N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#2001)
Old
FoShizzle's Avatar
FoShizzle FoShizzle is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jul 2009
Car: '11 335is DCT
Default 02-07-2016, 01:26 PM

Are there any specific jb4 settings for the 335is when running a backend flash?
Reply With Quote
(#2002)
Old
djlilmikeny1 djlilmikeny1 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 2011 BMW 335is
Default 02-07-2016, 04:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoShizzle
Are there any specific jb4 settings for the 335is when running a backend flash?
Steering wheel setting on 4/2, and put all AFR and duty bias to 0
Reply With Quote
(#2003)
Old
FoShizzle's Avatar
FoShizzle FoShizzle is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jul 2009
Car: '11 335is DCT
Default 02-07-2016, 06:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djlilmikeny1
Steering wheel setting on 4/2, and put all AFR and duty bias to 0
Cool. Thanks. Already done.
Reply With Quote
(#2004)
Old
S.W.G. S.W.G. is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 335i
Default 02-08-2016, 07:11 AM

Trying to flash my car with the same cable i used for my alpina tcu flash. When I connect, my Nexus tablet detects the USB, asks me if i want to use MHD, and I confirm. I select the map to update, and the second the program sends the signal, my light on the cable turns off, does a quick red flash for a second, and I get a 0v cannot connect to ECU error.

JB4 is set to map 0, car is on a charger, windows are up, doors are closed, radio is off, other electrical components are off.

Is this a bad cable or is there a versioning thing going on? I'm on the latest release of JB4, MHD, and android OS on my tablet.
Reply With Quote
(#2005)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 02-08-2016, 07:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.W.G.
Trying to flash my car with the same cable i used for my alpina tcu flash. When I connect, my Nexus tablet detects the USB, asks me if i want to use MHD, and I confirm. I select the map to update, and the second the program sends the signal, my light on the cable turns off, does a quick red flash for a second, and I get a 0v cannot connect to ECU error.

JB4 is set to map 0, car is on a charger, windows are up, doors are closed, radio is off, other electrical components are off.

Is this a bad cable or is there a versioning thing going on? I'm on the latest release of JB4, MHD, and android OS on my tablet.
kill all apps on the Android device. remove cable from obd2 port and phone. make sure phone is unlocked. plug cable into the car. Red light should illuminate. turn on ignition. then plug cable into Android device and wait for MHD to autostart. should autostart in under 5 seconds if all apps were killed.

Then proceed to flash. DO NOT jiggle the cable. i have noticed some of those cables have connection issues when bumped or moved a bit while plugged in.

try that and report back.

EDIT: if the android device does not autostart when the cable is plugged in. completely reboot the phone and try again. if it still doesn't autostart. your OTG cable may be faulty.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2006)
Old
Rushan's Avatar
Rushan Rushan is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,234
Join Date: May 2014
Car: 335i E92 2009
Default 02-08-2016, 07:32 AM

Not sure but I guess keeping driver door open required to keep the ECU from going into sleep mode


09 E92 335i - Hot-Climate Middle East package, M Sports suspension, 19" Rims, 6AT fully built internals, bushings, raybestos clutches and sonnax with xHP stage 3, Differential lockdown, New RB Turbo CHRA, JB4 - Map 3 70 adder with N20 TMAP - MHD BMS Race Flash with Tuned Duty Bais and PID - BMS Oil Cooler Valve - RB PCV - K&N DCI - AFE Air Scoops - 98 Super Fuel - WAGNER FMIC - 3" down's, RB Inlets- BMS charge pipe With Tial BOV - BMS Meth Kit with FSB, 30/70 Water/Meth on CM12 nozzle
Reply With Quote
(#2007)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 02-08-2016, 07:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushan
Not sure but I guess keeping driver door open required to keep the ECU from going into sleep mode
ecu wont sleep with ignition on to my understanding. i never have door open when flashing or anything.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2008)
Old
Jboyorak Jboyorak is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jan 2014
Car: 335xi
Default 02-08-2016, 07:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTuning
ecu wont sleep with ignition on to my understanding. i never have door open when flashing or anything.
It can shut off if you open or close door with the key on.
Reply With Quote
(#2009)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 02-08-2016, 07:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jboyorak
It can shut off if you open or close door with the key on.
yes, i was thinking he meant by just sitting there. but you are correct. i always flash with the door closed. i don't even touch the windows or door locks, lol


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2010)
Old
Timmay77 Timmay77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 2008 535xiT
Default 02-08-2016, 08:06 AM

If I am just a FBO car that doesn't run E85, is it worth updating?


2014 328i xDrive Msport
Reply With Quote
(#2011)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 02-08-2016, 08:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmay77
If I am just a FBO car that doesn't run E85, is it worth updating?
updating what?


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2012)
Old
Timmay77 Timmay77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 2008 535xiT
Default 02-08-2016, 08:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTuning
updating what?
I haven't updated the MHD BEF since 12/13/15. Is it worth updating to the latest release?


2014 328i xDrive Msport
Reply With Quote
(#2013)
Old
Colorado335 Colorado335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2010 335Xdrive
Default 02-08-2016, 12:20 PM

Just wanted to post my graph see what you guys think and what I can approve on. This is only a second gear pull.


2010 335 X Drive
Bandimere Speed Way 5,800' / Track Time:TBD
VRSF DP, BMS-CP, Tial Sport Blow Off Valve, VRSF 7" FMIC, RB Inlets,, Koni struts w/Tein Springs, Spec Stage 2 Clutch Spec Flywheel, JB-4, MHD Backend Flash

Last edited by Colorado335; 02-09-2016 at 12:42 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#2014)
Old
Junkyarddogg Junkyarddogg is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2011 E92 335is
Default 02-08-2016, 01:08 PM

Newbie question..

How do I safely run a 93 map if only 91 is available? Fill up with a bit of E85? How do I know how much E85 is in the tank?
Reply With Quote
(#2015)
Old
matthewo matthewo is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: 335i
Default 02-08-2016, 09:10 PM

Been having 7f2811 error on initial flash 2-3% and car becomes unstartable. Left me stranded at gas stations for 20 minutes or so until it finally works.

Had to retry flash 5-8 times before it worked. Any idea?

It was a jb4 back end map change
Reply With Quote
(#2016)
Old
bigdnno98's Avatar
bigdnno98 bigdnno98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2011
Car: e92 335i
Default 02-08-2016, 09:12 PM

^^I'm having issues also. I have a known good CAN cable and the tablet seems to be working fine. I think it's my OTG adapter.


2011 335is DCT, FBO
Reply With Quote
(#2017)
Old
bigdnno98's Avatar
bigdnno98 bigdnno98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2011
Car: e92 335i
Default 02-08-2016, 09:16 PM

My write failed 2 seconds in Saturday night. Car wouldn't start and had a ton of errors. I tried the flash again and it worked. I set the tablet on the brake pedal, OTG up, and tried not to move anything. It finally flashed. Bi did get a DTC/DSC malfunction on the way to work this morning though


2011 335is DCT, FBO
Reply With Quote
(#2018)
Old
zeeth2800 zeeth2800 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 135i
Default 02-09-2016, 08:52 PM

Couple of questions for the MHD developers..

Are you guys close to supporting a 3 port solenoid to control boost on ST cars?

Is any type of launch control/2step in the works?

I saw the post about the shift bog on 6-speed cars. Are those settings something I could ask my tuner to incorporate into my map as a revision?

Really excited about going to a factory DME/3 port controlled boost vs my current EBC setup. Leaps and bounds have been made in this platform recently. Excellent job.


2008 135i SGM 6-Speed l AD Engineering ST 6262BB l MHD Tuned l MAXBoost/N20 Map l GFB electronic boost controller l Spec 2+ l Walbro 450 LPFP l VRSF 7" FMIC l VRSF CP l Tial BOV l N55 Midpipe l Custom Straight pipe catback l BMS Catch Can l RB pcv l
Reply With Quote
(#2019)
Old
Enfiftyfore's Avatar
Enfiftyfore Enfiftyfore is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 408
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2009 135i
Default E85 cold weather update - 02-10-2016, 04:54 AM

I updated my E85 backend this morning before work (30 out). The update went fine but now the car drives like it's stock. I put it in map 0 before the flash and then back to map 7 afterwards. The gauges aren't hijacked either. What happened?

Edit: The car is driving like the Jb4 is completely off and there is no backend flash. I went out and redid the flash but I can't drive it until this afternoon.

Turned ignition on ➡Plug in MHD ➡Found new MHD file ➡Set JB4 to Map 0 ➡Start amd finish write and completed without errors ➡Turn car off and remove key ➡Unplug MHD ➡Start Car Set to Map 7

These are the steps that I used, hopefully it work this afternoon. @MHD what happened?

Last edited by Enfiftyfore; 02-10-2016 at 05:38 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#2020)
Old
Ocean's Avatar
Ocean Ocean is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,419
Join Date: May 2011
Car: 2008 535i Sport
Send a message via Yahoo to Ocean
Default 02-10-2016, 06:01 AM

Set jb4 to 4/2?


Sleeper 5 series
Performance: Pro tuned MHD, xHP Stage 3 TCU flash, DCI, AR kittens, ER FMIC & CP, Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP w ported rail, RB turbos, RB inlets, KW V2, Mfactory LSD
Audio: Jehnert Flatline speakers, Mobridge M1000 DA2 digital preamp, Helix P-DSP, Zapco Z-150.6 amp, CIC iDrive upgrade
Reply With Quote
(#2021)
Old
Enfiftyfore's Avatar
Enfiftyfore Enfiftyfore is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 408
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2009 135i
Default 02-10-2016, 06:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocean
Set jb4 to 4/2?
It didn't move from 4/2, but yes I did check.
It shouldn't matter anyways because it isn't even driving like the JB4 is on at all. Like I said, no hijacking or anything.

Last edited by Enfiftyfore; 02-10-2016 at 06:09 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#2022)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 02-10-2016, 09:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.W.G.
Trying to flash my car with the same cable i used for my alpina tcu flash. When I connect, my Nexus tablet detects the USB, asks me if i want to use MHD, and I confirm. I select the map to update, and the second the program sends the signal, my light on the cable turns off, does a quick red flash for a second, and I get a 0v cannot connect to ECU error.

JB4 is set to map 0, car is on a charger, windows are up, doors are closed, radio is off, other electrical components are off.

Is this a bad cable or is there a versioning thing going on? I'm on the latest release of JB4, MHD, and android OS on my tablet.
I cannot something wrong. Make sure ignition is ON. If the issue persist drop me an email.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junkyarddogg
Newbie question..
How do I safely run a 93 map if only 91 is available? Fill up with a bit of E85? How do I know how much E85 is in the tank?
Just add 20% of e85.

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewo
Been having 7f2811 error on initial flash 2-3% and car becomes unstartable. Left me stranded at gas stations for 20 minutes or so until it finally works.
Had to retry flash 5-8 times before it worked. Any idea?
It was a jb4 back end map change
I have disabled the section that was causing this error in the latest 1.30 build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeth2800
Couple of questions for the MHD developers..
Are you guys close to supporting a 3 port solenoid to control boost on ST cars?
Is any type of launch control/2step in the works?
I saw the post about the shift bog on 6-speed cars. Are those settings something I could ask my tuner to incorporate into my map as a revision?
Really excited about going to a factory DME/3 port controlled boost vs my current EBC setup. Leaps and bounds have been made in this platform recently. Excellent job.
Thanks. Jake Yamona / MOTIV is working on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enfiftyfore
I updated my E85 backend this morning before work (30 out). The update went fine but now the car drives like it's stock. I put it in map 0 before the flash and then back to map 7 afterwards. The gauges aren't hijacked either. What happened?
Edit: The car is driving like the Jb4 is completely off and there is no backend flash. I went out and redid the flash but I can't drive it until this afternoon.
Turned ignition on ➡Plug in MHD ➡Found new MHD file ➡Set JB4 to Map 0 ➡Start amd finish write and completed without errors ➡Turn car off and remove key ➡Unplug MHD ➡Start Car Set to Map 7
These are the steps that I used, hopefully it work this afternoon. @MHD what happened?
Looks like a JB4 issue, not flash related. Update?
Reply With Quote
(#2023)
Old
omarmarji's Avatar
omarmarji omarmarji is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 915
Join Date: May 2015
Car: n54 335
Default 02-10-2016, 10:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD

Looks like a JB4 issue, not flash related. Update?
the settings in the jb4 need to be adjusted

Duty BIAS all to 0
AFR all to 0
meth trigger at 0
n20(if not using it) 0
then set the jb4 to speedo 4 rpm 2


751WHP 688WTQ
JP Works Kit Record
SOLD: E90 335i 751whp 688WTQ
CURRENT: E82 135i (under construction)
Visit my website VaderSolution.com !
Reply With Quote
(#2024)
Old
Enfiftyfore's Avatar
Enfiftyfore Enfiftyfore is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 408
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2009 135i
Default 02-10-2016, 11:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarmarji
the settings in the jb4 need to be adjusted

Duty BIAS all to 0
AFR all to 0
meth trigger at 0
n20(if not using it) 0
then set the jb4 to speedo 4 rpm 2
Why would that matter if I'm running Map 7?
Also, when I was running the E85 backend before today, there was no issues whatsoever.

Last edited by Enfiftyfore; 02-10-2016 at 11:41 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#2025)
Old
Enfiftyfore's Avatar
Enfiftyfore Enfiftyfore is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 408
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2009 135i
Default 02-10-2016, 01:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
I cannot something wrong. Make sure ignition is ON. If the issue persist drop me an email.


Just add 20% of e85.


I have disabled the section that was causing this error in the latest 1.30 build.


Thanks. Jake Yamona / MOTIV is working on this.


Looks like a JB4 issue, not flash related. Update?
I am not sure what happened this morning but after reflashing again, it's driving normal jow. JB4 and Backend are both working.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com