N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1301)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-14-2015, 08:37 PM

Has anyone messed around with TunerPro and changing/modifying the XDF or BIN? I'm not sure which one to save/flash
Reply With Quote
(#1302)
Old
Jeff_335i Jeff_335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2007 E92 335i
Default 08-14-2015, 08:48 PM

Just got my cable and purchased the MHD JB4 backend flasher module today and poked around a bit and now have a couple questions.

I'm currently running the BimmerBoost JB4 backend flash, Will the MHD program option to flash back to stock somehow figure out how to set it back to stock or would I have to flash my stock file back using BimmerBoost? How about after I overwrite the BimmerBoost flash with the MHD flash? I guess the question is, does MHD have a clean stock file that it uses to flash back to stock, or something like that?

When I connect the cable to the car and MHD shows the VIN, H/W version, and voltage, the VIN and H/W are correct but with ignition on, engine off the voltage says 0V but while with the engine running it reports a plausible voltage. Is this normal?

Car is an 03/07 production 335i, k-line I8A0S.


2007 E92 335i | JB4 G5 ISO | BMS MHD Backend Flash | JB4 Mobile | Alpina TCU Flash | ETS FMIC | aFe DCI | BMS OCC | ER Chargepipe | Corsa exhaust | ISC Coilovers | APEX ARC-8 Wheels | Stoptech Trophy BBK ST60/40 | Dinan oil cooler
Reply With Quote
(#1303)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-14-2015, 09:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_335i
Just got my cable and purchased the MHD JB4 backend flasher module today and poked around a bit and now have a couple questions.

I'm currently running the BimmerBoost JB4 backend flash, Will the MHD program option to flash back to stock somehow figure out how to set it back to stock or would I have to flash my stock file back using BimmerBoost? How about after I overwrite the BimmerBoost flash with the MHD flash? I guess the question is, does MHD have a clean stock file that it uses to flash back to stock, or something like that?

When I connect the cable to the car and MHD shows the VIN, H/W version, and voltage, the VIN and H/W are correct but with ignition on, engine off the voltage says 0V but while with the engine running it reports a plausible voltage. Is this normal?

Car is an 03/07 production 335i, k-line I8A0S.
This may/may not help, but I backed up my ECU from stock and then tried to flash a custom BIN, it failed and I flashed back to stock. So, assuming the current flash you have is BimmerBoost, I would flash the stock file back using BimmerBoost and then flash the MHD.
Reply With Quote
(#1304)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-14-2015, 09:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc535i
Looks like around 6.5" wixe and 4" or so tall... any suggestions?
Bought the Dragon Touch 8" tablet from Amazon, we'll see how that works
Reply With Quote
(#1305)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-15-2015, 03:22 PM

Hi Everyone. I was going to email MHD, but i thought i'd post here first.

I am reading and reading and reading... I think I am just confusing myself. I just want to be told what to do and go from there.

I haven't got the DCAN cable yet or the MHD app as i just want to get to grips.

I am in England and only run Shell Vpower...(your equivalent of 95 i believe) and we don't have ethanol here unfortunately.
I am FBO (about to run meth) and currently just using JB4 on Map 5 (Love it but getting annoyed with how inconsistent it is)

______________________________________________

So i want to stack the flash using MHD with the JB4 as many do. To keep things simple first I just want to run FBO and will begin running meth later once I've got to grips with the MHD and loading new back end flashes.

Being in England i have heard rumours about issues using U.S. based maps as our fuel is different... Is this true???

Should i run a pre made flash off the MHD app (if so, which one) or is there a more ideal map for us UK people running FBO and who should I go to for it? Then i assume i would run on Map 2 or Map 5 again? I would prefer more consistent performance with boost always hitting a target. Right now, sometimes i get 15psi on the JB4 and others i only get 12psi... It's quite annoying.

After i get this all running and setup, I can log and post back here and see what can be done to improve the performance based on the logs.
______________________________________________

Now this may sound silly.
But if i was then to run Meth, would i just begin running map3 over the back end flash? Or would i need to load an all new flash which is ready for meth?


Thank you.

Josh
Reply With Quote
(#1306)
Old
ShocknAwe ShocknAwe is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 767
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 135i
Default 08-15-2015, 04:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Hi Everyone. I was going to email MHD, but i thought i'd post here first.

I am reading and reading and reading... I think I am just confusing myself. I just want to be told what to do and go from there.

I haven't got the DCAN cable yet or the MHD app as i just want to get to grips.

I am in England and only run Shell Vpower...(your equivalent of 95 i believe) and we don't have ethanol here unfortunately.
I am FBO (about to run meth) and currently just using JB4 on Map 5 (Love it but getting annoyed with how inconsistent it is)

______________________________________________

So i want to stack the flash using MHD with the JB4 as many do. To keep things simple first I just want to run FBO and will begin running meth later once I've got to grips with the MHD and loading new back end flashes.

Being in England i have heard rumours about issues using U.S. based maps as our fuel is different... Is this true???

Should i run a pre made flash off the MHD app (if so, which one) or is there a more ideal map for us UK people running FBO and who should I go to for it? Then i assume i would run on Map 2 or Map 5 again? I would prefer more consistent performance with boost always hitting a target. Right now, sometimes i get 15psi on the JB4 and others i only get 12psi... It's quite annoying.

After i get this all running and setup, I can log and post back here and see what can be done to improve the performance based on the logs.
______________________________________________

Now this may sound silly.
But if i was then to run Meth, would i just begin running map3 over the back end flash? Or would i need to load an all new flash which is ready for meth?


Thank you.

Josh
So, you're on V-Power RON 98, right?


2010 135i M-Sport 6MT Jet Black
N54 | Build Thread
Reply With Quote
(#1307)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-15-2015, 04:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShocknAwe
So, you're on V-Power RON 98, right?
Yes i believe so.
Reply With Quote
(#1308)
Old
mave198 mave198 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 07 335i e90
Default 08-15-2015, 04:54 PM

Flashed today the JB4 pump backend flash with the MHD.

Pretty painless. Pulled the fuel pump fuse. Backed up the ECU, write took 18 mins. Car started right up. No charger was used.
Reply With Quote
(#1309)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-15-2015, 06:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mave198
Flashed today the JB4 pump backend flash with the MHD.

Pretty painless. Pulled the fuel pump fuse. Backed up the ECU, write took 18 mins. Car started right up. No charger was used.
@mave198 Are you FBO? Glad it was a painless process.
How have you found the performance difference from running just the JB4 on its own?
Reply With Quote
(#1310)
Old
mave198 mave198 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 07 335i e90
Default 08-15-2015, 07:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
@mave198 Are you FBO? Glad it was a painless process.
How have you found the performance difference from running just the JB4 on its own?
Yes sir. FBO no meth.

Drivability has improved as has throttle response. Haven't been able to go WOT to really test and log yet. Hopefully next weekend.
Reply With Quote
(#1311)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-16-2015, 04:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Hi Everyone. I was going to email MHD, but i thought i'd post here first.

I am reading and reading and reading... I think I am just confusing myself. I just want to be told what to do and go from there.

I haven't got the DCAN cable yet or the MHD app as i just want to get to grips.

I am in England and only run Shell Vpower...(your equivalent of 95 i believe) and we don't have ethanol here unfortunately.
I am FBO (about to run meth) and currently just using JB4 on Map 5 (Love it but getting annoyed with how inconsistent it is)

______________________________________________

So i want to stack the flash using MHD with the JB4 as many do. To keep things simple first I just want to run FBO and will begin running meth later once I've got to grips with the MHD and loading new back end flashes.

Being in England i have heard rumours about issues using U.S. based maps as our fuel is different... Is this true???

Should i run a pre made flash off the MHD app (if so, which one) or is there a more ideal map for us UK people running FBO and who should I go to for it? Then i assume i would run on Map 2 or Map 5 again? I would prefer more consistent performance with boost always hitting a target. Right now, sometimes i get 15psi on the JB4 and others i only get 12psi... It's quite annoying.

After i get this all running and setup, I can log and post back here and see what can be done to improve the performance based on the logs.
______________________________________________

Now this may sound silly.
But if i was then to run Meth, would i just begin running map3 over the back end flash? Or would i need to load an all new flash which is ready for meth?


Thank you.

Josh
Hopefully someone can help with this.

Another thing.

I have a pre 03/2007 car.
Does that mean i need a KLINE cable rather than a DCAN cable?
Reply With Quote
(#1312)
Old
19e92's Avatar
19e92 19e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 2007 335i Coupe
Default 08-16-2015, 11:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kish2604
i am getting an active code: 29D2 Misfirings cylinder 6

it happens on every wot pull now and the car stutters till I switch it of and restart then it will be fine till it happens again...

I emailed you Martial, still waiting for a response...
I'm also getting misfires on CYL 6. Happens during WOT. I'm running JB4 (v31) Map 5, menu is set to 4/2, using the 06/06/15 backend flash.

Misfires and check engine eventually go away and the car drives okay again.

Should I go hunting for hardware issues or is this a result of the flash?

Thanks,
Joey
Reply With Quote
(#1313)
Old
19e92's Avatar
19e92 19e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: 2007 335i Coupe
Default 08-16-2015, 11:26 AM

Could I also try flashing to 5/7/15? Could that possibly help?
Reply With Quote
(#1314)
Old
Russjonesr's Avatar
Russjonesr Russjonesr is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 552
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: Bmw e92 335i
Default 08-16-2015, 02:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1a1h
Hopefully someone can help with this.

Another thing.

I have a pre 03/2007 car.
Does that mean i need a KLINE cable rather than a DCAN cable?
Hey bud, nothing to worry about. The MHD app is easy to use so you can swap and change in less than 2 mins.

As you have a jb4 you have to run the MHD jb4 flashes as the jb4 still controls boost, there are 3 options. Pump, race and E85...when you get the meth you can run the race.
I only run map 3 and adjust the boost curve depending on how aggressive you want to be. You can buy ethanol from ekofuel...often good to play around. I'm running the e85 flash...need meth and E20...
I bought the cable from cableshack and it work perfectly..pm me if you need anything else
Cheers Russ
Reply With Quote
(#1315)
Old
CLTEURO CLTEURO is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2015
Car: 08 335i 6MT Coupe
Default 08-16-2015, 05:01 PM

Any help here guys? I've posted twice so far and no hints/helps/tips.

Should I just email them?


2008 E92 335i Coupe 6MT | Apex Arc-8 18x9.5 | MHD: Stage 2 93oct | CP-e Charge Pipe | Active Autowerke BOV | DCI | VRSF C*****S D*******S | VRSF 5" FMIC | Cyba Air Scoops | BMW PE Mod
Reply With Quote
(#1316)
Old
Guam135i's Avatar
Guam135i Guam135i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Car: 2008 135i
Default 08-16-2015, 09:32 PM

I have a 2008 135i with 66K miles. It has a misfire under load. I am running the JB4 MAP 1. I replaced the low fuel pressure sensor, all the coils and replaced to NGK 1 step colder plugs. Car idle's much better but still that misfire at higher rpm's. I also updated to the latest JB4 firmware. The car is still on original HPFP. I really need help I am thinkling of getting rid of the car already......


1970 Morris Cooper S
2008 BMW 135i Coupe
2008 BMW 128i Cabriolet


"Aerodynamics is for people who cannot build engines" Enzo Ferrari
Reply With Quote
(#1317)
Old
Spxxx's Avatar
Spxxx Spxxx is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 711
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: E92 335i
Default 08-16-2015, 09:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guam135i
I have a 2008 135i with 66K miles. It has a misfire under load. I am running the JB4 MAP 1. I replaced the low fuel pressure sensor, all the coils and replaced to NGK 1 step colder plugs. Car idle's much better but still that misfire at higher rpm's. I also updated to the latest JB4 firmware. The car is still on original HPFP. I really need help I am thinkling of getting rid of the car already......
Don't be a quitter... Check for fuel on plugs / log and post them up. Could be a failing hpfp or injectors, check 2 options:
1) Misfire on all cylinders - HPFP
2) Misfire on a single cylinder - fuel injector


M-Sport 135i - N54 - FBO - E60 - Mfactory LSD - MHD - JB4 - SPX Tuned
Reply With Quote
(#1318)
Old
Guam135i's Avatar
Guam135i Guam135i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Car: 2008 135i
Default 08-17-2015, 12:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spxxx
Don't be a quitter... Check for fuel on plugs / log and post them up. Could be a failing hpfp or injectors, check 2 options:
1) Misfire on all cylinders - HPFP
2) Misfire on a single cylinder - fuel injector

Thanks I forgot that when the engine is first started I noticed it runs smoother and when it gets to normal temperature it starts to miss at higher RPM.


1970 Morris Cooper S
2008 BMW 135i Coupe
2008 BMW 128i Cabriolet


"Aerodynamics is for people who cannot build engines" Enzo Ferrari
Reply With Quote
(#1319)
Old
Riceball777 Riceball777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 183
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 2007 e90 335i
Default 08-17-2015, 02:08 AM

i Just installed the pump gas back end flash with my wife's samsung note 2 phone. It too 18 minutes and eveything was done with out any issues. I run straight 91octnae on my car and i always run map 5. I have Vrsf down ***** and intercooler and charge pipe with tial bov.

Am i really suppose to notice a difference with the back end pump gas flash because i fell that the car feels the same as when i did not have the back end flash. Whats the backend flash really suppose to improve? Is the pump gas back end flash supose to increase hp on a full bolt on car?

Last edited by Riceball777; 08-17-2015 at 02:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#1320)
Old
chatz86's Avatar
chatz86 chatz86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 266
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 08 E92 335i N54
Default 08-17-2015, 02:50 AM

Have you enabled back end flash mode on jb4 (option 4/2) and zeroed out your cps and duty values using either the app or jb4 interface? Follow the instructions on the thread!


2008 e92 335i M-Sport|JB4 G5|MHD BMS BEF|BMS DCI|VRSF **|Alpina 7603537|BMS OCC|RB PCV|Stage 2 LPFP|Fuel It! ES-1 fuel lines with Ethanol Sensor and JB4 analyser|MMP Silicone Inlets|4 Bar TMAP|VRSF 7" FMIC
Reply With Quote
(#1321)
Old
mave198 mave198 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 07 335i e90
Default 08-17-2015, 08:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guam135i
I have a 2008 135i with 66K miles. It has a misfire under load. I am running the JB4 MAP 1. I replaced the low fuel pressure sensor, all the coils and replaced to NGK 1 step colder plugs. Car idle's much better but still that misfire at higher rpm's. I also updated to the latest JB4 firmware. The car is still on original HPFP. I really need help I am thinkling of getting rid of the car already......
Without logging no one can help you, and if you can't figure it out take it to a mechanic.
Reply With Quote
(#1322)
Old
Josh1a1h Josh1a1h is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: May 2013
Car: 335i Pre LCI e92
Default 08-17-2015, 01:18 PM

I've been reading so many dodgy things about NGK plugs… You shouldn't experience a loss with oem bosch plugs right?
Reply With Quote
(#1323)
Old
Kish2604's Avatar
Kish2604 Kish2604 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 185
Join Date: Aug 2013
Car: E92 335i
Default Misfire - 08-17-2015, 01:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19e92
I'm also getting misfires on CYL 6. Happens during WOT. I'm running JB4 (v31) Map 5, menu is set to 4/2, using the 06/06/15 backend flash.

Misfires and check engine eventually go away and the car drives okay again.

Should I go hunting for hardware issues or is this a result of the flash?

Thanks,
Joey
Hi... I never managed to get to the bottom of the misfire with MHD on cylinder 6, (all ports were cleaned less than 500km ago, swopped coils, plugs and injectors and the misfire remained on cylinder 6) I went back to my old wedge flash and BB app and it's back to normal, planning on waiting for the next release of maps to try again...


|RB old gen|Jb4 G5|3" **'s|ER Competition Cooler|ER Charge pipe|Tial BOV|CM Meth Kit|Dual nozzle setup|BMS cowl filters|AFE intakes+scoops|
|BMS low temp oil thermo|MHD flash + coding|HnR Springs|M3 Control arm kit + H&R + Koni|LED Angel eyes+plate lights
Reply With Quote
(#1324)
Old
nyt nyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 457
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 335ix
Default 08-17-2015, 01:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kish2604
Hi... I never managed to get to the bottom of the misfire with MHD on cylinder 6, (all ports were cleaned less than 500km ago, swopped coils, plugs and injectors and the misfire remained on cylinder 6) I went back to my old wedge flash and BB app and it's back to normal, planning on waiting for the next release of maps to try again...

Are you running the same boost levels? I had the same issue, 2010 XI 6AT. The only way I got it to go away was to decrease the boost. Replaced injectors coils and plugs. I've disabled misfire detection since. That said, I saw the same misfire running the bms map. The misfires would only happen around 6300rpm. Are your vanos tables changed between those maps?


2010 335ix - hybrids, cp, ic, inlets, outlets, jb4, pi, fuel-it stg3, backend flash
Reply With Quote
(#1325)
Old
torn08 torn08 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2015
Car: 08 e93 335i
Default 08-17-2015, 04:46 PM

So if we are running a back and flash, all the new jb4 options don't really matter? The linear boost and everything?


08 e93 335i - JB4 w/Trebila tune, alpina trans flash, bms dci, vrsf cp, tial bov, vrsf **, vrsf 7 fmic, bms occ, fuel it stage 2, N20 TMAP, vtt inlets, st coilovers
Running E50ish
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com