N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1176)
Old
boostninja boostninja is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 80
Join Date: Oct 2011
Car: 335is
Default 07-26-2015, 05:38 PM

Check to see if your phone support usb OTG (on the go). I bought a cheapo tablet that I thought would work for mhd and it didnt support usb OTG and it wouldnt recognize.
Reply With Quote
(#1177)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-26-2015, 05:45 PM

I see. My phone is the latest large face LG from Mobile1. Can I check to see if it is OTG supported? (you're a big help, thanks)


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1178)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-26-2015, 05:51 PM

I meant T-Mobile ...android phones


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1179)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-26-2015, 06:22 PM

I just checked the phone and it's is NOT supporting OTG. It really pisses me off 'cause I just spent a small fortune for this phone. Get another phone? Any way to add it?


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1180)
Old
Ocean's Avatar
Ocean Ocean is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: May 2011
Car: 2008 535i Sport
Send a message via Yahoo to Ocean
Default 07-26-2015, 07:17 PM

Larry, I picked up a 7" android tablet for $50 at Walmart. Then got the OTG cable from Radio Shack for $12. All you need to flash and run the JBB4 app with it.


Sleeper 5 series
Performance: Pro tuned MHD, xHP Stage 3 TCU flash, DCI, AR kittens, ER FMIC & CP, Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP w ported rail, RB turbos, RB inlets, KW V2, Mfactory LSD
Audio: Jehnert Flatline speakers, Mobridge M1000 DA2 digital preamp, Helix P-DSP, Zapco Z-150.6 amp, CIC iDrive upgrade
Reply With Quote
(#1181)
Old
Blew135 Blew135 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2013
Car: 135i
Default 07-26-2015, 09:20 PM

For some reason google play will not let me buy the license. Can I pay i through paypal and purchase that way instead of the app store.*
Reply With Quote
(#1182)
Old
swat's Avatar
swat swat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jan 2015
Car: 07 335i
Default 07-26-2015, 09:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBooster
I just checked the phone and it's is NOT supporting OTG. It really pisses me off 'cause I just spent a small fortune for this phone. Get another phone? Any way to add it?
Sometimes a custom kernel will add the support. But that's in rare circumstances.


----------------
Stacked BMS Flash & JB4, Dinan CAI, ER Chargepipe, 7" VRSF Intercooler, VRSF **'s, ER Sport Oil Cooler w/Steel lines, Gunmetal 19" VMR V710's, 335is clutch, Wavetrac LSD, M3 FSB, M3 Front & Rear Control arms, M3 RSB, M3 rear subframe bushings, M3 guide rods
Reply With Quote
(#1183)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-27-2015, 08:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocean
Larry, I picked up a 7" android tablet for $50 at Walmart. Then got the OTG cable from Radio Shack for $12. All you need to flash and run the JBB4 app with it.
Ocean, you always come through. I hope you have a very pleasant week. Larry


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1184)
Old
csu87 csu87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Car: 09 335xi
Default 07-27-2015, 09:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBooster
I see. My phone is the latest large face LG from Mobile1. Can I check to see if it is OTG supported? (you're a big help, thanks)
is it the LG G4? I am using it with no issues
Reply With Quote
(#1185)
Old
BriaN54 BriaN54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Join Date: Feb 2015
Car: E92 335i
Default 07-27-2015, 11:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocean
Larry, I picked up a 7" android tablet for $50 at Walmart. Then got the OTG cable from Radio Shack for $12. All you need to flash and run the JBB4 app with it.

How did that work out for you? What model was the tablet?
Reply With Quote
(#1186)
Old
miksebik miksebik is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 311
Join Date: Jan 2013
Car: E92 335i
Default 07-27-2015, 12:59 PM

Hey guys, I have a big issue with MHD. I am not sure what to do next. I flashed my car with BMS E85 flash and.....

My car began to get into limp when reaching high revs. About 6700rpm, usually. I got yellow warning lights: handbrake and DSC. Code: 5E19 (Engine management interface). The car did not react to throttle, idle was surging 1000-1500rpm. The limp appeared even when I was standing still and only revving at place, did not have to drive it! Once I reached high revs, LIMP.

Because it looked like throttle body, I tried erasing adaptations, using MHD, I erased adaptations of throttle. After starting the car, the same LIMP came, together with codes 2CFB, 2D09 (throttle valve adaptation value...). When erasing the codes, the car was OK.

So. I flashed the car back to stock, unplugged JB4. The car was OK, surprisingly fast. And god, the BOVs where so loud!!! Why they are so loud when stock?! Rode the car like if I robbed a bank, hitting rev limiter several times.
Result: no codes, no limp.

Then, we plugged the JB4. BOVs became more silent.. went for a ride, like if I robbed a second bank. and.. no codes, no limp.

Then, I erased the adaptations of throttle using MHD and... here it came: LIMP

So, the result is: the MHD BMS E85 flash on my car behaves very strangely. I do not know if it is related to rev limiter or what.. but it just gets my car into limp. It is as if reaching certain rpms triggered something in the DSC that made the car panic and cut power off. I almost bought new throttle body because of that. There must be something wrong with MHD, as erasing throttle adaptions does the same thing. I do repeat, that with stock flash, there was no 5E19 code getting my car into limp.

What next? Is it save to use the MHD application?


E92 335i N54, Hexon RR500, JB4, DCI, MMP inlets, ER chargepipe, Turbosmart Kompact Dual Port BOV, ATM IC, Wagner downp*pes, MPerformance exhaust, oil cooler, trebila flash (via MHD Flasher), E60, M Performance 370mm brakes, styling 313 wheels, M Performance suspension, Fuelit Stage2, MFactory LSD, MFactory SMWF
Reply With Quote
(#1187)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 07-27-2015, 01:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by miksebik
Hey guys, I have a big issue with MHD. I am not sure what to do next. I flashed my car with BMS E85 flash and.....

My car began to get into limp when reaching high revs. About 6700rpm, usually. I got yellow warning lights: handbrake and DSC. Code: 5E19 (Engine management interface). The car did not react to throttle, idle was surging 1000-1500rpm. The limp appeared even when I was standing still and only revving at place, did not have to drive it! Once I reached high revs, LIMP.

Because it looked like throttle body, I tried erasing adaptations, using MHD, I erased adaptations of throttle. After starting the car, the same LIMP came, together with codes 2CFB, 2D09 (throttle valve adaptation value...). When erasing the codes, the car was OK.

So. I flashed the car back to stock, unplugged JB4. The car was OK, surprisingly fast. And god, the BOVs where so loud!!! Why they are so loud when stock?! Rode the car like if I robbed a bank, hitting rev limiter several times.
Result: no codes, no limp.

Then, we plugged the JB4. BOVs became more silent.. went for a ride, like if I robbed a second bank. and.. no codes, no limp.

Then, I erased the adaptations of throttle using MHD and... here it came: LIMP

So, the result is: the MHD BMS E85 flash on my car behaves very strangely. I do not know if it is related to rev limiter or what.. but it just gets my car into limp. It is as if reaching certain rpms triggered something in the DSC that made the car panic and cut power off. I almost bought new throttle body because of that. There must be something wrong with MHD, as erasing throttle adaptions does the same thing. I do repeat, that with stock flash, there was no 5E19 code getting my car into limp.

What next? Is it save to use the MHD application?
Start with a log, but... I remember hearing something about the dual mass flywheel causing this, are you manual or automatic?
Reply With Quote
(#1188)
Old
miksebik miksebik is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 311
Join Date: Jan 2013
Car: E92 335i
Default 07-27-2015, 01:29 PM

I am manual, have log from it, Steve saw nothing unusual, no missfire.

But yes, my clutch began slipping after.. So there might be some connection. But then.. why the LIMP is reproduces when standing still and only revving?


E92 335i N54, Hexon RR500, JB4, DCI, MMP inlets, ER chargepipe, Turbosmart Kompact Dual Port BOV, ATM IC, Wagner downp*pes, MPerformance exhaust, oil cooler, trebila flash (via MHD Flasher), E60, M Performance 370mm brakes, styling 313 wheels, M Performance suspension, Fuelit Stage2, MFactory LSD, MFactory SMWF
Reply With Quote
(#1189)
Old
dawhiz's Avatar
dawhiz dawhiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 295
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 09 335xi
Default 07-27-2015, 02:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by miksebik
I am manual, have log from it, Steve saw nothing unusual, no missfire.

But yes, my clutch began slipping after.. So there might be some connection. But then.. why the LIMP is reproduces when standing still and only revving?
Did you flash a mhd backend map or a jb4 backend map? I don't think the mhd maps you buy play well with jb4 so you'd need to run a flash-only jb4 firmware if you want to run mhd flash or run jb4 backend to run with jb4.

Not sure if this is what's going on but thought i'd throw it out there if it is.
Reply With Quote
(#1190)
Old
miksebik miksebik is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 311
Join Date: Jan 2013
Car: E92 335i
Default 07-27-2015, 03:26 PM

I am sorry I was not clear enough. I had BMS MHD E85 flash. Did not try others, after the limp appeared...


E92 335i N54, Hexon RR500, JB4, DCI, MMP inlets, ER chargepipe, Turbosmart Kompact Dual Port BOV, ATM IC, Wagner downp*pes, MPerformance exhaust, oil cooler, trebila flash (via MHD Flasher), E60, M Performance 370mm brakes, styling 313 wheels, M Performance suspension, Fuelit Stage2, MFactory LSD, MFactory SMWF
Reply With Quote
(#1191)
Old
gunda gunda is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 202
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: BMW 335i E92
Default 07-27-2015, 06:27 PM

I just wanted to confirm that the $79 license fee will allow me to load any custom flash I obtain from tuners in out N54 community, as well as the BMS Flashes Terry provides?

I would assume the license fee allows me to flash whatever I want and be able to customize and load adjustments to all the torque limit tables (as well as any other table i wish to customize and load).

Thanks in advance for the clarification. I want to be sure I know what I am purchasing before I commit.
Reply With Quote
(#1192)
Old
nyt nyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 457
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 335ix
Default 07-27-2015, 08:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunda
I just wanted to confirm that the $79 license fee will allow me to load any custom flash I obtain from tuners in out N54 community, as well as the BMS Flashes Terry provides?

I would assume the license fee allows me to flash whatever I want and be able to customize and load adjustments to all the torque limit tables (as well as any other table i wish to customize and load).

Thanks in advance for the clarification. I want to be sure I know what I am purchasing before I commit.

That will allow you to flash 'jb4 backends', where mhd modifies the wgdc tables so if you try to flash then run without JB4, you won't get full boost.

If you want to flash standalone maps with higher boost limits, it's like another $40 I think for the m-boost option?

If you're running a JB4, $79 is it.


2010 335ix - hybrids, cp, ic, inlets, outlets, jb4, pi, fuel-it stg3, backend flash
Reply With Quote
(#1193)
Old
str8shot str8shot is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: N54 135i
Default 07-27-2015, 08:36 PM

Anyone else have their CBS mileage for oil reset to 0 (followed by negative miles) after you flashed?


2008 Montego Blue 135i Coupe // Sport Package // JB4 G5 Iso in passive mode with custom e30 MHD tune // Bluetooth e85 content analyzer with JB4 integration // Walboro 255 inline pump // BMS downp|pes // VRSF 7" FMIC // ER charge pipe // Turbosmart BOV // Injen intake // M-Factory SMFW // F10 550i clutch // Vorshlag camber plates // Hotchkis FSB // Turner adjustable drop links // AST 5100 coilovers // Hawk HPS pads // Ti backing plates // Stoptech stainless lines // Turner 15mm front spacers
Reply With Quote
(#1194)
Old
dawhiz's Avatar
dawhiz dawhiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 295
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 09 335xi
Default 07-27-2015, 09:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyt
That will allow you to flash 'jb4 backends', where mhd modifies the wgdc tables so if you try to flash then run without JB4, you won't get full boost.

If you want to flash standalone maps with higher boost limits, it's like another $40 I think for the m-boost option?

If you're running a JB4, $79 is it.
I believe I read this is after it's out of beta. So the $99 option is $79 now and once it's out of beta it's JB4 only for the $79. The option now will flash jb/custom modified, etc. I believe I read the jb4 option will have 0'd out values as jb4 takes care of them anyways and without a jb4 it won't work when flashed. So at that time i'd guess you can probably flash your own having a jb4 installed but not sure. Just adding to the mix here of heresay. But I imagine we'll get further details to the question soon.
Reply With Quote
(#1195)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,375
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 07-27-2015, 09:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by str8shot
Anyone else have their CBS mileage for oil reset to 0 (followed by negative miles) after you flashed?
That's a 135i KOMBI bug. I think the only fix is to reflash the KOMBI itself which is a huge PITA. I first came across it with Cobb FWIW.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#1196)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-28-2015, 09:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by csu87
is it the LG G4? I am using it with no issues
It is model LG-H631.


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1197)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 07-28-2015, 09:33 AM

I went to Walmart and Best Buy and they have no tablet with OMG application capability. I guess my best bet is to try online. Any suggestions which one I should buy (cheapest ...I have too many devices now)


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#1198)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 07-28-2015, 09:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBooster
I went to Walmart and Best Buy and they have no tablet with OMG application capability. I guess my best bet is to try online. Any suggestions which one I should buy (cheapest ...I have too many devices now)
this one looks like it supports otg, $50 ain't bad...

http://www.amazon.com/Dragon-Touch-Y.../**/B00N2QBMFQ

"There are really only two aspects that have real impact on your shopping decision:

No Bluetooth Capability (but it does have OTG/3.5mm AUX port)
512 megabytes of RAM"
Reply With Quote
(#1199)
Old
Ocean's Avatar
Ocean Ocean is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: May 2011
Car: 2008 535i Sport
Send a message via Yahoo to Ocean
Default 07-28-2015, 09:54 AM

Also need one of these to connect Dcan cable to the android tablet. http://www.amazon.com/E-Goal-Female-...male+usb+cable

Micro USB male to USB female


Sleeper 5 series
Performance: Pro tuned MHD, xHP Stage 3 TCU flash, DCI, AR kittens, ER FMIC & CP, Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP w ported rail, RB turbos, RB inlets, KW V2, Mfactory LSD
Audio: Jehnert Flatline speakers, Mobridge M1000 DA2 digital preamp, Helix P-DSP, Zapco Z-150.6 amp, CIC iDrive upgrade
Reply With Quote
(#1200)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 07-28-2015, 09:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocean
Also need one of these to connect Dcan cable to the android tablet. http://www.amazon.com/E-Goal-Female-...male+usb+cable

Micro USB male to USB female
or any OTG cable, yeah
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com