N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#551)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,041
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 05-09-2015, 07:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushan
For the latest MHD BMS flash should we use the same xdf file from the BB flash 1st page for the ije0s.xdf?
Yes the XDF files are the same for MHD and BB.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#552)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 217
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 05-09-2015, 07:49 PM

Ok. So Wut s the plus in the MDH flash then? I like to see why to pay for the same free?
Reply With Quote
(#553)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,041
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 05-09-2015, 07:52 PM

For OEM turbos there isn't a huge benefit. For larger than stock turbos the race logic in the MHD makes for some nice improvements especially for automatic cars.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#554)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 217
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 05-09-2015, 08:00 PM

Oh yay. So that is all benefits for me. At 6466g2 and AT with valvebody and torque converter upgraded. (Until the rest give up)
So where do I get it and how much. I have iPhone and laptop. Wut platform does it run?
Reply With Quote
(#555)
Old
BeGooD69 BeGooD69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 217
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 05-09-2015, 08:02 PM

Terry, talking to Payam, I m coming to L.A. Mid -end june. Maybe I get to meet u guys. And dyno there. BcZ my number here in El Paso did not impress me on my twin-turbos.
Reply With Quote
(#556)
Old
pianoman224's Avatar
pianoman224 pianoman224 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2008 BMW 335i
Default 05-10-2015, 10:25 PM

Im looking into flashing via this platform and upon testing the program I had a couple errors pop up in regards to the "backup the ecu" option. There were 2 different messages that popped up at different times and I will list them below.

1) "ECU is read-protected"

2) "ECU reading exception
Connecting...."

I have not purchased a license yet so this may be why I am getting these messages, I just wanted some feedback before I shell out 79 bucks for something that may or may not work.
Reply With Quote
(#557)
Old
Russjonesr's Avatar
Russjonesr Russjonesr is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 552
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: Bmw e92 335i
Default 05-11-2015, 07:19 AM

I'm pretty sure you are correct...The MHD flasher is superb...worth every penny!
Reply With Quote
(#558)
Old
spain4065 spain4065 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 98
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: e82
Default 05-11-2015, 12:32 PM

Lots of interest in this, has anyone taken this to the rollers to see the numbers?
Reply With Quote
(#559)
Old
pianoman224's Avatar
pianoman224 pianoman224 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2008 BMW 335i
Default 05-11-2015, 10:34 PM

I am not sure if anyone has tried this yet, but I thought I'd share my experience.

I wanted to do the BMS pump flash but did not have a BT cable or an android device. Having run various coding flashes and transmission flashes via XP running through VMware on my macbook, I decided to setup an android operating system through VMware on my laptop.

Long story short I got it up and running, copied over the latest BMS flash files, plugged my INPA cable in, bought the 79 dollar license to flash, and prayed to god that I wouldn't brick my DME. 33 tense minutes later and I had a car that no longer goes into limp mode on WOT and pulls like a freight train on 91 oct!


It's worth noting that I went to walmart and bought a ~70 dollar battery charger just to be sure it didn't drop connection mid flash.

I'm very pleased with the results and for those of you who do not have a BT cable or android device, this method worked flawlessly for me. I may be the only person that has flashed like this, so I wanted to let you all know that it worked just fine.
Reply With Quote
(#560)
Old
Fmonteiro444's Avatar
Fmonteiro444 Fmonteiro444 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 629
Join Date: Aug 2013
Car: 09 E92 SG
Default 05-12-2015, 08:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
For OEM turbos there isn't a huge benefit. For larger than stock turbos the race logic in the MHD makes for some nice improvements especially for automatic cars.
What's the best flash file to start with when running RB turbos w/VTT inlets and e50?


----------------------------------------------------
14 F30 335xi AT- Built Closed-Deck N55, SpeedTech Stage 3 w/ BW-8374C, MHD Flash, xHP Flash, E85, AFE Intake, VRSF 6" Race FMIC, VRSF CP, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP and PI
----------------------------------------------------
16 Audi S6 - APR Stage 2 ECU/TCU flash, APR Exhaust, SRM Intakes
Reply With Quote
(#561)
Old
Fast335i's Avatar
Fast335i Fast335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 346
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 07 BMW 335i
Default 05-12-2015, 10:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fmonteiro444
What's the best flash file to start with when running RB turbos w/VTT inlets and e50?
+1.....and is there when that scales for n20 sensor?


2007 BMW 335i...M2 exhaust...Macht Schnell **'s...VRSF 7" FMIC...MM Performance inlet system.....VRSF Chargpipe with Tial BOV....MFACTORY LSD....MHD e60. Wedge tunING.........RB Stealths......N20 Tmap upgrade.....Steve Stage 2 450......H&R Race lowering springs...MT ET Streets 265/40/18 rear.....NGK 5992
Reply With Quote
(#562)
Old
DV135i's Avatar
DV135i DV135i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Join Date: Mar 2013
Car: 135i
Default 05-12-2015, 11:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pianoman224
I am not sure if anyone has tried this yet, but I thought I'd share my experience.

I wanted to do the BMS pump flash but did not have a BT cable or an android device. Having run various coding flashes and transmission flashes via XP running through VMware on my macbook, I decided to setup an android operating system through VMware on my laptop.

Long story short I got it up and running, copied over the latest BMS flash files, plugged my INPA cable in, bought the 79 dollar license to flash, and prayed to god that I wouldn't brick my DME. 33 tense minutes later and I had a car that no longer goes into limp mode on WOT and pulls like a freight train on 91 oct!


It's worth noting that I went to walmart and bought a ~70 dollar battery charger just to be sure it didn't drop connection mid flash.

I'm very pleased with the results and for those of you who do not have a BT cable or android device, this method worked flawlessly for me. I may be the only person that has flashed like this, so I wanted to let you all know that it worked just fine.
Which battery charger did you get?


~JB4 G5 iso~BMS E85 Backend Flash~VTT Inlets~BMS DCI~BMS Low Temp Thermostat~BMS OCC~BMS Modified Clutch Valve~BMS Clutch Stop~335is Clutch~ER Competition FMIC Kit w/ HKS SSQV~3"AR **'s~3" Custom exhaust~RB PCV Valve~SteveAZ Stage 2 Bucket~Avant Garde M359 18x8.5 +35 18x9.5 +33~
Reply With Quote
(#563)
Old
AUbeast86's Avatar
AUbeast86 AUbeast86 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 764
Join Date: Nov 2012
Car: 2007 335i e92 Coupe
Default 05-12-2015, 12:24 PM

In order to flash using MHD, does the Android device have to be “OTG Compatible” or can any Android device be used regardless of if it’s OTG Compatible or not? I understand that in either case you would still need the DCAN and OTG adapter cable.
Reply With Quote
(#564)
Old
mastawyrm mastawyrm is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 2011 335is, 2002 540
Default 05-12-2015, 12:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUbeast86
In order to flash using MHD, does the Android device have to be “OTG Compatible” or can any Android device be used regardless of if it’s OTG Compatible or not? I understand that in either case you would still need the DCAN and OTG adapter cable.
Yes it does have to be. OTG compatible basically means that the device has the hardware to actually be a "host" device like a computer rather than just an end device like a keyboard/mouse/DCAN cable.

If you have an Android device that you'd like to test first, OTG cables are super cheap or can be built with a little soldering and a sacrificial usb cable, then you can just plug in a mouse and a cursor should be on screen almost immediately if your phone/tablet supports OTG.
Reply With Quote
(#565)
Old
Fast335i's Avatar
Fast335i Fast335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 346
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 07 BMW 335i
Default 05-12-2015, 04:31 PM

Ok so I downloaded the module so I can flash. When I clicked on jb4 backend flash it take me to sub folders of my phone. Where can I get to download the flashes so I can flash using the mhd....

specifically an e60 flash. .....or e50...as I have stock hpfp and have the N20 sensor and want to get close to 600 who


2007 BMW 335i...M2 exhaust...Macht Schnell **'s...VRSF 7" FMIC...MM Performance inlet system.....VRSF Chargpipe with Tial BOV....MFACTORY LSD....MHD e60. Wedge tunING.........RB Stealths......N20 Tmap upgrade.....Steve Stage 2 450......H&R Race lowering springs...MT ET Streets 265/40/18 rear.....NGK 5992
Reply With Quote
(#566)
Old
pianoman224's Avatar
pianoman224 pianoman224 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2008 BMW 335i
Default 05-12-2015, 05:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DV135i
Which battery charger did you get?
I used this battery charger from walmart. Worked great! Kept voltage at a steady 12.12 during the entire process

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schumacher...arger/25955538
Reply With Quote
(#567)
Old
pianoman224's Avatar
pianoman224 pianoman224 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2008 BMW 335i
Default 05-12-2015, 05:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUbeast86
In order to flash using MHD, does the Android device have to be “OTG Compatible” or can any Android device be used regardless of if it’s OTG Compatible or not? I understand that in either case you would still need the DCAN and OTG adapter cable.
There is also an app on the google play store that can check your device's OTG compatibility.
Reply With Quote
(#568)
Old
AUbeast86's Avatar
AUbeast86 AUbeast86 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 764
Join Date: Nov 2012
Car: 2007 335i e92 Coupe
Default 05-12-2015, 06:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mastawyrm
Yes it does have to be. OTG compatible basically means that the device has the hardware to actually be a "host" device like a computer rather than just an end device like a keyboard/mouse/DCAN cable.

If you have an Android device that you'd like to test first, OTG cables are super cheap or can be built with a little soldering and a sacrificial usb cable, then you can just plug in a mouse and a cursor should be on screen almost immediately if your phone/tablet supports OTG.
Just tested. Tab 4 is not OTG compatible. Which tablets are OTG compatible and have Bluetooth 4.0? There is limited to zero info on which ones have both.
Reply With Quote
(#569)
Old
zach1328's Avatar
zach1328 zach1328 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 148
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 535i
Default 05-12-2015, 06:09 PM

Has anyone tried flashing an i8a0s DME without the battery charger? The estimated flash time is only 16 minutes vs. over 30 minutes for later DME's.

If I try and it bricks the DME, is it as simple as buying a battery charger and reflashing my ECU back to stock (with my backed-up file) or would there be a lot more work involved with a bricked DME?


2007 335i - JB4, DCI, VRSF **
2008 535i - 15% tint, Angel eyes, Black Kidney Grills
N54 Tuning
Reply With Quote
(#570)
Old
zach1328's Avatar
zach1328 zach1328 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 148
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 535i
Default 05-12-2015, 07:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zach1328
Has anyone tried flashing an i8a0s DME without the battery charger? The estimated flash time is only 16 minutes vs. over 30 minutes for later DME's.

If I try and it bricks the DME, is it as simple as buying a battery charger and reflashing my ECU back to stock (with my backed-up file) or would there be a lot more work involved with a bricked DME?
I ended up buying a cheap $25 battery charger. It says in the description, "This battery charger is designed to slow charge wet cell, lead acid 12 volt batteries".

Does that sound like it will work with the e90 battery? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I know nothing about car batteries.


2007 335i - JB4, DCI, VRSF **
2008 535i - 15% tint, Angel eyes, Black Kidney Grills
N54 Tuning
Reply With Quote
(#571)
Old
boostninja boostninja is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 80
Join Date: Oct 2011
Car: 335is
Default 05-12-2015, 08:57 PM

Any updates on INA0S?
Reply With Quote
(#572)
Old
DV135i's Avatar
DV135i DV135i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Join Date: Mar 2013
Car: 135i
Default 05-13-2015, 07:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUbeast86
Just tested. Tab 4 is not OTG compatible. Which tablets are OTG compatible and have Bluetooth 4.0? There is limited to zero info on which ones have both.
I have the samsung galaxy note 4 which is OTG compatible and has bluetooth 4.1.


~JB4 G5 iso~BMS E85 Backend Flash~VTT Inlets~BMS DCI~BMS Low Temp Thermostat~BMS OCC~BMS Modified Clutch Valve~BMS Clutch Stop~335is Clutch~ER Competition FMIC Kit w/ HKS SSQV~3"AR **'s~3" Custom exhaust~RB PCV Valve~SteveAZ Stage 2 Bucket~Avant Garde M359 18x8.5 +35 18x9.5 +33~
Reply With Quote
(#573)
Old
mastawyrm mastawyrm is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 2011 335is, 2002 540
Default 05-13-2015, 07:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUbeast86
Just tested. Tab 4 is not OTG compatible. Which tablets are OTG compatible and have Bluetooth 4.0? There is limited to zero info on which ones have both.
I'm surprised that one doesn't have it. Unfortunately I don't know any good way to know what does and does not have it beyond searching " 'model' OTG capable " although I wouldn't be surprised to find out someone compiled a list somewhere.

I can say I've used OTG on my original Motorola Xoom and I actually flash with my Nexus 6.
Reply With Quote
(#574)
Old
Russjonesr's Avatar
Russjonesr Russjonesr is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 552
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: Bmw e92 335i
Default 05-13-2015, 07:26 AM

I use my Galaxy Tab 3 with MHD no issues.
Reply With Quote
(#575)
Old
mastawyrm mastawyrm is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 2011 335is, 2002 540
Default 05-13-2015, 10:54 AM

Does anyone know if the "backend flash" and "custom flash" functions actually do something different? I noticed when I tried to use the custom flash function on a slightly tweaked bms backend bin it gave me the message that I need to purchase the higher boost module but I was still able to flash it with the backend flash function. I just wonder if it's treating them differently somehow or if this is a loophole to get around buying the module. Or did I copy some kind of backend identifier to my original bin when I was copying changes into it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com