N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#5526)
Old
enrita's Avatar
enrita enrita is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 291
Join Date: Sep 2008
Car: 335i
Default 11-01-2012, 02:36 AM

Does FUB 1 means Additive work on all maps?
Basically if i want to run map 6 with meth additive on top is FUB 1 the right setting?


07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 Flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Reply With Quote
(#5527)
Old
Dirty Dog's Avatar
Dirty Dog Dirty Dog is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 224
Join Date: Jan 2011
Car: 135i
Default 11-01-2012, 03:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita
Does FUB 1 means Additive work on all maps?
Basically if i want to run map 6 with meth additive on top is FUB 1 the right setting?
Also in for the answer to this.


135i - JB4 15ohm l Mr 5 Intake l AA C@tless ********* l ETS Intercooler l BMS Methanol Injection l Berk Tech Mids l Berk Tech Axleback l BMS OCC l ER CP l Turbosmart BOV's. SOLD

335i DCT - JB4 G5 ISO l AA C@tless ********* l ETS Intercooler l Custom Intake l Meth l BMS E85 Flash l BMS OCC l ER CP l Walbro 255 l Turbosmart BOV's. CURRENT
Reply With Quote
(#5528)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,045
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 11-01-2012, 07:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita
Does FUB 1 means Additive work on all maps?
Basically if i want to run map 6 with meth additive on top is FUB 1 the right setting?
No, only the meth pump enables. Additive only functions on map 3 or 6. But I only use map 3. There is little need for map 6 these days unless you need to do something strange like severely limit low end torque, etc. With the 3.5 bar map sensor map 3 can go up to 24psi.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#5529)
Old
enrita's Avatar
enrita enrita is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 291
Join Date: Sep 2008
Car: 335i
Default 11-01-2012, 07:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
No, only the meth pump enables. Additive only functions on map 3 or 6. But I only use map 3. There is little need for map 6 these days unless you need to do something strange like severely limit low end torque, etc. With the 3.5 bar map sensor map 3 can go up to 24psi.
crystal clear thanks!


07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 Flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Reply With Quote
(#5530)
Old
muzzammil15 muzzammil15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jan 2012
Car: 07 e92
Default 11-01-2012, 05:58 PM

I am going to order the G5 board next week (already have the JB4), and I've been trying to decide if i should just go with simply the G5 or wondering if I should get the diodes cut and run the ISO. I mean if there is no power gains from it, is it really worth it? Is the smoothness really that noticeable for a car that is not FBO?
Reply With Quote
(#5531)
Old
robc1976's Avatar
robc1976 robc1976 is offline
Demigod
 
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Mar 2012
Car: 2007 335i
Default 11-01-2012, 06:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzammil15
I am going to order the G5 board next week (already have the JB4), and I've been trying to decide if i should just go with simply the G5 or wondering if I should get the diodes cut and run the ISO. I mean if there is no power gains from it, is it really worth it? Is the smoothness really that noticeable for a car that is not FBO?
Yes it is a big difference but with the diodes bing cut so easy...try regular then cut the diodes if you want a change.


JB4 G5, WEDGE flash, 455 LPFP, HFS-4 meth kit, BMS OCC, VM 6466 ST, RB valve, BMS DCI, 3" AR ***, Custom OC W/ SS lines, ER FMIC, ER CP W/HKS BOV, M3 control arms, M3 guide rods, M3 upper links, M3 front & rear sway-bars, HPA rear toe arms, Wavetrac LSD, HPF Gen 2 exhaust DEFIV kit, KW clubsort, Delrin solid subfrane bushings, stoptech rotors, Rogue Tranny Mounts, 1M bumper, M3 CF hood, MORR VS8.2 rims 245/295
Reply With Quote
(#5532)
Old
rudypoochris rudypoochris is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 212
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default 11-01-2012, 06:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzammil15
I am going to order the G5 board next week (already have the JB4), and I've been trying to decide if i should just go with simply the G5 or wondering if I should get the diodes cut and run the ISO. I mean if there is no power gains from it, is it really worth it? Is the smoothness really that noticeable for a car that is not FBO?
Why would you not cut the diodes? If you don't that just means you will have to do it later unless you don't ever want to upgrade firmware....


2008 335i Coupe 6MT
JB4G5, DCI, Wagner FMIC
Reply With Quote
(#5533)
Old
5soko's Avatar
5soko 5soko is offline
Vintage
 
Posts: 284
Join Date: Apr 2008
Car: F10 N55 PWG
Default 11-01-2012, 07:07 PM

Yea^ there is no more G5 development. Order the G5 and add in the comments section you want ISO G5, Terry will cut the diodes and load the ISO firwmare for you.


2014 F10 535i N55 PWG
Reply With Quote
(#5534)
Old
muzzammil15 muzzammil15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jan 2012
Car: 07 e92
Default 11-01-2012, 07:54 PM

I see what you guys are saying, thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote
(#5535)
Old
Ryan Mills Ryan Mills is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Dec 2010
Car: E90 335i manual
Default 11-02-2012, 06:40 AM

Just a thought..... Is there any way to simulate the DME's control of the wastegates during a cold start? My car's wastegates while using the ISO software made the wastegates rattle like castanets. Now, this was with a setting of "0" on the lagfix, but still.
Reply With Quote
(#5536)
Old
5soko's Avatar
5soko 5soko is offline
Vintage
 
Posts: 284
Join Date: Apr 2008
Car: F10 N55 PWG
Default 11-02-2012, 07:51 AM

LAgfix at 0 so the worst position for rattle..

Terry can give you the lagfix value to have your wastegate act on oem algorithm, but not during coldstart only but full time..

Bump lagfix to the default setting see if it goes away.


2014 F10 535i N55 PWG
Reply With Quote
(#5537)
Old
ultmxp's Avatar
ultmxp ultmxp is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 335is
Default 11-02-2012, 08:34 AM

Uploaded 11B last night... dang! I was sitting there spinning my tires . But once it gripped that was so much fun! Super smooth and super fast spool!


2011 E92 335is 6MT - Everything except Logic7 but MusicarNW + Technic FTW!
Mods - JB4 G5, Cobb BMS Flash, 5" ETS IC, Injen Intake, AR ***, ER CP, Forge DV, M3 suspension kit (front), H&R Sport Springs, Performance Shift Knob (adds 50whp!)
Reply With Quote
(#5538)
Old
infinity's Avatar
infinity infinity is offline
metanol pawa!!
 
Posts: 151
Join Date: Sep 2010
Car: 335i
Default 11-02-2012, 09:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
No, only the meth pump enables. Additive only functions on map 3 or 6. But I only use map 3. There is little need for map 6 these days unless you need to do something strange like severely limit low end torque, etc. With the 3.5 bar map sensor map 3 can go up to 24psi.
sweet


Time is the best teacher

Too bad it kills all its pupils ....
Reply With Quote
(#5539)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-02-2012, 04:43 PM

Tomorrow i am going to install the JB5 G5...i already cut the diodes but can i only upload the G5 ISO firmware when i installed the JB4 in the car?? I just tried to upload it but it says that it can only be done with the ignition on?
Reply With Quote
(#5540)
Old
I_Want_535i I_Want_535i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-02-2012, 04:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob S.
Tomorrow i am going to install the JB5 G5...i already cut the diodes but can i only upload the G5 ISO firmware when i installed the JB4 in the car?? I just tried to upload it but it says that it can only be done with the ignition on?

Upload can only be done with USB plug into jb4 with ignition on(like starting the car without engine running). The J4 need power running to it.
Reply With Quote
(#5541)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-02-2012, 04:53 PM

Ok thnx. Its the first time that i do something like this so i dont want to mess it all up
Reply With Quote
(#5542)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-03-2012, 05:04 AM

We are installing the JB4 at the moment, but we are stuck.
I also ordered the G5 SLD, CPS wires and 2 step relay but i have no clue how to install it (please see picture below).

How do we install the wires to the JB4/ECU???

Thanks.

Last edited by Rob S.; 11-03-2012 at 05:10 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#5543)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-03-2012, 05:07 AM



Reply With Quote
(#5544)
Old
I_Want_535i I_Want_535i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-03-2012, 07:10 AM

It goes in the DB9 open slots as follow:

2: SLD Output (female), connects to gray connector position #17 as read from the female side.
4: CPS Output (female), connects to large black connector position #29 as read from the female side.
6: SLD Input (male), goes in male end of gray position #17 as read from the female side.
7: 2STEP / Relay input / ground, relay intercepts green power connector position #8.
8: Clutch input for NLS, connects to jumper wire installed in gray subconnector position #18 as read from the female side.
9: CPS Input (male), goes in male end of large black #29 as read from female side.

Basic directions for 2STEP/CLUTCH wire:

1) Locate green power connector, open bottom flap, and remove #8 orange wire. Place 2STEP relay red wire in its place. Connect #8 orange wire you removed to the 2STEP relay blue/white wire using preinstalled connector.
2) Put green power connector back in its location with relay hanging below or next to it.
3) Connect 2STEP black, which will have a wire nut connecting to an extension wire, in to the USB cable position #7.
4) For the NLS to work you must also install a clutch wire. Connect this to USB cable position #8.
5) Connect the male/female end of the clutch wire in to the gray DME connector position #18 as read from the female end. Either by removing the PNP connector and extracting that jumper wire, or simply removing the wire, sticking the female end in, connecting the OEM female wire in the new male pin, and folding a piece of tape in half over it. The wire needs to read the clutch signal.
6) To enable NLS you must be running the 9/1 or later G5 firmware with bogfix set to 0. This will cut engine power when pressing the clutch while gas is fully pressed and restore it when you let the clutch back out again.
7) Note if the car cranks without starting after installing the relay something is likely wired wrong. If you are unable to sort it out just email in install photos for support.
Reply With Quote
(#5545)
Old
I_Want_535i I_Want_535i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-03-2012, 07:19 AM

Here is the link to the DIY with pics:

http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showpo...57&postcount=1
Reply With Quote
(#5546)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-03-2012, 01:40 PM

Thnx...we got the job done, car started perfect and gave no false codes.
We filled the car up with 102 oct and selected map 5. I am very impressed how the car pulled. Wheelspin in 3th at 65mph I guess it will only get better? Or does the JB4 learn very quick? We drove around 30-40minutes and i did 3 WOT pulls in 3th and 2 WOT pulls in 4th.
Reply With Quote
(#5547)
Old
I_Want_535i I_Want_535i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-03-2012, 01:49 PM

It takes 3 to 4 wot in 3rd and 4th gear to adapt. With auto tunning it can get better with climate temps for me but I'm currently running G5 ISO map 3 with BMS ww meth kit and loving it ( thanks to T and his hard work).
Reply With Quote
(#5548)
Old
Rob S. Rob S. is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92 335i M-Sport
Default 11-03-2012, 01:54 PM

Ok then i'll have to do some more pulls in 4th.
BMS ** and meth kit are next on my list, together with a bigger intercooler.
Maybe next month, we'll see. Thanks again for the help iwant535i!
Reply With Quote
(#5549)
Old
mykal's Avatar
mykal mykal is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: '09 E90
Default 11-03-2012, 02:00 PM

Hey Terry, now that we are moving forward with ISO do you think you can combine this sticky with the other G5 sticky/thread? Also can you link the interface updates like in the JB4 sticky?
Reply With Quote
(#5550)
Old
aoschadlin's Avatar
aoschadlin aoschadlin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: May 2011
Car: 535i
Default 11-04-2012, 12:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudypoochris
Why would you not cut the diodes? If you don't that just means you will have to do it later unless you don't ever want to upgrade firmware....
Exactly my failure.

I didn't read through the G5 thread to the end before ordering and installing my G5 board. Now I need to go pull it out, cut the diodes and reinstall it.

"Look before you leap" or something like that?


Cool stuff no longer installed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com