N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion
(#751)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 04-19-2020, 04:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBtrend
I updated the app. The 8_6 doesnt show up in the list on the app of available software update, only the 8_5.
8_6 is as a beta.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#752)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 04-19-2020, 04:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidian
Hi!

I can not get JB4 app to connect, when I plug in the USB cable it recognizes it in device manager COM3 and when I open JB4 app it also says availble COM port 3. I changed it from 1 to 3 and hit connect but it says in the left upper Corner failed COM3. I try with ignition and engine on. Any help?

When I bought the BMS USB cabel I choose without case but they sent me with case. I just removed the case and installed the com port into the JB4 case. I hope the USB cable itself is same, the wireing (3 wires) to the connector.

Golf 7R OPF
JB4 with USB cable
Go through this video and see if you missing any of the steps. Note JB4 must be on the car with ignition on to connect:

If your data cable has the grey shell at the end you can remove it and it will fit in the enclosure. Recycle the same screws to fasten it to circuit board.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#753)
Old
davidian davidian is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2013
Car: '11 335i
Default 04-19-2020, 10:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
Go through this video and see if you missing any of the steps. Note JB4 must be on the car with ignition on to connect:

If your data cable has the grey shell at the end you can remove it and it will fit in the enclosure. Recycle the same screws to fasten it to circuit board.
Yes done all the steps, know that before from JB4 for BMW N55.

When I plug in USB it recognize COM3 in device Manager but the app does not connect it says COM3 failed.

One more thing, as I had to remoce the battery to get OBD and USB cable inside now start/stop not working and engine light is on.

I notice the boost gauge on the screen is no more working, power, water and oil temps are workin.

Last edited by davidian; 04-19-2020 at 11:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#754)
Old
WillyR7 WillyR7 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Car: Golf R7.5
Default 04-29-2020, 09:16 AM

Hi

Did anyone recently update their JB4 app, it seems that the description of logs are no longer according to the specific map logged, but rather indicates a “run”. This is going backwards in app development.....

Last edited by WillyR7; 04-29-2020 at 12:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#755)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 04-30-2020, 10:01 PM

Fault codes translation list in post 1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1C7J...gYSfaFFyD4fV6Y


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#756)
Old
goodvibes goodvibes is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2020
Car: VW Alltrack
Default 05-01-2020, 05:54 AM

Thanks for you help, George.

I was staring to get the hang of it and gave him a clean Map3 and an additive map 6 run that showed a little pull in the mids. Got me dialed in quickly and a nice platform that should hold through hot weather, with advice to check, which I will.

I must have good gas here because I'm able to run more boost than I expected.

Happy camper with a car that pulls stronger than I'd have expected and very smooth.
Reply With Quote
(#757)
Old
Rekt Rekt is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2019
Car: Golf R
Default 05-13-2020, 01:22 PM

Post redacted to avoid confusion.

Last edited by Rekt; 05-13-2020 at 10:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#758)
Old
Sebastian15 Sebastian15 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2019
Car: Civic 1.5 turbo
Exclamation Question - 05-13-2020, 03:35 PM

Hi George, I just bought jb4 for my golf R, before I had a Civic with jb4. my question is: within this platform what are the bits? or can they be enabled? or not available? Thank you
Reply With Quote
(#759)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-13-2020, 09:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian15
Hi George, I just bought jb4 for my golf R, before I had a Civic with jb4. my question is: within this platform what are the bits? or can they be enabled? or not available? Thank you
On the R they are not needed.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#760)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-13-2020, 09:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekt
Hey George, Hope all is well,

I installed the beta firmware update for the jb4 for my 2018 golf r and I noticed that the ECU psi reading on the stable firmware is around 15-17 psi On map 2 91 fuel( normal stock values for a golf r) but once I installed the beta firmware 866 the Reported ecU psi reading dropped to 9-11 psi still on map 2 91 fuel.

Just for giggles i switched to map 0 on the Beta firmware and I noticed the ecu psi started reporting 13 psi.

I figured I needed to try something else.

I downgraded back to the stable version and the ÉCU psi reading is back to 15-17 psi.

Is there something wrong with the beta? Why is the écu psi reporting so low?

Included logs from both different firmware the logs were taken about 15 minutes apart....

Golf R doesn’t boost 9-11 psi stock.... help?

Please take a look at the logs, they are 4gear pulls; you’ll see which firmware is which in the .csv. Files I emailed you,

The email subject is : JB4 Beta issues golf r 2018

Thanks sir!
Covered via email.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#761)
Old
Blizz@rd Blizz@rd is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2020
Car: CUPRA R ST
Default 05-16-2020, 10:28 AM

Installed the JB4 today in my 2019 Cupra R ST with GPF, had to wait a few weeks for the delivery to europe. Already equipped with the newest 8_7 Firmware.

Would it be possible to add specific log Sensors for the exhaust temperature and pessure before and after the GPF? Too much pessure between Turbo and GPF decrease the IS38 durability and i would like to log this with the JB4.

Last edited by Blizz@rd; 05-16-2020 at 10:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
(#762)
Old
rhiza888 rhiza888 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2020
Car: GTI TCR 2019 with GPF
Default 05-17-2020, 05:56 AM

Hi,

I'm looking for a solid map6 for a 2019 GTI TCR with GPF.

The map should be secure.

I ask for a map6 as the basis for my logs.

Kind regards
Reply With Quote
(#763)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-17-2020, 10:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blizz@rd
Installed the JB4 today in my 2019 Cupra R ST with GPF, had to wait a few weeks for the delivery to europe. Already equipped with the newest 8_7 Firmware.

Would it be possible to add specific log Sensors for the exhaust temperature and pessure before and after the GPF? Too much pessure between Turbo and GPF decrease the IS38 durability and i would like to log this with the JB4.
You will need to fit physical pressure sensors in the exhaust system with a external monitor for something like this.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#764)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-17-2020, 10:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhiza888
Hi,

I'm looking for a solid map6 for a 2019 GTI TCR with GPF.

The map should be secure.

I ask for a map6 as the basis for my logs.

Kind regards
Before starting with a custom map first see how it does on the regular maps and add on top of that. Would be keen to see logs of the car and help you since they so rare so feel free to email to george@burgertuning.com


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#765)
Old
eclissold eclissold is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2020
Car: 2019 Alltrack SE 6sp
Default 05-18-2020, 01:26 PM

Does the app on my phone need to be connected to the JB4 anytime I am driving for the map settings to work or is it always Map 0 or 1 unless I connect my phone?
Reply With Quote
(#766)
Old
EpTx_GLI2016 EpTx_GLI2016 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2020
Car: 2016 Gli
Default 05-18-2020, 02:16 PM

The app does not have to be connected while driving. The JB4 will stay in the map you have selected until you change it.
Reply With Quote
(#767)
Old
jb4998 jb4998 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Nov 2019
Car: GTI
Default 05-18-2020, 06:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
Fault codes translation list in post 1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1C7J...gYSfaFFyD4fV6Y
Hi George,

Flashed to the latest update today and got the code:

50B6 - O2 B1S1 Signal to low

I've scanned with other devices and not seen the code before. I was wondering if the reading has anything to do with the O2 tap. Could the JB4 be giving this reading if my tap for the oxygen sensor is poorly or incorrectly done?
Reply With Quote
(#768)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-18-2020, 09:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4998
Hi George,

Flashed to the latest update today and got the code:

50B6 - O2 B1S1 Signal to low

I've scanned with other devices and not seen the code before. I was wondering if the reading has anything to do with the O2 tap. Could the JB4 be giving this reading if my tap for the oxygen sensor is poorly or incorrectly done?
It could be caused by the update process. If you clear does it come back? Do you get it on ignition on ?


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
(#769)
Old
blackgti blackgti is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2019
Car: M235I
Default 05-19-2020, 04:41 AM

I’ve been running 8_6_T3 firmware for a bit on Map 3 and I recently switched to 8_7 and my car feels sluggish under partial throttle. Went back to the previous firmware and it is certainly better. Just my two cents.
Reply With Quote
(#770)
Old
jb4998 jb4998 is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Nov 2019
Car: GTI
Default 05-19-2020, 05:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by George @ BMS
It could be caused by the update process. If you clear does it come back? Do you get it on ignition on ?
Code is coming back after clear. The ignition is in the on position, engine is off. I sent you a more detailed email about the issue. I am assuming at this point it's not related to the JB4 unit, however I am tracking a P013100 fault code now as well.

If you want to check out the email I just sent, it should be showing from Jordan. I'm wondering if I should pull the JB4 out for the time being and just put the car in the shop.
Reply With Quote
(#771)
Old
George @ BMS's Avatar
George @ BMS George @ BMS is offline
Legend
 
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Aug 2009
Car: E90 BMW 335i AT
Default 05-22-2020, 06:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4998
Code is coming back after clear. The ignition is in the on position, engine is off. I sent you a more detailed email about the issue. I am assuming at this point it's not related to the JB4 unit, however I am tracking a P013100 fault code now as well.

If you want to check out the email I just sent, it should be showing from Jordan. I'm wondering if I should pull the JB4 out for the time being and just put the car in the shop.
Remove the AFR connection keeping it in map 1 and see if you still get the fault.


2014 VW Golf 7 R
2014 VW Golf GTI
2019 Porsche Cayenne Turbo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
sir_ace
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com