N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#2576)
Old
SteveTate SteveTate is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2015
Car: 335is
Default 06-03-2016, 07:52 AM

Hey guys, update...

I cleared the codes before I went home last night and on my way home, I was able to recreate the issue, but when I pulled codes, there was none.

Same thing when I came to work this morning.

It's acting like a DCT downshift issue. When it acts right when rolling into the throttle, the car downshifts no problem.

When it shudders, it doesn't downshift in about the same spot.

The HPFP code MHD says is on a cold start. I've had a couple of times when I start the car in the morning, it will stumble a bit and throw it in limp mode. I shut the car off and turn it back on and it's fine. I wonder if I can get that replaced under warranty?

Anyway, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
(#2577)
Old
Jeffman's Avatar
Jeffman Jeffman is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 209
Join Date: Sep 2011
Car: 335xi
Default 06-03-2016, 09:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman
I noticed in the screen shot of the error codes, Catalyst: INCOMPLETE. @MHD, is this due to the toggle for secondary catalyst delete for FBO?
Anybody have any ideas about "Catalyst: INCOMPLETE"?
Reply With Quote
(#2578)
Old
ThaCuda's Avatar
ThaCuda ThaCuda is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: 2007 335i
Default 06-03-2016, 09:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman
Anybody have any ideas about "Catalyst: INCOMPLETE"?
If you have ***. It's in the flash. If you want to change it, you need to go in tunerpro.


2007 335i 4dr JB4, Hexon RR600, Inlets, 4Bar, Index 12, Boost Concept Pump, DCI, FMIC, ** and full exhaust, Burger Meth, MHD BEF. Auto.
Reply With Quote
(#2579)
Old
HairyWelshSteve HairyWelshSteve is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: '07 335i MSport Convertible
Default 06-03-2016, 02:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
You can open our older KR specific maps to look at the table changes we ultimately settled on but none of the tables modified are temperature specific.

We do have different base timing retard by intake air temp tables setup if you're looking to make the timing more aggressive during colder weather, etc.
I just need a bit if direction here if you don't mind. Comparing Timing Correction Factor (Charge Air Temp) in the pump flash vs my stock bin, in the stock bin there is no correction for IAT 122 (nothing defined <109f) and below until engine coolant temperature is 185f. The JB4 BEF ignores ECT and has a much smaller corrections that starts at 100f - makes sense as you know we'll be running higher boost. My query is - in the BEF defining 32f as zero has the effect of a gradient between 32f and 100f being displayed but logging experience tells me that the DME ignores the gradient and sees the 100f as a line in the sand. Is this correct?

I'm wondering what effect smoothing this transition may have i.e. defining values at 83, 100 and 122 to get the DME to see this as a gradient may have? Would this reduce the big timing pulls post at the 100f point by having more gradual retard up to that point or am I really far off the mark?

My goal is to get smoother performance on pump fuel without sacrificing too much performance.


| U.K. 2007 E93 335i| JB4 G5 I8A0S Pump Flash| Scoops | BMS DCI | CKS Performance 3" *** | MMP Silicone Inlets | Active Autowerke 5" FMIC | CDV delete |Fob Roof Controls | JB4 Connect rev. 3|
Reply With Quote
(#2580)
Old
jéjé335 jéjé335 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2016
Car: 335i 2009 DKG
Default 06-04-2016, 05:54 AM

Hi terry or Marthial IJE0S pump backend flash it's okay for DCT or a modify somthigs for exemple Troque value ?

Thank's for your support and sorry for my bad english i'm french

I Flash my car today with the last Pump Backend, everything good car is more linear

Last edited by jéjé335; 06-04-2016 at 01:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#2581)
Old
UsedToBeSVT UsedToBeSVT is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2016
Car: 08 335xi
Default 06-04-2016, 01:59 PM

I installed the mhd e85 backend flash recently and have been having a few problems. First when I get towards the top of 3rd gear/shifting into 4th the jb4 kicks to map 4 from map 7. The car is an 08 335xi, fbo other than stock exhaust from the ******* ********* back. I have the fuel it stage 1 and was running an e60 mixture at the track last night. Also every now and then when I'm slowing down from highway speeds I get a trans malfunction indicator and the car doesn't leave 5th gear until I turn the car off then back on and it clears it.
Reply With Quote
(#2582)
Old
qgshadow qgshadow is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2016
Car: BMW E82 2008
Default 06-06-2016, 05:04 AM

Hey guys, i am about to do my first bakc end flash tomorrow and was reading about it.

I am currently running only the Dual Cone intake with JB4 and will probably do the ** and Exhaust soon.

My question is how can i be sure if i have MSD80 or MSD81

I have a 135i 2008.
Reply With Quote
(#2583)
Old
x99percent x99percent is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 2008 135i
Default 06-06-2016, 08:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by qgshadow
My question is how can i be sure if i have MSD80 or MSD81
Once connected, the app should tell you. If you perform a back up of the original ROM (you should), then you'll know for sure.
Reply With Quote
(#2584)
Old
tofu tofu is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jul 2010
Car: 335i e92
Default 06-06-2016, 08:41 AM

Is there a way to tell which dme version a bin file is for? No indication on file name
Reply With Quote
(#2585)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 06-07-2016, 08:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastMode335i
Ok so it's 98 out today and I know my IAT's are high and climb even a bit higher due to my ****ty stock FMIC, but other than that and the minor timing correct in cyl. 2 near the end of the pull, anyone care to provide some input..?
Thanks!

http://***********/u/beastmode335i/61...13-14-16-23-24
logs look fine no issue there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrylGarland
What's the status on the codes being thrown for 4 bar sensors?
I haven't had much feedback flash only so at least for now, I'd recommend the 3.5bar sensor over the 4 bar.
Reply With Quote
(#2586)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 06-07-2016, 08:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman
I noticed in the screen shot of the error codes, Catalyst: INCOMPLETE. @MHD, is this due to the toggle for secondary catalyst delete for FBO?
After a flash, all monitors are incomplete. The DME must meet certain conditions to perform the different tests and set each monitor back to ready.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jéjé335
Hi terry or Marthial IJE0S pump backend flash it's okay for DCT or a modify somthigs for exemple Troque value ?
Thank's for your support and sorry for my bad english i'm french
I Flash my car today with the last Pump Backend, everything good car is more linear
Drop me an email in French if you want. How much torque is logged by the JB4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UsedToBeSVT
I installed the mhd e85 backend flash recently and have been having a few problems. First when I get towards the top of 3rd gear/shifting into 4th the jb4 kicks to map 4 from map 7. The car is an 08 335xi, fbo other than stock exhaust from the ******* ********* back. I have the fuel it stage 1 and was running an e60 mixture at the track last night. Also every now and then when I'm slowing down from highway speeds I get a trans malfunction indicator and the car doesn't leave 5th gear until I turn the car off then back on and it clears it.
For tuning issues, please post logs to the support section. In the jb4 interfaces, you can see which event was the cause of the map 4 kick.
I'd suggest doing MHD > read codes > clear other modules with just ignition on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qgshadow
Hey guys, i am about to do my first bakc end flash tomorrow and was reading about it.
I am currently running only the Dual Cone intake with JB4 and will probably do the ** and Exhaust soon.
My question is how can i be sure if i have MSD80 or MSD81
I have a 135i 2008.
MHD will tell you if you take the wrong file / DME combo (like i_a0s on msd81).
Another way - what hardware is displayed at the top the the MHD shop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu
Is there a way to tell which dme version a bin file is for? No indication on file name
look at 0x40010 as ascii.
Or open in tuner pro, look the timing table and iterate the xdf till it looks legit.
Reply With Quote
(#2587)
Old
BeastMode335i's Avatar
BeastMode335i BeastMode335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 495
Join Date: Dec 2014
Car: 08 E92 335i
Default 06-07-2016, 08:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHD
logs look fine no issue there.
Thanks man!
Reply With Quote
(#2588)
Old
N54 N54 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2011
Car: 2008 E92 335i
Default 06-08-2016, 03:05 PM

I'm currently running the JB4 with the JB4 flash. I was wondering if there was any way to have a rev limiter since the flash seems to have removed mine.
Reply With Quote
(#2589)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is offline
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,083
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 06-08-2016, 03:19 PM

You can use tuner pro to modify the BIN and set those values to whatever you'd like!


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#2590)
Old
DavidAKL DavidAKL is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: 2009 e82 135i
Default 06-08-2016, 04:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrylGarland
I've been using the E85 no problems. Same setup as you.
Hi mate just wondering is there any particular setting for using E85.BIN?Because the ecu can't stop sending misfiring codes to me,i don't think there is anything wrong with my coils injectors plugs because they runs smooth if i using pump.bin.i have tried to use map 1 with e85.bin while TBI is off and the car runs solid without single issue.but as long as i turn the TBI on or using other maps while TBI was off,those codes coming back again.
Reply With Quote
(#2591)
Old
ShocknAwe ShocknAwe is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 767
Join Date: Sep 2012
Car: 135i
Default 06-08-2016, 05:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAKL
Hi mate just wondering is there any particular setting for using E85.BIN?Because the ecu can't stop sending misfiring codes to me,i don't think there is anything wrong with my coils injectors plugs because they runs smooth if i using pump.bin.i have tried to use map 1 with e85.bin while TBI is off and the car runs solid without single issue.but as long as i turn the TBI on or using other maps while TBI was off,those codes coming back again.
Should log the car and see if the misfire is related to anything...


2010 135i M-Sport 6MT Jet Black
N54 | Build Thread
Reply With Quote
(#2592)
Old
DavidAKL DavidAKL is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2016
Car: 2009 e82 135i
Default 06-08-2016, 05:55 PM

yep i have sent to steve,he is helping me,so im just trying my luck to see anyone who got same problem or solutions with my setting,quite tricky problem,blows my mind.
Reply With Quote
(#2593)
Old
N54 N54 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2011
Car: 2008 E92 335i
Default 06-10-2016, 04:58 PM

Does anyone know how to change the .BIN back to the stock 7000 rpm rev limit? I'm not sure what parameter to change and what value to change it to. I just see that both Rev Limit by Gear Floor and Rev Limit by Gear Ceiling were both set to 7200.
Reply With Quote
(#2594)
Old
red_bean_bun red_bean_bun is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: E92
Default 06-13-2016, 10:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54
Does anyone know how to change the .BIN back to the stock 7000 rpm rev limit? I'm not sure what parameter to change and what value to change it to. I just see that both Rev Limit by Gear Floor and Rev Limit by Gear Ceiling were both set to 7200.
Send me a PM - I can have a look at your BIN.
Reply With Quote
(#2595)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 06-13-2016, 10:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54
Does anyone know how to change the .BIN back to the stock 7000 rpm rev limit? I'm not sure what parameter to change and what value to change it to. I just see that both Rev Limit by Gear Floor and Rev Limit by Gear Ceiling were both set to 7200.
are you a 6MT or 6AT or DCT?

fastest way....

load your tune you're running on the car right now into tuner pro. then select Compare at the top. then load compare bin. select your stock file then hit ok.

now scroll down to LIMITS, expand rev limits. open them one at a time, hit the compare button at the top of the table window (looks like a weight scale). you are now looking at the values of whatever compare bin you loaded. in your case it should have been your stock file.

select values, right click, copy, then hit compare button again (switch back to modified bin), right click and paste.

do that for all the limiters that are different from the stock compare bin.


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2596)
Old
E30t387 E30t387 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 41
Join Date: Apr 2016
Car: 08 535xi sport
Default 06-13-2016, 04:48 PM

Not hitting target boost, log attached, I'm thinking it's my turbos, I have replacements ready to go on . At this point they're both rattling so the wg isn't sealing, I am getting a 30ff once in a while also assuming because of the turbos, can you guys take a look at the log. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
(#2597)
Old
TwistedTuning TwistedTuning is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Join Date: Nov 2015
Car: 2007 335xi 6MT Sedan
Default 06-13-2016, 08:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E30t387
Not hitting target boost, log attached, I'm thinking it's my turbos, I have replacements ready to go on . At this point they're both rattling so the wg isn't sealing, I am getting a 30ff once in a while also assuming because of the turbos, can you guys take a look at the log. Thanks guys.
i recommend a boost leak test before anything. then check all your vac lines. and vac line connections at the boost solenoids


"Increasing the Area Under The Curve"
Custom Performance ECU Calibration
www.twistedtuning.com
twistedtuned@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
(#2598)
Old
E30t387 E30t387 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 41
Join Date: Apr 2016
Car: 08 535xi sport
Default 06-13-2016, 09:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTuning
i recommend a boost leak test before anything. then check all your vac lines. and vac line connections at the boost solenoids
All vaccum lines were replaced along with the he solenoids, did a vaccum test , found no leaks.
Reply With Quote
(#2599)
Old
e91 335i e91 335i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2011
Car: BMW e91 335i
Default 06-14-2016, 12:09 AM

Hello. Today I finally got my TBI. I was wondering which MHD backend flash should I run if I try to hit 25psi with e50-e60 blend? Is it safe to run E85-flash or do I need a custom one?

As a daily fuel I was thinking 100% e85 and about 23 psi with MHD e85-flash. Possible? At the moment I am running about 22psi with e60 blend.

Mods: N54 6MT, JB4 G5, MHD e85, std RB's, FBO, RB inlets, MMP outles, Walbro 455, healthy HPFP

Last edited by e91 335i; 06-14-2016 at 01:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#2600)
Old
Blown95ImpalaSS Blown95ImpalaSS is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: Apr 2015
Car: 08 135i vert
Default 06-14-2016, 10:39 PM

Hi guys, sharing from my thread to see if anyone has experience this before - hoping it's an update or setting within MHD that needs adjustment:

I'm sitting here at a gas station attempting to flash back to the MHD ijeos pump map since I will only have access to 91 octane on this road trip. The problem is that MHD is only giving me the option of what it calls a "long write" of 9-20 minutes and I'm afraid it will kill the battery.

Previously flashing between different backend maps only took 2 mins, but I no longer have that button on screen, just the 'long write 9-20 minutes' and 'options' buttons. Any thoughts? Luckily I have enough in the tank to make it home on the ethanol backend...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com