N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#2726)
Old
chrisdfv chrisdfv is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jul 2016
Car: 2008 335i
Default 07-16-2016, 12:38 PM

Needs some help
Reply With Quote
(#2727)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,875
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 07-16-2016, 01:18 PM

Logs go in the support forum.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#2728)
Old
za_1m za_1m is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 1M
Default 07-16-2016, 01:38 PM

Need some help please as I can't seem to find related information...

My car had the older DME version IKCOS, as part of my initial MHD setup, I backed up the ECU with saved my stock IKCOS DME file, I then loaded the JB IKMOS BEF, which I'm told would have updated my DME to IKMOS.

I'm wanting a custom tune, but I was told that I need my stock bin to be updated to IKMOS, which I though would have happened once I flashed the IKMOS BEF, so flashed car back to stock thinking that the DME would have updated to IKMOS, it flashed back to stock perfectly now I can't seem to saved a copy of my BIN, I get an ECU exception error...any idea's?
Reply With Quote
(#2729)
Old
pepper135i pepper135i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 135
Default 07-16-2016, 05:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
Yep, just make sure you have MHD 1.40, check the flash options and rewrite.


The latest version is more progressive and thus the interpolated timing is a bit less reduced. I'll need to add a new "harder" setting.


To anyone willing to help testing the map 0 switch, you can first test the map 0 auto switch feature by plugging in MHD and do "read codes". It will send the same message to the DME that the JB4 notice and use to switch to map 0. Or MHD store, or anything that requires a connection to the DME in MHD like reset adaptations.


I am glad you're testing this automatic map 0 switch I suggested 2 weeks ago per email. You're right, adapting some settings to be modified on the fly is definitely on our list of things to develop.
I uploaded the latest jb4 update last week and have since flashed my ecu a good 10-15 times .. New update works flawlessly ! You get two flashes and it drops you to map 0 automatically . On a side note I have opted into beta testing via Google store but was wondering if this applies to BEF users ?
Reply With Quote
(#2730)
Old
qgshadow qgshadow is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2016
Car: BMW E82 2008
Default 07-17-2016, 09:56 AM

Hey guys,

I just flashed the ECU with the JB4 backend and have JB4 + DCI.

What's the next big upgrade i could go to gain most power?

I still have stock turbos and was wondering what could be my next upgrade for maximum power.

And do i have to change anything else in JB4 settings except for 4-2 when flashing the ECU?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
(#2731)
Old
Oryx's Avatar
Oryx Oryx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2010 535xi
Default 07-17-2016, 03:26 PM

Really depends on what you mean by "max power".... You can change to a large single turbo,down ***** , inlets, meth or port injection, custom tune, custom tune and the list goes on.
Much of the decision making revolves around what your intended purpose is with the car. Lots of good options to have fun with.


6MT, JB4, DCI, BMS Pump BEF
Reply With Quote
(#2732)
Old
Rushan's Avatar
Rushan Rushan is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,207
Join Date: May 2014
Car: 335i E92 2009
Default 07-17-2016, 03:36 PM

+1

but in general intercooler, OCC, oil vale and ********* a must with intake valve cleaning,

Make sure you frequently change oil and plugs

After that depend on your power goals, maybe meth, E85, inlets and outlets...... And list goes on


09 E92 335i - Hot-Climate Middle East package, M Sports suspension, 19" Rims, 6AT fully built internals, bushings, raybestos clutches and sonnax with xHP stage 3, Differential lockdown, New RB Turbo CHRA, JB4 - Map 3 70 adder with N20 TMAP - MHD BMS Race Flash with Tuned Duty Bais and PID - BMS Oil Cooler Valve - RB PCV - K&N DCI - AFE Air Scoops - 98 Super Fuel - WAGNER FMIC - 3" down's, RB Inlets- BMS charge pipe With Tial BOV - BMS Meth Kit with FSB, 30/70 Water/Meth on CM12 nozzle
Reply With Quote
(#2733)
Old
Oryx's Avatar
Oryx Oryx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2010 535xi
Default 07-17-2016, 03:43 PM

Don't know how I forgot e85!!


6MT, JB4, DCI, BMS Pump BEF
Reply With Quote
(#2734)
Old
UnoDos UnoDos is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 335RBi
Default 07-18-2016, 12:57 AM

Hi guys!

Do you know if I can use the BT cable to do the backend flash with MHD??? I'm trying to flash my car but de BB software doesn´t work, and I feel like I wasted 179 $....

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
(#2735)
Old
Rushan's Avatar
Rushan Rushan is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,207
Join Date: May 2014
Car: 335i E92 2009
Default 07-18-2016, 12:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by UnoDos
Hi guys!

Do you know if I can use the BT cable to do the backend flash with MHD??? I'm trying to flash my car but de BB software doesn´t work, and I feel like I wasted 179 $....

Thanks.
No you can't use the BT cable with MHD


09 E92 335i - Hot-Climate Middle East package, M Sports suspension, 19" Rims, 6AT fully built internals, bushings, raybestos clutches and sonnax with xHP stage 3, Differential lockdown, New RB Turbo CHRA, JB4 - Map 3 70 adder with N20 TMAP - MHD BMS Race Flash with Tuned Duty Bais and PID - BMS Oil Cooler Valve - RB PCV - K&N DCI - AFE Air Scoops - 98 Super Fuel - WAGNER FMIC - 3" down's, RB Inlets- BMS charge pipe With Tial BOV - BMS Meth Kit with FSB, 30/70 Water/Meth on CM12 nozzle
Reply With Quote
(#2736)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 07-19-2016, 11:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by za_1m
Need some help please as I can't seem to find related information...

My car had the older DME version IKCOS, as part of my initial MHD setup, I backed up the ECU with saved my stock IKCOS DME file, I then loaded the JB IKMOS BEF, which I'm told would have updated my DME to IKMOS.

I'm wanting a custom tune, but I was told that I need my stock bin to be updated to IKMOS, which I though would have happened once I flashed the IKMOS BEF, so flashed car back to stock thinking that the DME would have updated to IKMOS, it flashed back to stock perfectly now I can't seem to saved a copy of my BIN, I get an ECU exception error...any idea's?
As seen per email - remove your backup file before flashing back to stock to force an update, rather than reflash your old software again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepper135i
I uploaded the latest jb4 update last week and have since flashed my ecu a good 10-15 times .. New update works flawlessly ! You get two flashes and it drops you to map 0 automatically . On a side note I have opted into beta testing via Google store but was wondering if this applies to BEF users ?
Beta channel is mostly used for MHD maps testing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UnoDos
Hi guys!
Do you know if I can use the BT cable to do the backend flash with MHD??? I'm trying to flash my car but de BB software doesn´t work, and I feel like I wasted 179 $....
Thanks.
Can't your return it?
Reply With Quote
(#2737)
Old
ArsE92 ArsE92 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 2007 E92 335i AT
Default 07-19-2016, 11:46 PM

Hi Folks

Apologies if this has been covered but I can't find much talk of it.

I have a 2007 335i with a JB4 ISO running the MHD back end flash (1-6-16). I have terrible jerkiness which feels like fuelling being cut completely when changing up at anything greater than 90% throttle. My car is an AT and I always use 99RON fuel in the UK. I have the Alpina gearbox flash.

Should I try the desensitise knock sensor option? I'm a bit concerned about the potential engine damage. How likely is that?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
(#2738)
Old
UnoDos UnoDos is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 335RBi
Default 07-20-2016, 02:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
As seen per email - remove your backup file before flashing back to stock to force an update, rather than reflash your old software again.


Beta channel is mostly used for MHD maps testing.


Can't your return it?
Don't think so. I guess I'll go with MHD flash. Thanks mate.
Reply With Quote
(#2739)
Old
Grounded Grounded is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: N54
Default 07-22-2016, 05:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArsE92
Hi Folks

Apologies if this has been covered but I can't find much talk of it.

I have a 2007 335i with a JB4 ISO running the MHD back end flash (1-6-16). I have terrible jerkiness which feels like fuelling being cut completely when changing up at anything greater than 90% throttle. My car is an AT and I always use 99RON fuel in the UK. I have the Alpina gearbox flash.

Should I try the desensitise knock sensor option? I'm a bit concerned about the potential engine damage. How likely is that?

Thanks in advance!
Remove the jb4. If the problem goes away try a mhd flash only.
Reply With Quote
(#2740)
Old
Oryx's Avatar
Oryx Oryx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2010 535xi
Default 07-22-2016, 03:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grounded
Remove the jb4. If the problem goes away try a mhd flash only.
Wouldn't you want to just understand the root cause and address? Probably a setting adjustment.

"A poor craftsman blames his tools"


6MT, JB4, DCI, BMS Pump BEF
Reply With Quote
(#2741)
Old
Grounded Grounded is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: N54
Default 07-22-2016, 09:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oryx
Wouldn't you want to just understand the root cause and address? Probably a setting adjustment.

"A poor craftsman blames his tools"
yes, but that can take a long time. You may still not even figure it out. Your quote makes no sense in this situation. We are discussing modifying cars.
Reply With Quote
(#2742)
Old
Oryx's Avatar
Oryx Oryx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2010 535xi
Default 07-23-2016, 05:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grounded
yes, but that can take a long time. You may still not even figure it out. Your quote makes no sense in this situation. We are discussing modifying cars.
I wasn't personally attacking you, just referring to the situation.

JB4 and MHD are tools used to tune. The application of their capabilities to achieve a desired tune sure seems like a tool to me. An OTS tune doesn't always perform the same for every car and parameters may need to be adjusted. The same goes for both products. In many cases the use of both together can achieve the best results.


6MT, JB4, DCI, BMS Pump BEF
Reply With Quote
(#2743)
Old
BobVader's Avatar
BobVader BobVader is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 145
Join Date: Dec 2008
Car: 335xi 2008
Default 07-23-2016, 09:19 AM

How I can change setting like"bug shift" etc... In bef. I have bef race for jb4 for now.

Thank


'08 BMW 335xi // Sedan // Black Sapphire // Sports Package//Mods: JB4 G5 iso|MHD bef Race|Hexon rr600|inlets|stage 2 fuel pump|N20 tmap 3.5|Chargepipe|Diverter valve|RB pcvalve|BMS Meth kit|AA Speed Delimiter|BMS tuning gauge|UR CL **|BMS DCI|AA Exhaust|HELIX fmic|CDV|H&R coilover|10mm Spacers H&R on 4 wheels|**Record for XI's on dragtimes.com, before new turbo and inlets...new results soon...11.768s@118.70**Top speed 186,4 mph GPS, vbox 60-130mph 7.9,
Reply With Quote
(#2744)
Old
AdamHarbour AdamHarbour is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Feb 2016
Car: N54 135i
Default 07-23-2016, 09:40 AM

Anyway to make the exhaust burble work when stationary??
Reply With Quote
(#2745)
Old
willyjoe willyjoe is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2015
Car: E93
Default 07-23-2016, 10:43 AM

Ok, so my buddy was flashing his car with a backend flash and the tablet got a battery overheat warning halfway thru and killed the flash. now the car has nothing. We cant even get the key out. Battery has a full charge. I'm lost. any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
(#2746)
Old
08_335i 08_335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 298
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: 2008 335i
Default 07-23-2016, 11:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by willyjoe
Ok, so my buddy was flashing his car with a backend flash and the tablet got a battery overheat warning halfway thru and killed the flash. now the car has nothing. We cant even get the key out. Battery has a full charge. I'm lost. any suggestions?
Restart the flash, MHD should give a full reflash option.
Reply With Quote
(#2747)
Old
lightning lightning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2016
Car: BMW 1M Coupe
Default 07-24-2016, 10:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHarbour
Anyway to make the exhaust burble work when stationary??


Would like to know too
Reply With Quote
(#2748)
Old
08_335i 08_335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 298
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: 2008 335i
Default 07-24-2016, 12:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightning
Would like to know too
Put it in gear, take off real quick then slam on the brakes. Burble while stationary.
Reply With Quote
(#2749)
Old
MDMA 135i MDMA 135i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2014
Car: BMW 135i
Default 07-24-2016, 05:44 PM

Please help, last month i was driving on the freeway and few minutes after some hard driving i try to accelerate in the 4nd gear and got reduced engine power and mhd read 30FF - Low Boost Pressure. I also think that i heard some strange noise like something was broken..

Mhd stg 1+,*********,without intercooler

Car has a boost but there is no power any more :/
What can be a problem that there is boost but no power. Turbos also changed sound but not significant.

This is log before failure

http://***********/u/bmw135in54/log-1...10-11-12-13-24

Log after failure

http://***********/u/bmw135in54/log-1...=0&data=4-6-24

here i have timing correction but i changed my old original bmw spark plugs for new bosch plugs..

Sorry on my bad english and i hope that is only boost leak :/

i uses mhd only for 700-800km
Reply With Quote
(#2750)
Old
enrita's Avatar
enrita enrita is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 291
Join Date: Sep 2008
Car: 335i
Default 07-25-2016, 02:56 AM

Check the charge pipe


07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 Flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2019, N54tech.com