N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#2801)
Old
suspenceful's Avatar
suspenceful suspenceful is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 786
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 2008 BSM 135i
Default 08-12-2016, 07:06 AM

Yes, it's worth it.


🚀 My 750HP 135i build: my1series.com
🔧 My budget 335i build: bmw335i.com
📷 Follow me on Instagram: instagram.com/jakespence
🎬 Watch me on YouTube: youtube.com/jakespence135
🌟 Support me on Patreon: patreon.com/jake_spence
🏁 Shop BMW merchandise: bimmerstreet.com
Reply With Quote
(#2802)
Old
135droptop's Avatar
135droptop 135droptop is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 168
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 135i
Default 08-12-2016, 07:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by suspenceful
Yes, it's worth it.
My droid tablet is not supported so, I need to figure out how to do this. I have all apple stuff, IPAD mini, Iphone 6 +, Iphone 6, Imac 27. I do have three windows machines running 7, two laptops and one desktop.


08 335i Droptop 18lbs boost, VRSF Charge pipe, HKS BOV, BMS dual cone intake, ARM intercooler, MHD Stage 2
Reply With Quote
(#2803)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 08-12-2016, 07:23 AM

There is a specific feature needed on an phone, tablet, etc. for support and I don't remember what it is. Something like "Go" I think. Can someone help clarify?


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#2804)
Old
jyamona jyamona is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 564
Join Date: Aug 2013
Car: 2010 135i 6MT
Default 08-12-2016, 07:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBooster
There is a specific feature needed on an phone, tablet, etc. for support and I don't remember what it is. Something like "Go" I think. Can someone help clarify?
USB OTG (on the go).


Enjoying the new tables discovered and the XDF progress made? if you'd like. Every bit is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
(#2805)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 08-12-2016, 08:19 AM

Yes. The Android device must have this feature. I first bought a $$ phone and it didn't have it. Good luck.


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#2806)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 304
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 08-12-2016, 05:04 PM

I just put the Fuel-It stage 2 pump in.

Was there also a change to the OTS tune I'm supposed to do? (no JB)


And is there an OTS for full E85?


2010 135i auto, MHD E40 tune, Fuel-It stg 2 pump, best 1/4 mile 11.863 @ 119.17 mph
new mods this year, VRSF 5" stepped IC, RB EVO inlets, CP-e/Tial CP, 1320 **'s, xhp stg 3 trans tune, E-85 tune
Best 1/8 mile: 7.469 @ 98.56, 1.769 60'
Best 1/4 mile: 11.480 @ 121.79 1.802 60'
Reply With Quote
(#2807)
Old
x99percent x99percent is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 2008 135i
Default 08-13-2016, 11:38 AM

The $200 Nvidia K1 tablet is a solid pick. MHD works just fine, plus it's not another cheap, slow Android tablet. Good for browsing, games, etc. as well.
Reply With Quote
(#2808)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-13-2016, 02:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wardy335i
I have Intake and ********* on my 335i n54.
What Map should i run?
v7 stage 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRuck1985
OK, so I guess I have to make the switch to MHD from Cobb after speaking with Ken Atkinson with Wedge after inquiring about a custom tune.

Hopefully you guys can tell me everything I am going to need to set up my 2008 535i with MHD. Which Android tablet is best to use at a decent price? Link to Cable I am going to need in order to flash, etc.

Will this be better for my car than my Cobb that I currently have on stage 2+?

Current mods on my car
- VRSF Catle$$ **
- VRSF Stepped IC
- ER Chargepipe with Tial BOV
- BMs DCI
I really think you should notice a difference between cobb stg2+ and our 2+, both in terms of smoothness and power. Plus all the options you can now easily configure at flash time.
Consult page 5 of this MHD guide for cables (bottom line, in the US go to bimmersoftware.com/cable)
http://www.twisted-visionz.com/mhdguide
A lenovo a7 tab3 or tab2 is a good pick, or for the cheapest a dragontouch y88.
Reply With Quote
(#2809)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-13-2016, 02:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sch4400
My friend has a 2007/12 e92 335i Manual tranny with power kit option from bmw factory. He already has FBO.
Does he can mhd flash?? If so, which one should work with his manual tranny car??
For a FBO car, stg2+ is the map you want to run, v6 or even better v7. PPK is not an issue, just do a DME backup for peace of mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell1
I just put the Fuel-It stage 2 pump in.
Was there also a change to the OTS tune I'm supposed to do? (no JB)
And is there an OTS for full E85?
No change needed in the map. Full e85 would probably be too much volume for the e40 map and/or the hpfp, but best way is to test once and log.
Reply With Quote
(#2810)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 304
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 08-13-2016, 02:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
No change needed in the map. Full e85 would probably be too much volume for the e40 map and/or the hpfp, but best way is to test once and log.

Won't it throw a lean code though?
I thought the map needed to change the target lambda, else it runs very lean?


2010 135i auto, MHD E40 tune, Fuel-It stg 2 pump, best 1/4 mile 11.863 @ 119.17 mph
new mods this year, VRSF 5" stepped IC, RB EVO inlets, CP-e/Tial CP, 1320 **'s, xhp stg 3 trans tune, E-85 tune
Best 1/8 mile: 7.469 @ 98.56, 1.769 60'
Best 1/4 mile: 11.480 @ 121.79 1.802 60'
Reply With Quote
(#2811)
Old
imad777 imad777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Aug 2016
Car: BMW 335i
Default 08-13-2016, 11:24 PM

Flashed to MHD ST, and updated firmware of JB4 (128).

Well, it became much smoother on low revs, and much responsive. Didn't do any logging yet, just drove home from a "flashing" place. Noticed fews times drops of power (like if there was fuel cut for half a second). Reminded me old carburetor times :]

Will log today..
Reply With Quote
(#2812)
Old
absolootbs absolootbs is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2013
Car: e90 335xi
Default 08-16-2016, 03:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell1
Won't it throw a lean code though?
I thought the map needed to change the target lambda, else it runs very lean?
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it's always been my understanding that thats the beauty of lambda - it's a reading of deviation from stoich, regardless of what afr stoich may be for whatever fuel you're running. So while target afrs will be different between straight gasoline, straight E85, and mixes in between, target lambda will be the same. And no changes are needed to the tune because the sensors/ecu deal in lambda. The afrs you see on gauges and in logs are a conversion from that lambda reading, based on a given stoich value (usually assumed to be that of gasoline).
Reply With Quote
(#2813)
Old
Jeffman's Avatar
Jeffman Jeffman is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 206
Join Date: Sep 2011
Car: 335xi
Default 08-16-2016, 06:09 PM

I last flashed my custom E50 tune using version 1.37 or 1.38. We are now at 1.40. Is there any benefit (e.g., better DME logic) if I reflash now that I have 1.40?


2008 E90 335xi AT 67K MILES
MHD CUSTOM FLEXFUEL 24 PSI, N20 TMAP, FUEL-IT STG 2 LPFP, cPE CHARGE PIPE, HELIX IC, TIAL Q BOV WHITE SPRING, BMS DCI, BMS T-STAT DELETE, BMS HIGH AND MISHIMOTO LOW OCC, RB PCV, KW-V1 COILOVERS, APEX ARC-8, 235/265 MICHELIN PSS, xHP STAGE 3, SCOOPS, PR IGNITION
Reply With Quote
(#2814)
Old
scratch009 scratch009 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: E92 N54
Default 08-17-2016, 12:09 AM

Have been using JB4 with BEF (pump) for a while. And wanted to try the flash only from MHD to compare some of the different octane flashes. So I obtained a license for stage 2 (got **'s and fmic) and wanted to flash to RON98. It said it was a 2min flash. Changed the JB4 setting 4-4, and everything seemed fine, but I get the 2A18 DMTL code. Looked it up and probably because I'm in Europe, and having a non-US car. Is this because I started with the JB4 BEF and moved straight to MHD? Do I need to revert to stock first and then do the MHD? In the meantime I moved back to BEF to check if code was gone, and everything is back to normal so far.

thanks
phil
Reply With Quote
(#2815)
Old
135droptop's Avatar
135droptop 135droptop is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 168
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 135i
Default 08-17-2016, 02:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
For a FBO car, stg2+ is the map you want to run, v6 or even better v7. PPK is not an issue, just do a DME backup for peace of mind.


No change needed in the map. Full e85 would probably be too much volume for the e40 map and/or the hpfp, but best way is to test once and log.
When I get the MHD software for my android and purchase the flash, will that be the most recent version?


08 335i Droptop 18lbs boost, VRSF Charge pipe, HKS BOV, BMS dual cone intake, ARM intercooler, MHD Stage 2
Reply With Quote
(#2816)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-18-2016, 12:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman
I last flashed my custom E50 tune using version 1.37 or 1.38. We are now at 1.40. Is there any benefit (e.g., better DME logic) if I reflash now that I have 1.40?
No logic features added in between, so no reason to reflash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scratch009
Have been using JB4 with BEF (pump) for a while. And wanted to try the flash only from MHD to compare some of the different octane flashes. So I obtained a license for stage 2 (got **'s and fmic) and wanted to flash to RON98. It said it was a 2min flash. Changed the JB4 setting 4-4, and everything seemed fine, but I get the 2A18 DMTL code. Looked it up and probably because I'm in Europe, and having a non-US car. Is this because I started with the JB4 BEF and moved straight to MHD? Do I need to revert to stock first and then do the MHD? In the meantime I moved back to BEF to check if code was gone, and everything is back to normal so far.

thanks
phil
yes, after the BMS canned US flash, your car is "configured" as a US car. Here's a trick to get back to Euro spec for the MHD maps. Start a flash (any map), unplug the cable after the progression is > 0%. Turn off ignition, on again and flash completely this time using the map recovery (2mins) option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 135droptop
When I get the MHD software for my android and purchase the flash, will that be the most recent version?
The software is updated by google automatically. If by flash you mean the BMS backends, then the latest files are hosted here on this forum (see first post). If you mean the MHD OTS maps (flash only maps), they are included in the app and get updated along app updates.
Reply With Quote
(#2817)
Old
Patrick4588's Avatar
Patrick4588 Patrick4588 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 242
Join Date: Dec 2014
Car: 2010 335i and 2006 M3
Default 08-19-2016, 09:25 PM

Email sent
Reply With Quote
(#2818)
Old
Tsbben Tsbben is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Car: 335i n54
Default 08-20-2016, 05:33 AM

I've just had a bit of an account related issue if anyone can help I have emailed mhd but need help ASAP so I can get on and try this thing out.

I'm an iOS user so this android stuff is new to me. I used my girlfriends Samsung. I set up my own Google play account with payment info and selected it in the Google play store and downloaded mhd. Plugged into my car and went ahead and bought the flasher licence. When I went to buy a map I noticed that the payment was linked to my girlfriends account. Does this now mean the licence is now tied up with her Google play account if so how do I change it to my account.

That might be a little confusing but essentially I've bought the licence on the wrong account I believe

Last edited by Tsbben; 08-20-2016 at 06:23 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#2819)
Old
OldBooster's Avatar
OldBooster OldBooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 336
Join Date: May 2009
Car: 2008 135i AT
Send a message via Skype™ to OldBooster
Default 08-20-2016, 06:14 AM

Computer devices work in strange ways, or maybe not so strange. Forget about the mechanics of it, if you used someone else's account to set up your account and buy the flash, it stands to reason the account is tied to her phone, IT, etc. (folks, am I wrong?).

I made a trip to Hungary last month and was able to get the websites in English. Upon returning to Florida, I get some sites come up in Hungarian. What tha?

Martial at MHD will reply and you can probably work it out.


Terry's unmatched dedication to the N54
Held #1 on www.DragTimes.com:
First to run 11.012 @129.30
Reply With Quote
(#2820)
Old
iminhell1 iminhell1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 304
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2010 135i
Default 08-21-2016, 03:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by absolootbs
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it's always been my understanding that thats the beauty of lambda - it's a reading of deviation from stoich, regardless of what afr stoich may be for whatever fuel you're running. So while target afrs will be different between straight gasoline, straight E85, and mixes in between, target lambda will be the same. And no changes are needed to the tune because the sensors/ecu deal in lambda. The afrs you see on gauges and in logs are a conversion from that lambda reading, based on a given stoich value (usually assumed to be that of gasoline).

You are correct to a point.
The computer also monitors fuel volume used. When the expected volume exceeds the calculated volume it throws a lean (mixture) code. It doesn't mean it actually is though, but it can be. It's a grey area.

When the Target lambda is changed the calculated fuel volume also changes and the lean codes aren't set.


... From my understanding.


FWIW, I throw 2 codes on the E40 tune on full E85.


2010 135i auto, MHD E40 tune, Fuel-It stg 2 pump, best 1/4 mile 11.863 @ 119.17 mph
new mods this year, VRSF 5" stepped IC, RB EVO inlets, CP-e/Tial CP, 1320 **'s, xhp stg 3 trans tune, E-85 tune
Best 1/8 mile: 7.469 @ 98.56, 1.769 60'
Best 1/4 mile: 11.480 @ 121.79 1.802 60'
Reply With Quote
(#2821)
Old
Riceball777 Riceball777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 183
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2007 e90 335i
Default 08-25-2016, 12:46 PM

I have a jb4 with the mhd pump backend flash When i did about 1 year ago. Last night i decided i wanted to try some e85 so i loaded up mhd and it want to charge me again. Shouldent i not need to pay since i already bought the back end flash from then a year ago. Whats going on here ? I though the flashing license is tied to my car. I only other thing i can think of is i have a different android phone that i'm useing now compared to the phone that i used to buy the back end flashing license a year ago.


2007 e90 335i
pure stgae 2 DD turbos, rb inlets, bms 4 bar map sensor
Jb4 with mhd hybrid e85 back end flash, vrsf down pipe vrsf 7" intercooler, vrsf charge pipe with tial bov and afe intake. Fuel it stage 2 pump and fuel line/ethanol content kit.
spec stage 2+ clutch with new oem dmfw
Reply With Quote
(#2822)
Old
TravisWsparks TravisWsparks is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2016
Car: 07 335i
Default 08-25-2016, 02:56 PM

So all I need to flash on top of jb4 is too dl the mhd app and pay for the license and the map. Then dl it using the special cable correct?
Reply With Quote
(#2823)
Old
scratch009 scratch009 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: E92 N54
Default 08-26-2016, 03:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisWsparks
So all I need to flash on top of jb4 is too dl the mhd app and pay for the license and the map. Then dl it using the special cable correct?
You can use MHD to load a 'back-end flash' to your car, specific for the JB4. check the first page of this thread, you can download the files there and use it with MHD to transfer to your car. You then need to set the JB4 setting 4-2 (using jb4 with backend flash, you only need special license in MHD for backendflash).

I'm using it that way, imho runs smoother then jb4 alone.

Otherwise you can choose to use a MHD tuning map, you need to buy license from MHD for flashing and map. If you want to use together with JB4, use setting 4-4, (or you can choose to disconnect the white subconnector in the DME compartment so the JB4 does only monitoring and in-dash dial hijack etc.)
Reply With Quote
(#2824)
Old
THE BEAST THE BEAST is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 911
Join Date: Apr 2016
Car: 2008 E93
Default 08-27-2016, 07:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Possible silly question.

I am running the MHD with just BEF and my JB4.

BUT... I cannot access the option area where exhaust burbles etc... may be.

I take it this is not a possibility on a BEF?

Thanks

Same here and i even got screwed on the 100.00 version which does nothing more than the 80.00 ????
Reply With Quote
(#2825)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 08-27-2016, 08:01 PM

Don't quote me...but I don't think that option is available for BEF. I may be completely off base though.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com