N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default JB4 on Kia Proceed GT - 08-21-2020, 02:41 AM

Hi!

I have a Kia Proceed GT with the 1.6 gamma engine used in veloster.
Got my Jb4 and have plugged it in.
Read that i need to upgrade the firmware to kia v20 and enable fua = 2

The problem is when updating, i can load v19. It counts to 39x something.
It all works. I have wifi off, moved the jby oustide car, samsung galaxy s10+ right next to it.
Rebooted etc. All the info i can find online.
Havent tried and drive the v19 yet.
But when i would like to load v20 it comed to 413 and end is 417.
Connection timed out. Have set the timeout to 30.
Tried all morning till the extent that my car battery was drained.

What can i do to get to load v20?
It counts 1 number a second, signal is att best all the time.
Could try my kids phone but then ill would have to pay for the app on their account and that i dont want to do.

Any thing i havent thinked about?
Best regards /Tommy
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Lil Ripper's Avatar
Lil Ripper Lil Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: Jun 2020
Car: 2019 Veloster turbo
Default 08-21-2020, 04:55 AM

I had the same problem. I deleted the v20 hex file and downloaded it again. Worked fine after that.
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 05:02 AM

Already tried that, but will give it a go again! Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
Lil Ripper's Avatar
Lil Ripper Lil Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: Jun 2020
Car: 2019 Veloster turbo
Default 08-21-2020, 05:04 AM

I also turned off my WiFi and used my mobile data to download the file, and set the time out to 10
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 05:26 AM

yeah, even tried 30 as timeout, bur my phone bt is slow, not as fast as the youtube videos ive seen of jb4 updates.
Mine counts every second as max.
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
Lil Ripper's Avatar
Lil Ripper Lil Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: Jun 2020
Car: 2019 Veloster turbo
Default 08-21-2020, 05:30 AM

If using a v3.7 JB4 mobile adapter timeout has to be set to 10 for it to work. It's useful to place the phone next to the JB4 mobile adapter under the hood if signal strength is an issue.
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
Lil Ripper's Avatar
Lil Ripper Lil Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: Jun 2020
Car: 2019 Veloster turbo
Default 08-21-2020, 05:34 AM

I was having a few different issues. I had too delete the app and reinstall it to get it too recognize the jb4 even though my bt signal was really good.
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 05:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Ripper
If using a v3.7 JB4 mobile adapter timeout has to be set to 10 for it to work. It's useful to place the phone next to the JB4 mobile adapter under the hood if signal strength is an issue.
Will try set at 10!
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 07:32 AM

Worked great, thank you!
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is online now
Tuner
 
Posts: 32,397
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-21-2020, 08:41 AM

Glad it's sorted! Post up a JB4 log if you need any tuning advice.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#11)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 10:47 AM

Hi.
Yes something is wrong.
Heavy cuts in power. High rpm on 3-6 gear.
Map 2.
Open filter,* first muffler delete.
Ic res delete.
Hks m45xl gapped to 022
98 oct fuel.
Forge recirc dump with Green feather.
2014 year model.

See attached log.*
Any ideas what to do?
Attached Files
File Type: csv P21_M2_R2_200821_1856.csv (19.2 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
(#12)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is online now
Tuner
 
Posts: 32,397
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-21-2020, 01:19 PM

Fuel wire installed?

Let's see map1.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#13)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-21-2020, 10:31 PM

Yes fuel wire is installed. Red wire on adapter and blue on original contact.
Will get a map 0 and 1 today.
I think something is upp with ign 1 as its different from 2-4. Gonna check the gap again.
Reply With Quote
(#14)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-22-2020, 09:58 AM

Hmmm didnt go to well today.
Redid the gapping on all four spark plugs to 0024.
Did a map 0 run and a map 1 run.
Map 0 worked ok.
Map 1 had a huge cut in end of 3rd gear.
Let go of the gas, pedaled it in 4th and at the end it cut again.
Engine in limp mode P0087 Fuel Rail/System Pressure Too Low.
Reset error and put in map 0 and working again.

So i think i have two problems. One is ignition they doesnt look aligned with eatch other in the log.
The other is fuel pressure not keeping up in map 1 and above.
If you look at the attached logs do you see anything else?
Am i in the right path?
Do you know if oem fuel pump is enough for jb4 map 1-3?
Thinking my is beginning to go out due to 83000km.

Thinking of trying the jb4 on my friends car Who has 35000km inspelad.
Attached Files
File Type: csv P21_M0_R1_200822_160629.csv (16.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: csv P21_M1_R1_200822_160916.csv (19.0 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
(#15)
Old
Djfourmonie Djfourmonie is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2020 Kia Forte GT
Default 08-22-2020, 10:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy_H
Hmmm didnt go to well today.
Redid the gapping on all four spark plugs to 0024.
Did a map 0 run and a map 1 run.
Map 0 worked ok.
Map 1 had a huge cut in end of 3rd gear.
Let go of the gas, pedaled it in 4th and at the end it cut again.
Engine in limp mode P0087 Fuel Rail/System Pressure Too Low.
Reset error and put in map 0 and working again.

So i think i have two problems. One is ignition they doesnt look aligned with eatch other in the log.
The other is fuel pressure not keeping up in map 1 and above.
If you look at the attached logs do you see anything else?
Am i in the right path?
Do you know if oem fuel pump is enough for jb4 map 1-3?
Thinking my is beginning to go out due to 83000km.

Thinking of trying the jb4 on my friends car Who has 35000km inspelad.
You are at that point where parts might start failing. I would check the fuel system and see if you coils are good. I've read a few times over the internet that the coils start to go bad nearly 100,000 miles. The fuel pump might be good but the sock might be clogged especially if you run your tank down low often.

Before tuning any car, you want to be sure it's in top running shape, otherwise it will expose all sorts of problems.
Reply With Quote
(#16)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-23-2020, 01:37 AM

85 000 kilometers = 52 816 miles
The car works without tune.
Read online that the fuel line has its limits.
Hard to know if its the line or the hp fuel pump
Reply With Quote
(#17)
Old
Djfourmonie Djfourmonie is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2020 Kia Forte GT
Default 08-23-2020, 05:58 AM

You can use I think it's Map 8 for data logging no power increase as it cuts factory boost in half.

Your short term trims should be lean at high RPM if it's a pump problem, if it goes too lean the car will go into limp home mode.

It's fairly cheap to replace the fuel line which most people do on the earlier Gammas especially if they want to run E85 or E85 blends.
Reply With Quote
(#18)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is online now
Tuner
 
Posts: 32,397
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-23-2020, 08:17 AM

Turn off fuel control options bit0 on, and grab another map1 log for reference. Fuel pressure seems to crash around where fuel control is kicking on.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#19)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-23-2020, 11:18 PM

Here is a new log map1.
Fuel wire disable.
Still crashes but not as bad.
Attached Files
File Type: csv P21_M1_R1_200824_074948.csv (14.9 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
(#20)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-25-2020, 03:28 AM

Ordered upgrade fuel line from sxth element.
Ill get back after arrival and m1-m2 testing.
Reply With Quote
(#21)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-27-2020, 08:45 AM

Question.
Map 2: 5psi over stock tapering to 4psi at high RPM. Suggested for 93+ octane fuel.
Where is the line for high rpm? From 5 to 4 psi.
Is it possible to use map 6 and enter 4psi up to high rpm and then 0 psi?
Reply With Quote
(#22)
Old
Djfourmonie Djfourmonie is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2020 Kia Forte GT
Default 08-27-2020, 09:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy_H
Question.
Map 2: 5psi over stock tapering to 4psi at high RPM. Suggested for 93+ octane fuel.
Where is the line for high rpm? From 5 to 4 psi.
Is it possible to use map 6 and enter 4psi up to high rpm and then 0 psi?
What are you trying to accomplish? It looks like you want to prevent fuel pressure drop so by reducing boost at high rpm you can continue to use the JB4 until you can solve your problem?

I suppose it would work but I've learned the hard way that you make sure the car is running perfectly stock before you start increasing power.
Reply With Quote
(#23)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 08-27-2020, 09:48 AM

Yeah that was the tought.
Your right! The fuel line should be here soon
Reply With Quote
(#24)
Old
Tommy_H Tommy_H is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: Kia Proceed GT
Default 09-04-2020, 03:22 AM

So, new an8 teflon fuel line fitted.
See attached logs. Is it looking right?
It is with fuel line disabled.

Is there any advantages of running fuel line active on map 1 or 2, or it is Only map 3?

Our 98okt in sweden is calculated in USA as (RoN+MoN)/2. (98+88)/2=93 Oktan.
So is it ok to try our 98 with 30% e85 on map3?
Attached Files
File Type: csv P21_M1_R1_200902_165104.csv (24.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: csv P21_M2_R1_200902_170402.csv (15.5 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
(#25)
Old
Djfourmonie Djfourmonie is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2020 Kia Forte GT
Default 09-04-2020, 06:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy_H
So, new an8 teflon fuel line fitted.
See attached logs. Is it looking right?
It is with fuel line disabled.

Is there any advantages of running fuel line active on map 1 or 2, or it is Only map 3?

Our 98okt in sweden is calculated in USA as (RoN+MoN)/2. (98+88)/2=93 Oktan.
So is it ok to try our 98 with 30% e85 on map3?
It's perfectly fine, E30 will work on any Maps. The more knock free a fuel is the more power it will make period.

That said inlet temps are going up with more boost.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com