N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default BMS Stage 1 - S63TU M5 - 08-04-2015, 01:11 PM

Terry,

I connected my Stage 1 unit to my PC and when connected, I changed the boost safety to 4.0 but when I save the settings and it refreshes, it changes to 3.4. Does the same if I change it from 4 to another number. Seems to refresh to a lower number each time.

Is this a normal characteristic of the software/piggy back?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-05-2015, 11:39 AM

Perhaps you are using the wrong interface for your board. Screen shot of user adjustment page?


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-06-2015, 07:18 PM

Here are before & after screen shots. Before is when I connect to the board and after when I save the setting which changes from 4 to 3.4. When I refresh the connection (disconnect/reconnect), it displays 3.4. I tried this on two different stage 1 boards and got the same results.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by 13F10M5; 08-06-2015 at 07:23 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
garyf10m5 garyf10m5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Apr 2015
Car: F10 M5 CP
Default 08-07-2015, 05:21 AM

Pretty sure you got the wrong interface. This is for jb4. Not stage 1.
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-07-2015, 07:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyf10m5
Pretty sure you got the wrong interface. This is for jb4. Not stage 1.
Thanks Gary for your response. I thought this was the case but Stage 1 interface doesn't connect and per the install guide, I am to use JB4 interface. See note below straight from their install guide.

If your box says "n63" in marker on it (and has //3 after the firmware date) then use the Stage1
interface. If your box says "n62-2" in marker on it (and has //4 after the firmware date) then use the
JB4 interface.
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-07-2015, 12:55 PM

//4 indicates a G3_V2 board. So interface looks correct. What happens if you enter say 5.0?


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-07-2015, 03:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
//4 indicates a G3_V2 board. So interface looks correct. What happens if you enter say 5.0?
Terry, same thing happens with 5.0. It reduces I believe by .6. I am not in front of my computer but I found that this happens with any value I put in that field.

Ill give it a shot again tonight with 5 and see what value is returned.
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-08-2015, 03:16 PM

Terry,

I set it to 5.0 and once saved, it reduced to 4.3. I tried doing 5.1 and it reduced to 4.4.

It happens if I go up/down in values

Tried this on two different Stage 1 boards.
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-11-2015, 08:49 AM

Terry,

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
speed808ix speed808ix is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-11-2015, 09:06 AM

Had this happen to me, I just set it higher all the time.
Reply With Quote
(#11)
Old
13F10M5 13F10M5 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: F10 M5
Default 08-16-2015, 06:24 AM

I picked up a windows tablet for my car and noticed that when I change the values, it stays now. The issue must have been with my other computer. Glad it's corrected.

Thanks everyone for help
Reply With Quote
(#12)
Old
f10chris f10chris is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: F10 M5
Default 03-06-2016, 06:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13F10M5
Thanks Gary for your response. I thought this was the case but Stage 1 interface doesn't connect and per the install guide, I am to use JB4 interface. See note below straight from their install guide.

If your box says "n63" in marker on it (and has //3 after the firmware date) then use the Stage1
interface. If your box says "n62-2" in marker on it (and has //4 after the firmware date) then use the
JB4 interface.
My box just says 63-2 on it and can not get any firmware installed with the BMS cable and i did mine the exact way the instructions say and now can not upload a firmware to the box. any ideas?
Reply With Quote
(#13)
Old
Track Master's Avatar
Track Master Track Master is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: 135i, 2010, N55, DCT
Default 03-12-2016, 05:11 AM

Can you post link for the firmware update?


N55 DCT, 135i, 12.00@116.2, W/O Meth
,12.01@119.3, With Meth
,11.91@119.025 added BMS Intake
,12.10@115 e85 + ISO
390whp@497 - 0.60 in 3.75sec
Reply With Quote
(#14)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 03-12-2016, 11:17 AM

There are no Stage1 firmware updates.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#15)
Old
Gatchek Gatchek is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Car: 2014 BMW 535
Default 07-06-2018, 04:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
There are no Stage1 firmware updates.

Hi Terry,
I just purchased the USB cable for my stage 1 (not JB4) for my N55. What are my options as far as what I can do with my stage 1? Is there an updated firmware now? The car has started to hesitate under medium throttle, so I figured it may be the stage 1, and wanted to see if there was a diagnosis I could run. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
(#16)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 07-06-2018, 04:47 PM

This is an S63TU thread, not an N55 thread.

But there are no diagnostics on Stage1 other than to check boost levels. Would need a JB4 for diagnostics.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#17)
Old
Gatchek Gatchek is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Car: 2014 BMW 535
Default 07-06-2018, 07:05 PM

My apologies. But thanks for answering anyway. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
(#18)
Old
adamdatar adamdatar is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2018
Car: X5M
Default 07-23-2018, 06:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyf10m5
Pretty sure you got the wrong interface. This is for jb4. Not stage 1.
how can i download the Stage 1 Tune for S63tu?
Reply With Quote
(#19)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 07-23-2018, 07:05 PM

There are no Stage1 firmware updates, so nothing in any of these threads applies to Stage1.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#20)
Old
ssgm1x ssgm1x is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: bmw 535i
Default 10-24-2018, 10:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
//4 indicates a G3_V2 board. So interface looks correct. What happens if you enter say 5.0?
Is there a manual or user guide for the Stage 1 unit. I was unaware of the interface. F80 M3
Reply With Quote
(#21)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 33,855
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 10-24-2018, 11:40 AM

This thread is pretty old.

The Stage1 systems can have boost set between 0-4psi, it's already set to 4psi on //M models. You could technically set it to 5psi but generally a JB4 and its fuel control, CANbus, and advanced features are required for those levels.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#22)
Old
dylonz dylonz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2021
Car: M6
Default BMS Stage 1 - S63TU M5 - 07-01-2021, 10:18 AM

Hey Terry,

Does the BMS Stage 1 tune for N63 work with the S63? Your website shows it as two different products, but this listing shows the BMS stage 1 will work on either. Any firmware updates needed?

https://burgertuning.com/collections...cts/n63-stage1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com