N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1926)
Old
Colorado335 Colorado335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2010 335Xdrive
Default 01-23-2016, 09:43 AM

I've searched before posting this question. 1st question after loading the JB4 backend flash I'm only hitting about 9 psi of boost. I'm using 91 octane is that the issue? Also were supposed to change the JB4 settings to 4 and 2 however if I go up 4 times it takes me to 8 and my tach goes to 8 then I take the tach back to zero but I have to press it down about 20 or so times. Is there a way to fix this problem?


2010 335 X Drive
Bandimere Speed Way 5,800' / Track Time:TBD
VRSF DP, BMS-CP, Tial Sport Blow Off Valve, VRSF 7" FMIC, RB Inlets,, Koni struts w/Tein Springs, Spec Stage 2 Clutch Spec Flywheel, JB-4, MHD Backend Flash
Reply With Quote
(#1927)
Old
willyjoe willyjoe is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2015
Car: E93
Default 01-23-2016, 09:49 AM

I am trying to flash the jb4 backend and I am having trouble getting MHD to read the ECU. JB4 is on map 0, usb debugging is on, in airplane mode. The app auto starts when I plug it in. When I press MHD store the red light on the DCan cable lights up like it's working but i get an error saying. Could not contact ECU make sure ignition is ON and OBD is plugged in. Device is Samsung Galaxy Tab A. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
Dan
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
(#1928)
Old
zeeth2800 zeeth2800 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 135i
Default 01-23-2016, 10:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTuning
Boost control for ST guys is already being tested and seems to work great. Jake from Motiv is the one testing the solenoid. So you'd need to ask him specifics on the solenoid. I'm unsure if its a MAC solenoid or not. So you will be able to control boost with the DME shortly.

And yes Two step and NLS is on the plate.
Fantastic! It's going to be a game changer for ST guys

Thanks for the update


2008 135i SGM 6-Speed l AD Engineering ST 6262BB l MHD Tuned l MAXBoost/N20 Map l GFB electronic boost controller l Spec 2+ l Walbro 450 LPFP l VRSF 7" FMIC l VRSF CP l Tial BOV l N55 Midpipe l Custom Straight pipe catback l BMS Catch Can l RB pcv l
Reply With Quote
(#1929)
Old
Colorado335 Colorado335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2010 335Xdrive
Default 01-23-2016, 04:40 PM

Hopefully someone can shine some light on my issue


2010 335 X Drive
Bandimere Speed Way 5,800' / Track Time:TBD
VRSF DP, BMS-CP, Tial Sport Blow Off Valve, VRSF 7" FMIC, RB Inlets,, Koni struts w/Tein Springs, Spec Stage 2 Clutch Spec Flywheel, JB-4, MHD Backend Flash
Reply With Quote
(#1930)
Old
dh58 dh58 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default 01-23-2016, 06:13 PM

For the first flash we must be on map 0. For subsequent map changes, do we need to be on map 0 or can we stay on whatever map we're on?
Reply With Quote
(#1931)
Old
chrisinfla chrisinfla is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 47
Join Date: Feb 2012
Car: 335i
Default MHD app not compatible with Carly app? - 01-23-2016, 06:52 PM

I recently bought the Carly app to do some coding and now the MHD app will not recognize my cable... is there some kind compatibility issue here?

Samsung S5 phone and I have used this cable at least 6x to flash various MHD JB4 backend flashes....
Reply With Quote
(#1932)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 32,614
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 01-23-2016, 07:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado335
I've searched before posting this question. 1st question after loading the JB4 backend flash I'm only hitting about 9 psi of boost. I'm using 91 octane is that the issue? Also were supposed to change the JB4 settings to 4 and 2 however if I go up 4 times it takes me to 8 and my tach goes to 8 then I take the tach back to zero but I have to press it down about 20 or so times. Is there a way to fix this problem?
Probably a JB4 setting but would need to see the CSV log to know which one. Just make a post with the CSV in the support area and Steve or myself can check it out for you. On the dash maybe you selected the wrong dash mode on menu5. Post a video of that in your support thread if you can't figure it out.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the JB4 the worlds most popular turbocharged tuning system!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#1933)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 343
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 01-24-2016, 12:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
Fresh plugs first indeed, if misfire stays on #2 swap the coil with another cylinder to see if the misfire follows.
Plugs solved it. Happy it was the cheaper fix.

On the stg 1 93 w/FMIC right now even though I'm on the stock FMIC. It's winter here no worries about heatsoak in 20*F weather lol.

Traction though.
It does not exist.
Reply With Quote
(#1934)
Old
Colorado335 Colorado335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2010 335Xdrive
Default 01-24-2016, 10:17 AM

Thanks for the reply Terry, excuse my lack of knowledge but what is the CSV log and where can I find it?


2010 335 X Drive
Bandimere Speed Way 5,800' / Track Time:TBD
VRSF DP, BMS-CP, Tial Sport Blow Off Valve, VRSF 7" FMIC, RB Inlets,, Koni struts w/Tein Springs, Spec Stage 2 Clutch Spec Flywheel, JB-4, MHD Backend Flash
Reply With Quote
(#1935)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 343
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 01-24-2016, 01:24 PM

Comma Separated Value is a universal spreadsheet format.
It's the default save as file type for many logging programs.
I don't have a JB4 so I can't say exactly where it saves to, but a quick search of your hard drive for ".CSV" files should find it and it's location.
Just left click on the Windows icon in the lower left and start typing. Then hit enter.
Reply With Quote
(#1936)
Old
Colorado335 Colorado335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 2010 335Xdrive
Default 01-24-2016, 07:10 PM

Thankyou for the halo. I figured it out for now anyway


2010 335 X Drive
Bandimere Speed Way 5,800' / Track Time:TBD
VRSF DP, BMS-CP, Tial Sport Blow Off Valve, VRSF 7" FMIC, RB Inlets,, Koni struts w/Tein Springs, Spec Stage 2 Clutch Spec Flywheel, JB-4, MHD Backend Flash
Reply With Quote
(#1937)
Old
Fmonteiro444's Avatar
Fmonteiro444 Fmonteiro444 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 639
Join Date: Aug 2013
Car: 09 E92 SG
Default 01-26-2016, 11:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.kodra
So, to have the setting to NOT have torque reduced by ignition, should this be set to 02 or 00. This should be just labeled "Tq Reduction by Ign" then "00" to "Enable" this feature or "02" to "Disable" this feature. Double negative?

Attachment 43871
Should be set to 02


----------------------------------------------------
14 F30 335xi AT- Built Closed-Deck N55, SpeedTech Stage 3 w/ BW-8374C, MHD Flash, xHP Flash, E85, AFE Intake, VRSF 6" Race FMIC, VRSF CP, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP and PI
----------------------------------------------------
16 Audi S6 - APR Stage 2 ECU/TCU flash, APR Exhaust, SRM Intakes
Reply With Quote
(#1938)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 343
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 01-26-2016, 12:19 PM

Is there a place to download the .BIN's from MHD?
Reply With Quote
(#1939)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 01-26-2016, 12:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell1
Is there a place to download the .BIN's from MHD?
the back end flashes from BMS or the BINS (tunes) that are built into MHD?


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#1940)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 01-26-2016, 12:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.kodra
So, to have the setting to NOT have torque reduced by ignition, should this be set to 02 or 00. This should be just labeled "Tq Reduction by Ign" then "00" to "Enable" this feature or "02" to "Disable" this feature. Double negative?

Attachment 43871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fmonteiro444
Should be set to 02
TQ Reduction by Ign will be set to "00" by default, so to disable as stated it should be set to "02".

But, i have read that if you have a DCT that it doesn't like that being disabled because it uses Ignition reduction to smooth shifts into the next gear. I don't have a DCT, so i can only go off feedback from DCT owners. But of course if you are a 6AT owner, none of what i just said pertains to you, lol.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#1941)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 343
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 01-27-2016, 02:16 AM

built in.
Reply With Quote
(#1942)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 01-27-2016, 04:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell1
built in.


Then no. Those are locked.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#1943)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 01-27-2016, 01:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Younge60
Is it normal for the boost psi to be negative 10?
It's never happened before until I recently flashed my car.
Yes boost is negative under NA conditions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Dub
Will rolling anti-lag be brought to MHD?
No promises I haven't looked into that yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by willyjoe
I am trying to flash the jb4 backend and I am having trouble getting MHD to read the ECU. JB4 is on map 0, usb debugging is on, in airplane mode. The app auto starts when I plug it in. When I press MHD store the red light on the DCan cable lights up like it's working but i get an error saying. Could not contact ECU make sure ignition is ON and OBD is plugged in. Device is Samsung Galaxy Tab A. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
Dan
Handled by email

Quote:
Originally Posted by dh58
For the first flash we must be on map 0. For subsequent map changes, do we need to be on map 0 or can we stay on whatever map we're on?
Always set the jb4 on map 0 to flash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisinfla
I recently bought the Carly app to do some coding and now the MHD app will not recognize my cable... is there some kind compatibility issue here?
Samsung S5 phone and I have used this cable at least 6x to flash various MHD JB4 backend flashes....
No that I am aware. Handled by email.
Reply With Quote
(#1944)
Old
7smurfs's Avatar
7smurfs 7smurfs is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 121
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 135i
Default 01-28-2016, 04:48 PM

I've been reading through the forums and it seems that some people have been having trouble with the US spec backend flash from BMS on aussie (euro) cars.

Can anyone verify this?


135i N54 - BMS DCI - JB4 ISO - Meisterschaft GT exhaust - VRSF CP - Turbosmart Raceport BOV
Reply With Quote
(#1945)
Old
NKGruppe NKGruppe is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 335i
Default 01-28-2016, 05:35 PM

Hi, i'm sure this has been discussed to death however my one question is,
if running fbo with a jb4 g5 and a bb flash, would there be any benefit to flashing and mhd jb4 backend tune?
Reply With Quote
(#1946)
Old
FoShizzle's Avatar
FoShizzle FoShizzle is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jul 2009
Car: '11 335is DCT
Default 01-29-2016, 12:23 AM

I just finished my first flash. Used the $18 amazon cable, a friends tablet, and a Wallmart battery charger. After reading the horror stories I followed the directions methodically and all went perfect. After I did a backup, I loaded up the ina0s pump flash (335is DCT), put in 5 gallons of E85, and switched over to map 6 after a little warmup.
I've been around since the old JB2 days (although not very active) and this is hands down best iteration of tuning for the n54 yet. Since tuning the 335is I've always felt that the DCT couldn't keep up with the tune. The backend flash totally brought it back to life. The power is amazing and the shifts are incredible! THANK YOU GUYS!
Reply With Quote
(#1947)
Old
johnmaps johnmaps is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: beemer
Default 01-29-2016, 01:22 AM

Can MHD work with bluetooth OBD2?

Hates the dangling wire.
Reply With Quote
(#1948)
Old
johnmaps johnmaps is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: beemer
Default 01-29-2016, 01:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NKGruppe
Hi, i'm sure this has been discussed to death however my one question is,
if running fbo with a jb4 g5 and a bb flash, would there be any benefit to flashing and mhd jb4 backend tune?
JB4 will handle the boost while MHD will handle the timing.

If you overboost by JB4 settings, I think, it will take the ceiling value from the DME flash.

I might be wrong, someone can correct me.
Reply With Quote
(#1949)
Old
tigermack tigermack is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: Oct 2015
Car: BMW
Default 01-30-2016, 11:27 AM

I forgot to set to map 0 on the JB4 before I do the pump flash with MHD. I have disconnected the battery and removed JB4. The MHD kept failing to write ECU... I tried numerous times and it's doing it repeatedly.

What's the next thing I can do? I learned that if the ecu is bricked. It wouldn't be able to read through MHD at all but it has connection.


It has failed to write paket 147. Also different paket #'s. It went as far as 45% and it failed at paket 2539. I tried using another battery source by jumping off my truck with 2 batteries on it and it did the same thing.
Reply With Quote
(#1950)
Old
neroneuman's Avatar
neroneuman neroneuman is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: n54 335i
Default 01-30-2016, 12:14 PM

MHD OTS E85 mix maps are limited to e40 only or e40 and higher E?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com