nd to 4th gear, minimal timing drop in 3rd gear at 1 degree. Next time I look at the higher gears and check the timings there.

Best regards
Reply With Quote
(#493)
Old
FeldiSan FeldiSan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2018
Car: VW Golf 7 R
Default 08-13-2019, 11:37 AM

Hi,

I noticed something else now. I've been driving normally for a long time now and have not got the full power. Now after a long time I have fully accelerated again and that took at least 5 operations until I had full power again.

I suspect that is due to the adaptation of the ecu, are there ways to mitigate this effect?

greetings
Reply With Quote
(#494)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-13-2019, 04:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeldiSan
Hi,

I noticed something else now. I've been driving normally for a long time now and have not got the full power. Now after a long time I have fully accelerated again and that took at least 5 operations until I had full power again.

I suspect that is due to the adaptation of the ecu, are there ways to mitigate this effect?

greetings
Prior to this was the water temperature high enough. Below 169F the JB4 is disabled.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#495)
Old
chris1210 chris1210 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2019
Car: 2017 Jetta 1.8T Sport
Default 08-14-2019, 03:46 PM

Hi folks,

Picked up a used JB4 this week, and before i attempt the install, how can i make sure that the JB4 is the right version for my car? The seller stated it was, but is there anything i can check to make sure?

Car is a 2017 Jetta 1.8T

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
(#496)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-14-2019, 04:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1210
Hi folks,

Picked up a used JB4 this week, and before i attempt the install, how can i make sure that the JB4 is the right version for my car? The seller stated it was, but is there anything i can check to make sure?

Car is a 2017 Jetta 1.8T

Thanks!
Covered via email.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#497)
Old
FeldiSan FeldiSan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2018
Car: VW Golf 7 R
Default 08-16-2019, 11:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
Prior to this was the water temperature high enough. Below 169F the JB4 is disabled.
Hi,

But of course the temperature was at engine control temperature. I was close to my work.

However, I accelerated in the normal driving program and not in the race. Does the ecu have their own ecu or Engine Programs in the different driving program, which must first be adapted for each one?

regards
Reply With Quote
(#498)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-16-2019, 11:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeldiSan
Hi,

But of course the temperature was at engine control temperature. I was close to my work.

However, I accelerated in the normal driving program and not in the race. Does the ecu have their own ecu or Engine Programs in the different driving program, which must first be adapted for each one?

regards
No, on the engine programs there is no adaption time needed.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#499)
Old
ga0887 ga0887 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2019
Car: 2016 VW GTI Dsg
Default 08-18-2019, 02:00 PM

Just updated to the latest firmware on my 2016 gti dsg and am getting overboost errors (P0234) in Map1. Did not happen with previous firmware. The car is stock other than the JB4. Any thoughts on how to fix? Driving on Map 0 produces no errors.
Reply With Quote
(#500)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 825
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 08-18-2019, 02:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ga0887
Just updated to the latest firmware on my 2016 gti dsg and am getting overboost errors (P0234) in Map1. Did not happen with previous firmware. The car is stock other than the JB4. Any thoughts on how to fix? Driving on Map 0 produces no errors.
The way the traction control works has changed so check to see if the Max boost 1st and 2nd values are set to high. Values now work as the amount of boost that must be cut. ITs a global setting so will affect all maps.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com