N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1226)
Old
Jt0407 Jt0407 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 303
Join Date: Feb 2015
Car: Bmw
Default 08-01-2015, 09:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost'n e92
You don't want to know.... Lol I take a nap before I hit the gas, I don't have years of experience on the track, busy schedule. It's 2.0 something lol, no burn outs, on 19's on pss 2, I need to invest in a lsd 17's or 18's with drag radials. But now I have new tires on the back g-max a/s trying them out as I got one of the tires brand new from a friend for $20 lol and the other from tire rack, was in need of a tire asap, these have no track time and actually grip pretty good, not as good as the pss2 I had.
I cut 2.0 60' with 19's and 6mt... You need practice.
Reply With Quote
(#1227)
Old
BostonBeemah's Avatar
BostonBeemah BostonBeemah is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 831
Join Date: Sep 2011
Car: AW 135i
Default 08-01-2015, 10:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm5596
Flashed my car with mhd last night. on stage 2 fbo 93 octane. selected all the flash options with it. yes I have a 3.5bar map sensor and selected the scaling option. car felt extremely slow, threw a cel on start up and during wot. for throttle angle, boost pressure correlation. also today tried to flash a different map, or the same map without the options and now it wont let me flash. it says contacting ECU, Connected...then a few seconds later it says failed to write ecu, still says connected. Yes I have JB4, yes its on map 0
If your running a jb4 you should not select the 3.5 bar sensor option as the jb is already rescaling it for you. Reflash with no options selected.

Are you running a pass through mode on the JB becasue in map 0 the JB is still controlling boost. I would recommend flashing the backend map and running the JB or anther option is running map 0 if you configure the JB for passthrough correctly.


2010 AW/BLK 135i VM 6465 Single Turbo, JB4 + MHD, VRSF CP & Tial, Big Tom, Fuel-It PI + Stage 3 + Return + Ethanol Sensor, BMW PE, MFactory LSD & Axles, Spec 3+ & MFactory SMFW, RB External PCV
Best stock turbo 12.5 @ 19.46 spinning all the way down
RIP 2008 AW/BL 135i
Reply With Quote
(#1228)
Old
gunda gunda is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 201
Join Date: Oct 2012
Car: BMW 335i E92
Default 08-01-2015, 10:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm5596
If I can get it to flash again, I fish flash without options
Disconnect your battery for 2min and then reconnect it. You may have dropped a module somehow. You can then try to flash back to stock using the bimmerboost software and then try the MHD software again. Or try to go back to stock with the MHD Software.

-Just some suggestions I would try.
Reply With Quote
(#1229)
Old
terryd5150's Avatar
terryd5150 terryd5150 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Join Date: Apr 2015
Car: BMW 335xi
Default 08-01-2015, 01:01 PM

Hi Terry:

I must've missed the "parent" thread that's mentioned earlier, but in post #3 of this thread you were quoted as discussing using a JB+ in conjunction with a flash map (MHD?).

It sounded like you had an idea to make the JB+ act as a basic boost controller in that scenario.

If I did indeed interpret that correctly, could you expand a little on what would be needed to make that happen?

The JB+/MHD Map combination could be ideal for a current project of mine.

Best Regards,

Terry
Reply With Quote
(#1230)
Old
Blew135 Blew135 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2013
Car: 135i
Default 08-01-2015, 04:23 PM

Tablet or phone gauge display. I noticed it doesn't charge when the phone or tablet when plugged into the ob2. How are you guys keeping them charged up? Is there a setting that allows you to charge when it's connected via the ob2?
Reply With Quote
(#1231)
Old
danas danas is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: E92 N54 6MT
Default 08-01-2015, 05:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blew135
Tablet or phone gauge display. I noticed it doesn't charge when the phone or tablet when plugged into the ob2. How are you guys keeping them charged up? Is there a setting that allows you to charge when it's connected via the ob2?

I'm using USB OTG Y cable.
http://www.amazon.com/Micro-Cable-Pl.../**/B00CXAC1ZW
Reply With Quote
(#1232)
Old
Blew135 Blew135 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2013
Car: 135i
Default 08-02-2015, 03:57 AM

Thx!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danas
Reply With Quote
(#1233)
Old
Sered's Avatar
Sered Sered is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 225
Join Date: Jun 2013
Car: 10/06 E92 335i
Default 08-02-2015, 06:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost'n e92
You don't want to know.... Lol I take a nap before I hit the gas, I don't have years of experience on the track, busy schedule. It's 2.0 something lol, no burn outs, on 19's on pss 2, I need to invest in a lsd 17's or 18's with drag radials. But now I have new tires on the back g-max a/s trying them out as I got one of the tires brand new from a friend for $20 lol and the other from tire rack, was in need of a tire asap, these have no track time and actually grip pretty good, not as good as the pss2 I had.
You need better tires. You don't have to get drag radials. PS/2s are pretty crummy straight-line tires and anything All-season is going to be a joke.

Try one of the 200TW tires like RS-3s, AD08Rs, or Rivals; they still grip pretty good in the rain and grip significantly better in the dry. These are pretty much streetable track tires. Not quite as grippy as R888s but compromise with great wet weather behavior.
Reply With Quote
(#1234)
Old
Boost'n e92's Avatar
Boost'n e92 Boost'n e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Oct 2014
Car: 2007 335i e92
Default 08-02-2015, 10:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sered
You need better tires. You don't have to get drag radials. PS/2s are pretty crummy straight-line tires and anything All-season is going to be a joke.

Try one of the 200TW tires like RS-3s, AD08Rs, or Rivals; they still grip pretty good in the rain and grip significantly better in the dry. These are pretty much streetable track tires. Not quite as grippy as R888s but compromise with great wet weather behavior.
thanks bud I will look into those, probably get a re set in 18's with some meat on them, I did so logging last night, they will be up later on.


2007 335i e92 space grey, a/t, fbo, mfactory lsd and boost addictions diff lock down, bmw pe mod, xHP stage 3, mmp stage 3, inlets and outlets and eos pi, custom tuned by pure evil estimated 620whp on e50 23psi. Current 1/4 mi 11.9 @116 on stock turbos.
Suspension: Koni yellows eibach lowering springs
Wheels: iforged Daytona 19x9.5f 19x10r
Drop a gear and disappear.
Reply With Quote
(#1235)
Old
Boost'n e92's Avatar
Boost'n e92 Boost'n e92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Oct 2014
Car: 2007 335i e92
Default Atten: terry - 08-02-2015, 10:23 AM

Attn: terry, I did some logging last night and was going to use the mhd interface to data log, good thing I had my friends laptop, I am using Jb4, when I went to link up I was in map 7 and the car rejected the connection and sputtered. Map 0 worked with connection, I wasn't flashing but was going to use the log function and it sputtered when in map 7, would there be a way to log in the future with jb4 via mhd? I use my friends laptop to log since I haven't bought the jb4 mobile app.


2007 335i e92 space grey, a/t, fbo, mfactory lsd and boost addictions diff lock down, bmw pe mod, xHP stage 3, mmp stage 3, inlets and outlets and eos pi, custom tuned by pure evil estimated 620whp on e50 23psi. Current 1/4 mi 11.9 @116 on stock turbos.
Suspension: Koni yellows eibach lowering springs
Wheels: iforged Daytona 19x9.5f 19x10r
Drop a gear and disappear.
Reply With Quote
(#1236)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-03-2015, 12:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by miksebik
As I have not got answer to my question, I will try it here:
I flash my friends' cars using MHD. As I have their VINs unblocked for my phone, will they be able to use MHD (if they decided to...) to flash their cars, or will they have to pay for the VIN again?
Or.. is the payment for 1 VIN related to 1 Android device, or is it for whatever device..?
Thanks
Licences are tied to the VIN + google play account. You can handle 3 VINs per Google Play account.

Quote:
Originally Posted by miksebik
Hey guys, I have a big issue with MHD. I am not sure what to do next. I flashed my car with BMS E85 flash and.....

My car began to get into limp when reaching high revs. About 6700rpm, usually. I got yellow warning lights: handbrake and DSC. Code: 5E19 (Engine management interface). The car did not react to throttle, idle was surging 1000-1500rpm. The limp appeared even when I was standing still and only revving at place, did not have to drive it! Once I reached high revs, LIMP.

Because it looked like throttle body, I tried erasing adaptations, using MHD, I erased adaptations of throttle. After starting the car, the same LIMP came, together with codes 2CFB, 2D09 (throttle valve adaptation value...). When erasing the codes, the car was OK.

So. I flashed the car back to stock, unplugged JB4. The car was OK, surprisingly fast. And god, the BOVs where so loud!!! Why they are so loud when stock?! Rode the car like if I robbed a bank, hitting rev limiter several times.
Result: no codes, no limp.

Then, we plugged the JB4. BOVs became more silent.. went for a ride, like if I robbed a second bank. and.. no codes, no limp.

Then, I erased the adaptations of throttle using MHD and... here it came: LIMP

So, the result is: the MHD BMS E85 flash on my car behaves very strangely. I do not know if it is related to rev limiter or what.. but it just gets my car into limp. It is as if reaching certain rpms triggered something in the DSC that made the car panic and cut power off. I almost bought new throttle body because of that. There must be something wrong with MHD, as erasing throttle adaptions does the same thing. I do repeat, that with stock flash, there was no 5E19 code getting my car into limp.

What next? Is it save to use the MHD application?
To me it sounds like the Thottle adaptation had not enough time to re-learn. In that case you need to
- clear the codes
- turn off ignition
- turn ignition on again, wait 30s without starting the engine
- turn off ign.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunda
I just wanted to confirm that the $79 license fee will allow me to load any custom flash I obtain from tuners in out N54 community, as well as the BMS Flashes Terry provides?

I would assume the license fee allows me to flash whatever I want and be able to customize and load adjustments to all the torque limit tables (as well as any other table i wish to customize and load).

Thanks in advance for the clarification. I want to be sure I know what I am purchasing before I commit.
That is the case, for the JB4 backends. You need the $99 for tuning flash only (or $20 upgrade for the $79 backend only flasher)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fryj00
Also, where is a good source for a "stock" IJE0S bin to start editing with the latest xdf? This car was originally a Dinan flash so it could not be backed up.
Thanks guys.
I still need to add a function to create a stock BIN when backups are not possible. Email me to get a stock IJE0S.
Reply With Quote
(#1237)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default 08-03-2015, 12:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by terryd5150
Hi Terry:
I must've missed the "parent" thread that's mentioned earlier, but in post #3 of this thread you were quoted as discussing using a JB+ in conjunction with a flash map (MHD?).
It sounded like you had an idea to make the JB+ act as a basic boost controller in that scenario.
If I did indeed interpret that correctly, could you expand a little on what would be needed to make that happen?
The JB+/MHD Map combination could be ideal for a current project of mine.
Best Regards,
Terry
An announcement from Wedge is pending

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost'n e92
Attn: terry, I did some logging last night and was going to use the mhd interface to data log, good thing I had my friends laptop, I am using Jb4, when I went to link up I was in map 7 and the car rejected the connection and sputtered. Map 0 worked with connection, I wasn't flashing but was going to use the log function and it sputtered when in map 7, would there be a way to log in the future with jb4 via mhd? I use my friends laptop to log since I haven't bought the jb4 mobile app.
Because the JB4 uses the logging bus all the time (even map 0), you cannot log with MHD when a JB4 is installed. Well apart from initial engine idling.
Reply With Quote
(#1238)
Old
MHD's Avatar
MHD MHD is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 07 335i AT
Default Updates sump up - 08-03-2015, 12:49 AM

Here is a changelog for MHD, since the the 19th of June.

Improvements:
- read / delete codes are now free
- INA0S users can now be protuned using IJE0S for >18 PSI
- alpha testing of v5 maps
- cold start noise reduction option (stand alone flashes for now)
- Added more feedback when the connection to Google Pay Services fails
- Android 5 skin
- new "Show licences" page
- gauges have more screen estate

Fixes:
- 1M IKM0S header fix when flashing a .BIN (JB4 backends)
- increased the WGDC limit for the JB4 backends (for the rare cases of 30FE error)
- corrected flash back to stock for ECU backups with a blank UIF field
Reply With Quote
(#1239)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-03-2015, 09:42 AM

Martial, having some issues with my 03/07 335i e90.

The car runs absolutely fine with MHD "map 0" flash and JB4 in any map (0/1/2/5)

When I flash the jb4 pump backend 6/6/15 and set jb4 to 4-2, I get no boost in any map. Log shows 0 boost target. Almost like JB4 isn't taking over, even tho it's activated, in a map, gauge jacking, etc?

I've done it a few times, back and forth, with two android devices and different downloads of the source file... same problem every time. Definitely the right map (i8a0s), someone suggested I may have MSD81 so I tried and got this error



the pump flash is loading fine, but drives like absolute crap



here are the logs, first with the pump flash (and no boost target)

http://***********/u/tc535i/need-some...g=0&data=1-3-4

and then with the "map 0 flash", no issues on map 2

http://***********/u/tc535i/need-some...g=1&data=1-3-4

Any guesses? Is there another backend I could try loading?
Reply With Quote
(#1240)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-03-2015, 02:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc535i
Martial, having some issues with my 03/07 335i e90.

The car runs absolutely fine with MHD "map 0" flash and JB4 in any map (0/1/2/5)

When I flash the jb4 pump backend 6/6/15 and set jb4 to 4-2, I get no boost in any map. Log shows 0 boost target. Almost like JB4 isn't taking over, even tho it's activated, in a map, gauge jacking, etc?

I've done it a few times, back and forth, with two android devices and different downloads of the source file... same problem every time. Definitely the right map (i8a0s), someone suggested I may have MSD81 so I tried and got this error

[img]https://scontent-lax1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/11227516_10153618896279434_923277067066702201_n.jp g?oh=525d98ed5e4853463842aa00db8bc613&oe=5644210B[img]

the pump flash is loading fine, but drives like absolute crap

[img]https://scontent-lax1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/11800431_10153617477594434_8826431049604938409_n.j pg?oh=2a0e055ec53dc4408b1dd13e9b7c80b6&oe=5656EB82[img]

here are the logs, first with the pump flash (and no boost target)

http://***********/u/tc535i/need-some...g=0&data=1-3-4

and then with the "map 0 flash", no issues on map 2

http://***********/u/tc535i/need-some...g=1&data=1-3-4

Any guesses? Is there another backend I could try loading?
update: on Martial's suggestion, I flashed the 07/01/15 BB pump backend file, and the car boosts just fine now. So it seems only the 6/6/15 MHD pump backend isn't playing nice, while the map 0 and BB flash work just fine. Wonder what's causing this, since others run the MHD backend just fine...?
Reply With Quote
(#1241)
Old
za_1m za_1m is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Car: 1M
Default 08-03-2015, 10:41 PM

Guys, is there an E85 MHD option for the IKCOS DME?
Reply With Quote
(#1242)
Old
Spxxx's Avatar
Spxxx Spxxx is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 711
Join Date: Mar 2014
Car: E92 335i
Default 08-04-2015, 07:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
lol in the next JB4 firmware I'll add some code to have it auto switch to map 0 if you plug something in to the OBDII port.
This still happening? I had a scare when MHD first came out and I think it'd be a nice feature


M-Sport 135i - N54 - FBO - E60 - Mfactory LSD - MHD - JB4 - SPX Tuned
Reply With Quote
(#1243)
Old
jdm5596 jdm5596 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 184
Join Date: Aug 2014
Car: 335xi
Default 08-04-2015, 08:54 AM

Got it guys thanks. Was weird. I went to map 4, then back to 0, then it worked.
Reply With Quote
(#1244)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-04-2015, 09:02 AM

Did the actual tuning change between map versions (load/timing/etc parameters) or was it just auxiliary changes for better compatibility?

ie 4/8/15 pump flash to 6/6/15 pump flash

the reason I ask is the 4/8 version works fine on my car, but 6/6 doesn't. Wondering what differences could cause this.
Reply With Quote
(#1245)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-04-2015, 10:03 AM

also, are people running map 1/2/5? is anybody using 6, since really they're just boost maps anyways at this point? with the backend flash, is the only difference the max boost and delivery designed into each map?
Reply With Quote
(#1246)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is online now
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,071
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-04-2015, 01:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spxxx
This still happening? I had a scare when MHD first came out and I think it'd be a nice feature
Yes can still happen. We added code at some point but then somehow it was triggering when it shouldn't be. Not sure how. Never got back to troubleshooting it.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#1247)
Old
Terry @ BMS's Avatar
Terry @ BMS Terry @ BMS is online now
Tuner
 
Posts: 29,071
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default 08-04-2015, 01:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc535i
Did the actual tuning change between map versions (load/timing/etc parameters) or was it just auxiliary changes for better compatibility?

ie 4/8/15 pump flash to 6/6/15 pump flash

the reason I ask is the 4/8 version works fine on my car, but 6/6 doesn't. Wondering what differences could cause this.
Martial just brought up the theory that the i8a0s 6/6 maps might be bugged. Is anyone using them without issue?


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#1248)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-04-2015, 01:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
Martial just brought up the theory that the i8a0s 6/6 maps might be bugged. Is anyone using them without issue?
flashed 5/7 today without issue, 15 psi on map 1

going to re-download 6/6 and try just for confirmation, but I've had boost with every map besides that one, very strange
Reply With Quote
(#1249)
Old
135i08 135i08 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2015
Car: 135i
Default 08-04-2015, 01:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc535i
also, are people running map 1/2/5? is anybody using 6, since really they're just boost maps anyways at this point? with the backend flash, is the only difference the max boost and delivery designed into each map?
i've used map 6 with a linear boost curve. worked great! using the MHD 6/6 and JB4 4/2
Reply With Quote
(#1250)
Old
tc535i tc535i is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jul 2014
Car: 95 M3, 01 330i, 07 335i
Default 08-04-2015, 02:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS
Martial just brought up the theory that the i8a0s 6/6 maps might be bugged. Is anyone using them without issue?
I just deleted the file and re-downloaded it from the link again. Extracted and flashed, worked fine this time. Maybe my last file was somehow corrupted yet managed to flash over? That's slightly disconcerting, but I don't purport to know how any of that works and it seems like it's sorted now.

Thanks so much for all the support from all sides, first beer's on me whenever you guys find yourself in Los Angeles!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2018, N54tech.com