N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#9201)
Old
dbrown8958 dbrown8958 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 2007 335i
Default 05-24-2015, 09:42 AM


The JB4 has several active safety systems that will trigger SES light flashes.

The first is the over-boost safety. If boost exceeds the value you've set under user adjustment the SES light will flash once and the JB4 will switch itself to map 4 until you restart the car. The default setting is 18psi. Common causes for this are setting the value too low for the map/intended usage, improperly configured or defective wastegates, or JB4 setting problems.

The second is the run-lean safety system. If your air/fuel ratio (either bank) runs leaner than 14:1 over 4500rpm for more than a second the SES light will flash twice and the JB4 will again switch itself to map 4 until you restart the car. Common causes are maxed out fuel trims (see E85 notes above) or o2 sensor faults. Note any o2 sensor fault must be corrected for the tuning to operate properly.


How do you lower your fuel trims is it possible using the mobile app? Asking because I'm going lean in bank 1?
Reply With Quote
(#9202)
Old
Vroom's Avatar
Vroom Vroom is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i 318ti
Default 05-24-2015, 02:51 PM

Nevermind - the hex file was in my download folder, not in the BMS folder where I did a save as.


trying to download the hex file on first page but it arrives as "attachment" a php file. Can I select the php file to upload??

Last edited by Vroom; 05-24-2015 at 03:10 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#9203)
Old
brainsurgery brainsurgery is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Car: BMW E91 LCI 335xi
Default 05-24-2015, 09:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroom
Nevermind - the hex file was in my download folder, not in the BMS folder where I did a save as.


trying to download the hex file on first page but it arrives as "attachment" a php file. Can I select the php file to upload??
Try some other web browser.
Reply With Quote
(#9204)
Old
Vroom's Avatar
Vroom Vroom is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i 318ti
Default 05-25-2015, 03:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainsurgery
Try some other web browser.
IE failed, Chrome downloaded the hex file.
Reply With Quote
(#9205)
Old
ninjacoupe ninjacoupe is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 135i..First of the 1
Default 05-25-2015, 05:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroom
Nevermind - the hex file was in my download folder, not in the BMS folder where I did a save as.


trying to download the hex file on first page but it arrives as "attachment" a php file. Can I select the php file to upload??
This happened to me as well. I simply renamed the file with the .hex extension and it uploaded to the JB4 fine. Also using IE
Reply With Quote
(#9206)
Old
Vroom's Avatar
Vroom Vroom is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Oct 2009
Car: 335i 318ti
Default 05-25-2015, 06:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjacoupe
This happened to me as well. I simply renamed the file with the .hex extension and it uploaded to the JB4 fine. Also using IE
I wasn't that brave to rename & upload...
Reply With Quote
(#9207)
Old
ninjacoupe ninjacoupe is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 135i..First of the 1
Default 05-25-2015, 06:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroom
I wasn't that brave to rename & upload...
You can open it in tuner pro and make sure all the information is there. I have the same problem with the XDF files just have to rename the extension after downloading them.
Reply With Quote
(#9208)
Old
rleroy4298 rleroy4298 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 102
Join Date: Feb 2013
Car: 335i
Default 05-25-2015, 01:28 PM

Hey Terry, out of curiosity, are you anticipating any firmware updates in the near future? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
(#9209)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-25-2015, 03:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleroy4298
Hey Terry, out of curiosity, are you anticipating any firmware updates in the near future? Thanks!
Are you having any issues with the current firmware? If not, why ask? If so, email Terry directly.


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9210)
Old
DSCOFF's Avatar
DSCOFF DSCOFF is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jun 2013
Car: 335i coupe N54
Default 05-25-2015, 11:31 PM

Anyone with RBs seeing a much higher FF with Firmware 29? I'm talking over 100 from a previous 60...


2009 N54 335i coupe, 6AT PD trans, Stage 3 XHP, Built Motor, 9.6:1 Comp Ratio, Ported Head, Trebilia Custom Flash, JB4, Mhd flasher, Ngk 97506 0.018 gapped, PI Kit 100% E85, Jb4 PI integration, Stage 2 Pure Turbos 25.6psi, 17.2 deg timing, TFT inlets, Stage 3 Fuel-it Fpr, FBO, 431rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus

2016 M4 Competition Pack, 7-sp DCT, Jb4 Map 6
25.0 psi, s55 ign e85 Bef, E70, M4 plugs gapped 0.020, stock everything else, 374.9 rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus
Reply With Quote
(#9211)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-26-2015, 07:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSCOFF
Anyone with RBs seeing a much higher FF with Firmware 29? I'm talking over 100 from a previous 60...
Yes. I was about to start doing some vacuum line testing again, but I think it's just the firmware.

Are you adjusting the Duty Bias values at all?


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9212)
Old
DSCOFF's Avatar
DSCOFF DSCOFF is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jun 2013
Car: 335i coupe N54
Default 05-26-2015, 07:50 AM

Duty Bias values remain at 50. I replaced all my vacuum lines including my vacuum solenoids and Vanos solenoids coz I also had a high idle issue with Vanos codes. Logs show no underboosting.

I was thinking maybe the rescale of fuel trims has something to do with it but I could be wrong. My FF is at 118 now and may climb higher still.


2009 N54 335i coupe, 6AT PD trans, Stage 3 XHP, Built Motor, 9.6:1 Comp Ratio, Ported Head, Trebilia Custom Flash, JB4, Mhd flasher, Ngk 97506 0.018 gapped, PI Kit 100% E85, Jb4 PI integration, Stage 2 Pure Turbos 25.6psi, 17.2 deg timing, TFT inlets, Stage 3 Fuel-it Fpr, FBO, 431rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus

2016 M4 Competition Pack, 7-sp DCT, Jb4 Map 6
25.0 psi, s55 ign e85 Bef, E70, M4 plugs gapped 0.020, stock everything else, 374.9 rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus
Reply With Quote
(#9213)
Old
Stucks Stucks is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 631
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 05-26-2015, 08:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSCOFF
Anyone with RBs seeing a much higher FF with Firmware 29? I'm talking over 100 from a previous 60...
+1. my car and my friends car are both seeing ff settling much higher than before with firmware 29. before it was at 50-60 for me, and now i see around 108ish. sometimes as high as 116. I also have vargas inlets as well, so the turbos shouldnt be working too hard at all.


Current: 2008 e92 335i coupe.

Previous: 2003 Honda Accord V6 coupe: AEM V2, zex 75 wet shot (sold)
Past 1998 acura integra rs: jrsc @ 6 psi and bolt ons.

Last edited by Stucks; 05-27-2015 at 05:13 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#9214)
Old
DSCOFF's Avatar
DSCOFF DSCOFF is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jun 2013
Car: 335i coupe N54
Default 05-26-2015, 08:06 AM

I'll monitor it again once my SB kit is reinstalled..


2009 N54 335i coupe, 6AT PD trans, Stage 3 XHP, Built Motor, 9.6:1 Comp Ratio, Ported Head, Trebilia Custom Flash, JB4, Mhd flasher, Ngk 97506 0.018 gapped, PI Kit 100% E85, Jb4 PI integration, Stage 2 Pure Turbos 25.6psi, 17.2 deg timing, TFT inlets, Stage 3 Fuel-it Fpr, FBO, 431rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus

2016 M4 Competition Pack, 7-sp DCT, Jb4 Map 6
25.0 psi, s55 ign e85 Bef, E70, M4 plugs gapped 0.020, stock everything else, 374.9 rwkw Mainline Dyno Aus
Reply With Quote
(#9215)
Old
lcvette's Avatar
lcvette lcvette is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 135i
Default Help identifying this JB4 for updating - 05-31-2015, 07:26 AM

Hey guys,

This unit was on my father's 135i when he purchased it and he had purchased a Cobb AP so I bought it from n for my 2007 335i. I finally have a few hours today to install it but was wondering what I needed to do to update it? Not sure what model it is?

I plan on upgrading to the new G5 ISO box and tested the PNP harness per the websites write up and it is the correct harness with correct continuity on the specified pins. Not sure if that may help narrow it down. I am installing it along with the BMS DCI filters and planned to run map 5 auto tuning since we have 93 octane at the pump.

Any other suggestions on updating firmware etc is greatly appreciated!



Chris

Last edited by lcvette; 05-31-2015 at 07:45 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#9216)
Old
fmowry fmowry is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Car: '08 135i 'vert
Default 05-31-2015, 09:02 AM

For those of us with a pre 3/1/15 board should we be updating firmware to 28_6 and then run something other than 4/2 after the backend flash? This is for FBO on 93 pump.

I'm getting my car back from getting painted and want to get all my ducks in a row. I've read the DME successfully but have not updated the JB4 firmware since I bought it about a year ago.

TIA
Reply With Quote
(#9217)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-31-2015, 10:28 AM

Quote:
How do you lower your fuel trims is it possible using the mobile app? Asking because I'm going lean in bank 1?
There is very little adjustment that can be done via software. If you are getting kicked into Map 4, you probably have a hardware issue, or are running too much ethanol. If it's just one bank, it's probably a hardware issue.

There is no real help you can get here without posting in the Support Section and attaching a log.


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9218)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-31-2015, 10:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcvette
Hey guys,

This unit was on my father's 135i when he purchased it and he had purchased a Cobb AP so I bought it from n for my 2007 335i. I finally have a few hours today to install it but was wondering what I needed to do to update it? Not sure what model it is?

I plan on upgrading to the new G5 ISO box and tested the PNP harness per the websites write up and it is the correct harness with correct continuity on the specified pins. Not sure if that may help narrow it down. I am installing it along with the BMS DCI filters and planned to run map 5 auto tuning since we have 93 octane at the pump.

Any other suggestions on updating firmware etc is greatly appreciated!



Chris
Pop open the black plastic case with a small screwdriver and you will see if it says 'G5' on it somewhere. If you can't tell, it's probably a G4. Then you will have to purchase the G4 to G5 upgrade through BMS.

If it's a G5, then you want to make sure the diodes are cut or removed. There is a thread on here discussing that. As well as plenty of threads on updating firmware.


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9219)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-31-2015, 10:36 AM

Oh, and have fun beating your dad's car with your JB4


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9220)
Old
Bullitt1841's Avatar
Bullitt1841 Bullitt1841 is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car: '07 335i Sedan, Built & Blown '08 Mustang Bullitt
Default 05-31-2015, 10:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fmowry
For those of us with a pre 3/1/15 board should we be updating firmware to 28_6 and then run something other than 4/2 after the backend flash? This is for FBO on 93 pump.

I'm getting my car back from getting painted and want to get all my ducks in a row. I've read the DME successfully but have not updated the JB4 firmware since I bought it about a year ago.

TIA
There is no such thing as a "pre 3/1/15 board." You are thinking of the 3/1/15 windows software, or "interface."

If you aren't logging all 6 cylinders, update for sure. If you DO update to the latest firmware, make sure you do it with the latest interface/software. Also make sure all your FF values are set to either 0 or 50.


2018 Audi RS3 | Stage 1 E85 and 91 Flashes | JB4 for Logging

SOLD: 2017 F36 440i Gran Coupe | PS2 | MPPSK | Track Handling Package | JB4

SOLD: 2007 E90 335i | PS2's | JB4 | FBO | 160k+ miles on the car, 120k+ miles on the JB4

Log, log, then log some more...
Reply With Quote
(#9221)
Old
lcvette's Avatar
lcvette lcvette is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 135i
Default 05-31-2015, 11:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt1841
Oh, and have fun beating your dad's car with your JB4

Hahaha... This is going on my car (07 335i M6)... The JB4 was on my dads 08 135i A6 when we bought it... Caused quite a debacle as we had purchased a Cobb AP and it wouldn't load.... Called Cobb and they walked us through the procedure and still no load.... They said to send the Cobb back for a replacement. We were standing over the car talking looking st the engine and I noticed a wire that looked out of place wedged with the harness running down the passenger side fender, so I started neatening it up and it was loose near the coolant reservoir... So I started pulling it and found a usb plug... So I traced it back to the ecu box and found there was a jb4 already installed... We had a tune setup with the AP already so we removed the jb4 and I Boughy it... So now I'm putting it on my car... I'll have JB4 dads will have Cobb... Now we'll go beat them up at the dragstrip...lol

Chris
Reply With Quote
(#9222)
Old
lcvette's Avatar
lcvette lcvette is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 135i
Default 05-31-2015, 11:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt1841
Pop open the black plastic case with a small screwdriver and you will see if it says 'G5' on it somewhere. If you can't tell, it's probably a G4. Then you will have to purchase the G4 to G5 upgrade through BMS.

If it's a G5, then you want to make sure the diodes are cut or removed. There is a thread on here discussing that. As well as plenty of threads on updating firmware.


Well, popped the box open, says JB4 v1.1 -- Burger Motorsports, LLC -- All Rights Reserved




I tried looking for info, but keep getting lost by clicking links inside threads and an not finding the correct info..
Reply With Quote
(#9223)
Old
wespan's Avatar
wespan wespan is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: May 2015
Car: Bmw
Default Wespan - 06-01-2015, 11:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by robc1976
very good question actually!
Very nice setup!
Can you show pics?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
(#9224)
Old
Lemans82 Lemans82 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 135i
Thumbs up 06-01-2015, 09:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnd
No more wastegate rattle

I had horrible rattle that involved setting my DWP to 18. I set everything to your listed default values and used FUD 98 and it's wonderful again!

Thank you Terry!
It work perfect for my rattle too ! Before uploading hex29 and set FUD to 98 I was setting steering control 10 to 900 to avoid any rattling resulting in lot of lag in the throttle reponse. Now i can set it up to 3500-4000 without any rattling.

Terry, you are a magician, i'm gratefull and way less embarasse when i cruise down the Boulv. Jb4 is by far the Best 500$ I ever spend on a car, or on everything in my entire life.

Last edited by Lemans82; 06-01-2015 at 10:11 PM.. Reason: Error
Reply With Quote
(#9225)
Old
weebles weebles is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 185
Join Date: Jul 2012
Car: 135i
Default 06-02-2015, 01:11 AM

Cant log after updating to latest interface and .iso ?

Just says "starting logging" then freezes up. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (2 members and 8 guests)
mattgu40, x99percent
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com