N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1326)
Old
swat's Avatar
swat swat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jan 2015
Car: 07 335i
Default 08-17-2015, 05:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by torn08
So if we are running a back and flash, all the new jb4 options don't really matter? The linear boost and everything?
JB4 still controls boost with back end flash. In fact it always controls boost and wastegates.


----------------
Stacked BMS Flash & JB4, Dinan CAI, ER Chargepipe, 7" VRSF Intercooler, VRSF DP's, ER Sport Oil Cooler w/Steel lines, Gunmetal 19" VMR V710's, 335is clutch, Wavetrac LSD, M3 FSB, M3 Front & Rear Control arms, M3 RSB, M3 rear subframe bushings, M3 guide rods
Reply With Quote
(#1327)
Old
torn08 torn08 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: 08 e93 335i
Default 08-17-2015, 06:35 PM

So do we use the linear option in jb4 menu or mhd flash menu?


08 e93 335i - JB4 w/Trebila tune, alpina trans flash, bms dci, vrsf cp, tial bov, vrsf dp, vrsf 7 fmic, bms occ, fuel it stage 2, N20 TMAP, vtt inlets, st coilovers
Running E50ish
Reply With Quote
(#1328)
Old
swat's Avatar
swat swat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jan 2015
Car: 07 335i
Default 08-17-2015, 06:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by torn08
So do we use the linear option in jb4 menu or mhd flash menu?
JB4


----------------
Stacked BMS Flash & JB4, Dinan CAI, ER Chargepipe, 7" VRSF Intercooler, VRSF DP's, ER Sport Oil Cooler w/Steel lines, Gunmetal 19" VMR V710's, 335is clutch, Wavetrac LSD, M3 FSB, M3 Front & Rear Control arms, M3 RSB, M3 rear subframe bushings, M3 guide rods
Reply With Quote
(#1329)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-18-2015, 01:34 AM

I've been waiting for a response for a few days in re: to my queries.

I've been reading so much I have just confused myself reading contradicting info.

Who is usually the best person to contact for quick replies? Questions in this thread quickly become hidden.
Reply With Quote
(#1330)
Old
dawhiz's Avatar
dawhiz dawhiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 299
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 09 335xi
Default 08-18-2015, 02:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
I've been waiting for a response for a few days in re: to my queries.

I've been reading so much I have just confused myself reading contradicting info.

Who is usually the best person to contact for quick replies? Questions in this thread quickly become hidden.
MHD on here @ mhd.tuning@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#1331)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-18-2015, 05:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CharliesN54
I've been using mhd jb4 backend flashes for sometime now and everything works flawlessly. I do however have a couple of questions. 1: in the play store app description it say "upgrade/downgrade to IJEOS / I8AOS to take advantage of specific features"

How do you do this? I have a I8AOS car, what would be the benefit to this upgrade?

Thanks.
You can't. I8A0S is the latest firmware for MSD80, IJE0S for MSD81 (outside 1M, 335is and z4).
Reply With Quote
(#1332)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-18-2015, 05:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Hopefully someone can help with this.

Another thing.

I have a pre 03/2007 car.
Does that mean i need a KLINE cable rather than a DCAN cable?
Either KLine only (like is the BMWHat cable), or K+Dcan like most cables are. I have seen some DCan only cables so take care.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Hi Everyone. I was going to email MHD, but i thought i'd post here first.

I am reading and reading and reading... I think I am just confusing myself. I just want to be told what to do and go from there.

I haven't got the DCAN cable yet or the MHD app as i just want to get to grips.

I am in England and only run Shell Vpower...(your equivalent of 95 i believe) and we don't have ethanol here unfortunately.
I am FBO (about to run meth) and currently just using JB4 on Map 5 (Love it but getting annoyed with how inconsistent it is)

______________________________________________

So i want to stack the flash using MHD with the JB4 as many do. To keep things simple first I just want to run FBO and will begin running meth later once I've got to grips with the MHD and loading new back end flashes.

Being in England i have heard rumours about issues using U.S. based maps as our fuel is different... Is this true???

Should i run a pre made flash off the MHD app (if so, which one) or is there a more ideal map for us UK people running FBO and who should I go to for it? Then i assume i would run on Map 2 or Map 5 again? I would prefer more consistent performance with boost always hitting a target. Right now, sometimes i get 15psi on the JB4 and others i only get 12psi... It's quite annoying.

After i get this all running and setup, I can log and post back here and see what can be done to improve the performance based on the logs.
______________________________________________

Now this may sound silly.
But if i was then to run Meth, would i just begin running map3 over the back end flash? Or would i need to load an all new flash which is ready for meth?


Thank you.

Josh
Start by running the pump flash, map 2 since it has a fixed boost target, and log. Map 3 later when you add meth.
Reply With Quote
(#1333)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-18-2015, 05:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLTEURO
Have a couple of questions for those who have experience:
I bought the Flasher Module and the monitor module, and basically made a Stage 0 BIN file from my original BIN just to make sure that the flashing goes smoothly. It's currently in progress of flashing now.

Do I have to have a BIN file every time I flash a custom ROM? XDF files won't show in the file manager when trying to upload.

Also, I'm planning on copying the tune I made for my car from Cobb's ATR file over to TunerPro, what would I need to do in order to make that a tune? Change the parameters and then save it as a new BIN, and then flash it? Is the flashing going to take this long all the time? Or am I missing something?

I just sold my Cobb AP3 today to get MHD, and it seems so far like it's very much worth it.

EDIT: ECU Flash Failed. Now says please wait...
EDIT 2: Flashing Failed. Flashing it back to Stock ECU
EDIT 3: Stock ECU Flashed. Will wait to make a new BIN file once I get home from work.
yes, just save the BIN and "flash a custom map". The .xdf is not needed.

A failed flash can come from several things like weak battery or flimpsy connectors. But it has nothing to do with the map flashed, stock or not. Changing maps is 2 minutes once the first flash has completed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_335i
Just got my cable and purchased the MHD JB4 backend flasher module today and poked around a bit and now have a couple questions.

I'm currently running the BimmerBoost JB4 backend flash, Will the MHD program option to flash back to stock somehow figure out how to set it back to stock or would I have to flash my stock file back using BimmerBoost? How about after I overwrite the BimmerBoost flash with the MHD flash? I guess the question is, does MHD have a clean stock file that it uses to flash back to stock, or something like that?

When I connect the cable to the car and MHD shows the VIN, H/W version, and voltage, the VIN and H/W are correct but with ignition on, engine off the voltage says 0V but while with the engine running it reports a plausible voltage. Is this normal?

Car is an 03/07 production 335i, k-line I8A0S.
MHD can flash you back to stock without a backup. You don't need to do it before flashing with MHD.
Reply With Quote
(#1334)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-18-2015, 06:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19e92
I'm also getting misfires on CYL 6. Happens during WOT. I'm running JB4 (v31) Map 5, menu is set to 4/2, using the 06/06/15 backend flash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guam135i
I have a 2008 135i with 66K miles. It has a misfire under load.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kish2604
Hi... I never managed to get to the bottom of the misfire with MHD on cylinder 6, (all ports were cleaned less than 500km ago, swopped coils, plugs and injectors and the misfire remained on cylinder 6) I went back to my old wedge flash and BB app and it's back to normal, planning on waiting for the next release of maps to try again...
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyt
Are you running the same boost levels? I had the same issue, 2010 XI 6AT. The only way I got it to go away was to decrease the boost. Replaced injectors coils and plugs. I've disabled misfire detection since. That said, I saw the same misfire running the bms map. The misfires would only happen around 6300rpm. Are your vanos tables changed between those maps?
Terry writes the backend maps and I hope he can chime in. I have a question though - are you all running a MT with the OEM dual mass flywheel?
Reply With Quote
(#1335)
Old
19e92's Avatar
19e92 19e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 2007 335i Coupe
Default 08-18-2015, 07:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
Terry writes the backend maps and I hope he can chime in. I have a question though - are you all running a MT with the OEM dual mass flywheel?
I have a 2007 335i AT.

I'm now getting misfires in 5 and 6. Only when at WOT and at high RPMs.

I'm running map 5 and I swear I've seen my hijack gauge hit 16-17 psi.

Is this normal for a car with just DCI and upgraded chargepipe with BOV?

Running 91 octane.

Could this be part of the problem?
Reply With Quote
(#1336)
Old
HeavyMetalRocker's Avatar
HeavyMetalRocker HeavyMetalRocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 397
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: BMW 335i e90
Default 08-18-2015, 08:15 AM

Just about to flash the ST backend and wanted to make sure I'm not pre-fking myself! PI system wont exist until late Fall for me so I'm good just flashing the ST.bin correct? Planning on running 30%'ish e85 @20psi'ish if that's the correct flash or should I flash the ST_E85.bin??
Reply With Quote
(#1337)
Old
Niska Niska is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 335i
Default 08-18-2015, 12:08 PM

In MHD flasher button "Backup the ECU" - what does this do?

Im wondering can I use this to pull out the currently modified software for further tuning (with TunerPro)?
Reply With Quote
(#1338)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-19-2015, 06:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niska
In MHD flasher button "Backup the ECU" - what does this do?

Im wondering can I use this to pull out the currently modified software for further tuning (with TunerPro)?
That's what I did. Backed up the ECU, flashed a test BIN, failed, then flashed back to stock.

I'm about 90% done with my tune using TunerPro...copied everything from my Cobb Stg1 Tune over so hopefully it works.


2008 E92 335i Coupe 6MT | Apex Arc-8 18x9.5 | MHD: Stage 2 93oct | CP-e Charge Pipe | Active Autowerke BOV | DCI | VRSF C*****S D*******S | VRSF 5" FMIC | Cyba Air Scoops | BMW PE Mod
Reply With Quote
(#1339)
Old
Kaane Kaane is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 2008 535i
Default 08-19-2015, 10:58 PM

What boost should I see on a stock 2008 535i running Stage 1 93 octane map?
Reply With Quote
(#1340)
Old
Nordic335IM3's Avatar
Nordic335IM3 Nordic335IM3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 282
Join Date: Nov 2014
Car: BMW 335I N54
Default 08-20-2015, 05:20 AM

hope its not a stupid Q:

Is it possible to get a JB4 backend pump flash with the "warm start" coding added?

(I know nothing about doing mods to the flash file)
Reply With Quote
(#1341)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-20-2015, 06:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaane
What boost should I see on a stock 2008 535i running Stage 1 93 octane map?
Not sure on the Stage 1 that you purchase, but seeing what everyone else runs for the Boost Limit Multiplier and Load Targets, probably ~14.5-~17lbs


2008 E92 335i Coupe 6MT | Apex Arc-8 18x9.5 | MHD: Stage 2 93oct | CP-e Charge Pipe | Active Autowerke BOV | DCI | VRSF C*****S D*******S | VRSF 5" FMIC | Cyba Air Scoops | BMW PE Mod
Reply With Quote
(#1342)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-20-2015, 07:18 AM

I hope this doesn't take long to flash. I found a stage 1 that i modified. Currently without a battery tender so using another car while I'm on vacation to flash my car...haha.

Although I hope it doesn't take an hour.


2008 E92 335i Coupe 6MT | Apex Arc-8 18x9.5 | MHD: Stage 2 93oct | CP-e Charge Pipe | Active Autowerke BOV | DCI | VRSF C*****S D*******S | VRSF 5" FMIC | Cyba Air Scoops | BMW PE Mod
Reply With Quote
(#1343)
Old
Niska Niska is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 335i
Default 08-20-2015, 12:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLTEURO
That's what I did. Backed up the ECU, flashed a test BIN, failed, then flashed back to stock.

I'm about 90% done with my tune using TunerPro...copied everything from my Cobb Stg1 Tune over so hopefully it works.
This doesn't quite answer my question. I have currently a nice modified software inside ecu done by a professional. Can I use "Back up the ECU" to retrieve this .bin?

Secondly does "Flash Back to stock" Flash to a complitely stock or to my retrieved modified .bin in this case?
Reply With Quote
(#1344)
Old
19e92's Avatar
19e92 19e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 2007 335i Coupe
Default 08-20-2015, 04:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaane
What boost should I see on a stock 2008 535i running Stage 1 93 octane map?
I'm running the JB4 with DCI and ER Chargepipe with dual BOVs. I'm getting 19.1 PSI peak boost.

Running 91 Octane Shell.
Reply With Quote
(#1345)
Old
KrS24's Avatar
KrS24 KrS24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: e92 335i
Default Miss Fire - 08-20-2015, 05:49 PM

The miss fire issues is happening with auto cars as well. Regardless if the user is using stock twins or single turbo. So that rules out the flywheel theory. I have seen a few guys fix it by dumping the latest BMS backends for wedge flashes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
Terry writes the backend maps and I hope he can chime in. I have a question though - are you all running a MT with the OEM dual mass flywheel?
Reply With Quote
(#1346)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-21-2015, 07:39 AM

I ran the Stage 1 Tune by Shiv from Bimmerboost and modified my Load Targets and Boost Limit Multiplier to a lower amount. When I ran it coming from the shop I flashed the tune at, I get a "codes missing" code and then got a DME Internal Failure: Control Active Torque code as well. Anyone ran into this issue?


2008 E92 335i Coupe 6MT | Apex Arc-8 18x9.5 | MHD: Stage 2 93oct | CP-e Charge Pipe | Active Autowerke BOV | DCI | VRSF C*****S D*******S | VRSF 5" FMIC | Cyba Air Scoops | BMW PE Mod
Reply With Quote
(#1347)
Old
climax_E92 climax_E92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 41
Join Date: Apr 2014
Car: E92 335i
Default 08-23-2015, 08:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
You can't. I8A0S is the latest firmware for MSD80, IJE0S for MSD81 (outside 1M, 335is and z4).

Hey i was wondering what are the main differences, if any, would loading your built in e85 flash, compared to loading the BMS e85 backend flash? Also, would i still be able to use the jb4 gauge features ? Thank you
Reply With Quote
(#1348)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-24-2015, 12:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19e92
I have a 2007 335i AT.

I'm now getting misfires in 5 and 6. Only when at WOT and at high RPMs.

I'm running map 5 and I swear I've seen my hijack gauge hit 16-17 psi.

Is this normal for a car with just DCI and upgraded chargepipe with BOV?

Running 91 octane.

Could this be part of the problem?
A user reported fixing the issue with the latest firmware (31).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaane
What boost should I see on a stock 2008 535i running Stage 1 93 octane map?
Around 14 peak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordic335IM3
hope its not a stupid Q:

Is it possible to get a JB4 backend pump flash with the "warm start" coding added?

(I know nothing about doing mods to the flash file)
The option is not present in the Jb4 backend licence as per Terry's request. You can use the option if you have a full (or upgraded to full) licence, flsh the backend using "flash a custom map".

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLTEURO
Not sure on the Stage 1 that you purchase, but seeing what everyone else runs for the Boost Limit Multiplier and Load Targets, probably ~14.5-~17lbs
MHD stage 1 is purposely a bit more conservative, more like 14 peak. Stg1+fmic is around 16-18 psi peak.
Reply With Quote
(#1349)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-24-2015, 12:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niska
This doesn't quite answer my question. I have currently a nice modified software inside ecu done by a professional. Can I use "Back up the ECU" to retrieve this .bin?

Secondly does "Flash Back to stock" Flash to a complitely stock or to my retrieved modified .bin in this case?
Make with MHD a Ecu backup, it is free. If the software cant be read MHD will tell you. Otherwise you will get the BIN (I can have a look if you want, email me).
Remove your tuned ECU backup file from the MHD folder to have MHD flash back your car to stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by climax_E92
Hey i was wondering what are the main differences, if any, would loading your built in e85 flash, compared to loading the BMS e85 backend flash? Also, would i still be able to use the jb4 gauge features ? Thank you
MHD maps are meant to be run stand alone. I recommend removing the JB4 to run stand alone map but you can try using the jb4 in 4.3 mode on map 4.
Reply With Quote
(#1350)
Old
Rushan's Avatar
Rushan Rushan is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,238
Join Date: May 2014
Car: 335i E92 2009
Default 08-24-2015, 01:32 PM

Running the MHD BMS race flash with latest JB4 firmware, I had an issue when pulling over 200-220km/h it seems I'm reaching the torque limit in the flash and the car start to hesitate and throttle down similar to hitting WOT, so the race flash load target table values 185 on 2500 and above, Terry helped and made some changes and modify the load target table from 185 to 170 now car runs perfect over 200-220km/h and goes smooth to 280km/h with no issues.

So lowering the load target tables from 185 to 170 solved the issue but the car power on pulls feel less with the values of 170 and definitely it pulls harder on the values 185, anyone had same issue with loads target and work around other than lowering the value which somehow lowering the pulling power.


09 E92 335i - Hot-Climate Middle East package, M Sports suspension, 19" Rims, 6AT fully built internals, bushings, raybestos clutches and sonnax with xHP stage 3, Differential lockdown, New RB Turbo CHRA, JB4 - Map 3 70 adder with N20 TMAP - MHD BMS Race Flash with Tuned Duty Bais and PID - BMS Oil Cooler Valve - RB PCV - K&N DCI - AFE Air Scoops - 98 Super Fuel - WAGNER FMIC - 3" down's, RB Inlets- BMS charge pipe With Tial BOV - BMS Meth Kit with FSB, 30/70 Water/Meth on CM12 nozzle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com