N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
siggs2229's Avatar
siggs2229 siggs2229 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: 335xi Coupe
Default Changed Spark Plugs - 09-10-2010, 11:36 PM

Well I just go finished changing the plugs on our favorite N54 motor. I had taken all the necessary parts off to get at the spark plugs, I go to change the first plug and my socket wont fit. Now I have a few different ones and none of them would fit. At this point im cursing the car and wondering why I should have to need a special tool just to change a simple set of plugs. Why BMW does this I have know idea ? I kept thinking of ways to solve my fix I was in. Mind you all the stores are closed. So I decided to take a chance and I ground down my 14mm deep socket to see if it would fit. To my amazement it did. I didn't have to go out and buy a $60 tool, I will probably only use once. So just to let all of you know if your in a pinch a 12 point 14mm craftsman socket ground down quite a bit, does the job just fine.


Rob
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Scrufy's Avatar
Scrufy Scrufy is offline
Boost
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: The Short Bus
Default 09-11-2010, 12:21 AM

You talking about grinding around the outside of the socket to make it thinner or making a deep socket shorter for some clearance issue?
Just curious as this is on the short list of things to do next month.
Don't happen to have the part number on the outside of that socket do you? To make it a cool DIY that would help as all Craftsman parts have a part # on the outside.
Thanks for the tip!!!
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
siggs2229's Avatar
siggs2229 siggs2229 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: 335xi Coupe
Default 09-12-2010, 02:15 AM

Actually I cut off about a half inch of the socket with a Dremel tool first. It still did not fit after doing this. Then I ground down the socket on a table top grinder. It was a standard 14mm craftsman 12 point deep socket 3/8 inch drive. All the craftsman sockets are pretty much the same. I don't know the part number and I cant find it anymore because I ground it off :-) Just get the regular brand of craftsman socket and you should be fine. Dont get an impact socket it is much thicker and would take forever to grind it down. Good luck doing it.

Rob
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
monaco335 monaco335 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2008
Car: e90 335i
Default 09-12-2010, 05:55 AM

Just get the socket from eas it's not very expensive
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
telkayat's Avatar
telkayat telkayat is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 09-12-2010, 01:12 PM

scruffy...do it so I can borrow it since I'm in socal too! lol
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
UsualSuspect UsualSuspect is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Apr 2009
Car: BMW 135i(SOLD STi)
Default 09-12-2010, 04:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by siggs2229
Well I just go finished changing the plugs on our favorite N54 motor. I had taken all the necessary parts off to get at the spark plugs, I go to change the first plug and my socket wont fit. Now I have a few different ones and none of them would fit. At this point im cursing the car and wondering why I should have to need a special tool just to change a simple set of plugs. Why BMW does this I have know idea ? I kept thinking of ways to solve my fix I was in. Mind you all the stores are closed. So I decided to take a chance and I ground down my 14mm deep socket to see if it would fit. To my amazement it did. I didn't have to go out and buy a $60 tool, I will probably only use once. So just to let all of you know if your in a pinch a 12 point 14mm craftsman socket ground down quite a bit, does the job just fine.


Rob
Is this an easy job to do? ...I mean changing the spark plugs.
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
telkayat's Avatar
telkayat telkayat is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 09-12-2010, 07:16 PM

extremely easy given the right tools!
1. remove engine cover
2. remove cylinder 1 coil
3. remove cylinder 1 plug and replace with new plug
4. repeat for cylinders 2-6
5. replace engine cover
6. have a beer, you're done
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
siggs2229's Avatar
siggs2229 siggs2229 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: 335xi Coupe
Default Tool - 09-15-2010, 10:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by monaco335
Just get the socket from eas it's not very expensive




Sure you could spend the money and get the tool. I just did this because I was in the middle of changing the plugs and had my car apart. That was my whole point Who knew that BMW would require a special socket just to change the plugs. I think its stupid that you should have to get a special socket just to change the spark plugs in the first place.


Rob
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
Qmax03's Avatar
Qmax03 Qmax03 is offline
Stock
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: 1 Of the Fast 3's ..
Default 09-15-2010, 11:37 PM

i bought my socket from Sears... cost me $4.99 ... same size they use on the newer nissans as well... You gatta be crazy to pay $60 !!!


9.5psi STOCK.
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
telkayat's Avatar
telkayat telkayat is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 09-16-2010, 12:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmax03
i bought my socket from Sears... cost me $4.99 ... same size they use on the newer nissans as well... You gatta be crazy to pay $60 !!!
part number or model?
Reply With Quote
(#11)
Old
jojo135 jojo135 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2010
Car: 2009 BMW 135i
Default 09-16-2010, 03:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by telkayat
part number or model?
Yes please
Reply With Quote
(#12)
Old
Trickcruiser's Avatar
Trickcruiser Trickcruiser is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 525
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i
Default 09-17-2010, 12:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by telkayat
part number or model?
Also in for this part number or photo!

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
(#13)
Old
Russell @ BMS's Avatar
Russell @ BMS Russell @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 5,673
Join Date: Nov 2008
Car: 2009 335i AT
Cool 09-17-2010, 01:13 PM

This might be it.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...8&blockType=G8
Reply With Quote
(#14)
Old
Scrufy's Avatar
Scrufy Scrufy is offline
Boost
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: The Short Bus
Default 09-17-2010, 03:34 PM

I'll check it out - i have a medium depth snap-on set that might be that size already. If it is, Ill let you know. Snap-on aint cheap, but its still only going to be like 10 bucks for a single socket. Thats if someone doesnt have a grinder. You can also just take a cutout piece of kitchen sponge and glue it in there to hold the plug on.
Reply With Quote
(#15)
Old
Qmax03's Avatar
Qmax03 Qmax03 is offline
Stock
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: 1 Of the Fast 3's ..
Default 09-17-2010, 03:37 PM

I bought a regular 12pt 14mm long thin Wall socket ... worked like a charm .


9.5psi STOCK.
Reply With Quote
(#16)
Old
Vroom's Avatar
Vroom Vroom is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i 318ti
Default 09-18-2010, 11:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmax03
I bought a regular 12pt 14mm long thin Wall socket ... worked like a charm .
Qmax,
Think I bought the same one but have not used it yet. Is it #50671?
Reply With Quote
(#17)
Old
jojo135 jojo135 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2010
Car: 2009 BMW 135i
Default 09-19-2010, 01:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmax03
I bought a regular 12pt 14mm long thin Wall socket ... worked like a charm .
I assume it is the same for all n54 motors but does anybody know? What is your car qmax? What year also? Mine is 2009 135.

Also, is this the tool you refer to? I really don't want to get into the change and be stuck without proper tools.

http://www.sears.com:80/shc/s/p_1015...1&viewType=gal
Reply With Quote
(#18)
Old
CBR335 CBR335 is offline
HP addict
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
Car: 09 E92 335
Default 09-20-2010, 06:53 PM

You will want a Craftsman extendable magnetic wand as well. Indispensable for getting the plug out if it comes loose from the socket and back down into the head without it dropping. The 5 lb wand is so strong I can latch on to the coil contact and thread the plug in a couple of turns with it. You really don't want to cross thread the plug into aluminum.
Reply With Quote
(#19)
Old
Scrufy's Avatar
Scrufy Scrufy is offline
Boost
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: The Short Bus
Default 09-20-2010, 07:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR335
You will want a Craftsman extendable magnetic wand as well. Indispensable for getting the plug out if it comes loose from the socket and back down into the head without it dropping. The 5 lb wand is so strong I can latch on to the coil contact and thread the plug in a couple of turns with it. You really don't want to cross thread the plug into aluminum.
Yeah thats why I suggested gluing in some sponge-- The things Ive done in a pit 75 miles from the rock that was 75 miles from the sign that said middle of nowhere 75 miles ahead...
Reply With Quote
(#20)
Old
siggs2229's Avatar
siggs2229 siggs2229 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Car: 335xi Coupe
Default Socket - 09-21-2010, 11:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmax03
I bought a regular 12pt 14mm long thin Wall socket ... worked like a charm .

I didn't know sears made a thin walled socket. All I know is I had the standard 14mm 12 point deep socket, not even the nicer ones with the etching on the side . I wish I had known that they made thin walled sockets. I guess you live and learn.


Rob
Reply With Quote
(#21)
Old
Trickcruiser's Avatar
Trickcruiser Trickcruiser is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 525
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i
Default 09-24-2010, 06:29 AM

I am going to change my plugs this evening.

Does anyone have the thq specs on the plugs?
Reply With Quote
(#22)
Old
greatet335i greatet335i is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Car: 335i
Default 09-24-2010, 08:47 AM

14mm Socket, 12 pt. Deep
Reply With Quote
(#23)
Old
Vroom's Avatar
Vroom Vroom is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i 318ti
Thumbs up 09-24-2010, 08:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trickcruiser
I am going to change my plugs this evening.

Does anyone have the thq specs on the plugs?
23NM or 17 Ft. Lbs.

If you can would you measure the OD of your socket or even better the ID of the hole the socket fits into.
Reply With Quote
(#24)
Old
Trickcruiser's Avatar
Trickcruiser Trickcruiser is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 525
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i
Default 09-24-2010, 10:00 AM

I will take a photo of the mod that I had to make to my Craftsman socket as soon as I am done.

Seems tooooooo easy so far...
Reply With Quote
(#25)
Old
James33 James33 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Car: '08 135i
Default 09-27-2010, 08:58 AM

Anyone put antiseize compound on the threads of the plugs?


2008 135i, 2003 330ci convertible, 1996 M3, 2002 MR2 Spyder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com