N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
Arrtus Arrtus is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2009 135i 6MT
Default Do injectors need coding if complete engine was swapped? - 08-01-2020, 11:20 AM

Some time ago, I swapped out my E70's N63 engine with a used one that came from a totaled car. The engine came with everything on it except for turbos.

My question is: do I need to re-code the DME to be able to properly interface with the new engine's injectors or is that something that will automatically sync up to my vehicle like the mileage did?

I did not know about injectors having to be coded until I picked up my 1 series and now I want to make sure that the X5 is installed correctly. It's quite a pain to get to the injectors to have to re-code them so if I don't have to do it then I would prefer not to.
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Mike_L's Avatar
Mike_L Mike_L is offline
Anti-Social
 
Posts: 1,857
Join Date: Jun 2014
Car: 2017 X3 xDrive35i
Default 08-01-2020, 11:57 AM

If you're using the original DME, yes, they need to be coded. If you're using the DME matched with the engine, then No.


Mike Levy
2021 Tanzanite Blue II M550i - Due at dealer 10/9
2018 Silver Equinox LT 2.0T
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
Arrtus Arrtus is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2020
Car: 2009 135i 6MT
Default 08-01-2020, 12:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L
If you're using the original DME, yes, they need to be coded. If you're using the DME matched with the engine, then No.
Thank you, Mike!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com