N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
mon777ana's Avatar
mon777ana mon777ana is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: F20 LCI 120i 2018
Exclamation B48 F20 120i with JB4 showing stock times - 08-24-2020, 08:45 AM

Hi again Terry @BMS. had to create a new thread as my post in the main forum remains unnoticed unfortunately.

I have F20 120i with B48 engine from new. so far has done 25k with it. When I first installed the JB4 the result was on display. I use dragy. 0-100kmh stock 7.1 seconds. with JB4 dragy came up with 6.1. I was impressed. I have also installed BMS intake as well. So I was very happy with the results until recently I noticed my car became slower. I measured 0-100 with dragy on map 2 and it showed 7.1?!!
I have later bought a bluetooth connecter and an app too. most of gauges on the map are simply not working and I have also updated for the latest firmware as advised and no improvement at all.
I always use shell v power 99 octane here in the UK and to be honest the best performance was delivered in the very beginning without bluetooth, app and its updates.
I would really appreciate if Terry and @BMS team will look in to my issue because at the moment it is not what it used to be.
My friend has 220i coupe with the same engine on map 6 (custom) it delivered 5.9

Please advise what to do in my case.

Cheers
Tony

Last edited by mon777ana; 08-25-2020 at 01:33 PM.. Reason: mistypo
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
KnifeEdge87 KnifeEdge87 is online now
Junior Member
 
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: BMW G30 520i 2019
Default 08-30-2020, 12:37 AM

Do you have your CSV logs ?
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
Payam @ BMS's Avatar
Payam @ BMS Payam @ BMS is offline
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 6,160
Join Date: Oct 2013
Car: e90 335i
Default 08-31-2020, 11:37 AM

Post up logs and your corresponding times so we can evaluate.


Burger Motorsports
Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
mon777ana's Avatar
mon777ana mon777ana is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: F20 LCI 120i 2018
Default 09-26-2020, 08:27 PM

thanks lads for getting back to me
I did couple of runs to get logs for maps 0 and 2.
for some reason gauges are not working within the app. I have attached the picture along the CVS logs.

p.s gps gauge is working the car was stationary on that screenshot
oil temperature always at 87C no matter if the engine is cold or warm)
Attached Images
  
Attached Files
File Type: csv 20200926_235844_runs_map2.csv (181.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: csv 20200927_000206_runs_map2.csv (104.5 KB, 7 views)
File Type: csv 20200927_000250_runs_map0.csv (57.9 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by mon777ana; 09-27-2020 at 04:52 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
mon777ana's Avatar
mon777ana mon777ana is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: F20 LCI 120i 2018
Default 09-29-2020, 09:54 AM

dragy screenshots
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
mon777ana's Avatar
mon777ana mon777ana is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: F20 LCI 120i 2018
Default 10-04-2020, 02:50 AM

up
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
KnifeEdge87 KnifeEdge87 is online now
Junior Member
 
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: BMW G30 520i 2019
Default 10-04-2020, 04:27 AM

your logs are no good man, open them, most of the fields aren't populated

perhaps you have a hardware setup issue issue or something ?
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
mon777ana's Avatar
mon777ana mon777ana is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: F20 LCI 120i 2018
Default 10-04-2020, 05:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnifeEdge87
your logs are no good man, open them, most of the fields aren't populated

perhaps you have a hardware setup issue issue or something ?
thanks pal, most likely. it is just a shame that no support is responding only fellow members

yesterday measured map 0 and map 3. 0-62 8.2(?!) instead of 7.1 and map 3 6.8. so boost is there. now I am thinking I may have some errors in ECU or smth like that. I have BMS air intake too, maybe it needs to be cleaned and washed after 1 year use?
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
KnifeEdge87 KnifeEdge87 is online now
Junior Member
 
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2020
Car: BMW G30 520i 2019
Default 10-04-2020, 06:32 AM

dont focus on the acceleration time

it's very difficult to diagnose anything from that one number that gets affected by any number of factors

I have an issue right now as well that I'm trying to diagnose, the guys are quite busy, so you really have to give them as much info as you can while trying to be as succinct as you can so you can get them to focus on what the issue is ... it's an art I've not managed yet either.

FWIW we both have the same engine 20i B48 so I can help as much as I can with you ... providing you get usable data

Absolutely you should clean and wash your filter after a year of use (if it's the cleanable type). You should check every few months anyways depending on where you drive and how dirty it is. No matter how dirty it is it shouldn't give you stock performance on Map3 if everything else is working well. So while it could be contributing, it will never be the main culprit.

If your bluetooth module has NEVER worked I would venture a guess and say it was simply setup incorrectly and is now interfering with how the rest of the JB4 works. I would go back to your installer to query as there's honestly not much more the guys at BMS can do remotely if you can't provide meaningful data.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com