JB4tech.com - International Turbo Tuning Discussion

JB4tech.com - International Turbo Tuning Discussion (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/index.php)
-   VW/Audi Group (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   JB4 for 2018+ B9 AUDI S4, S5, SQ5, RS4, RS5 (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49608)

nicotino15 08-01-2018 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
It's taking forever to sort out this minor IAT sensor bug, since I'm only able to trigger the fault every few days. But we're closing in on it. Once resolved we've got the systems ready for wide release, for the S4. Then we'll get to work on the RS3.

I love the way the TTRS looks!

Are you still getting the fault? I haven't gotten it in at least 3 weeks now. Although I know I say that and I'll probably get one today...

Terry - being that I'm getting IAT's of 130-170 on pulls, would I see much of a difference if I installed a larger intercooler? Would I only get a benefit after multiple pulls, or would it help with baseline?

Terry @ BMS 08-01-2018 02:31 PM

Yes it's one of those problems that comes up every couple of days or weeks. So we have to make a change, and drive a lot, to see if it was resolved.

Larger IC would lower IATs for sure. We're working on one.

Payam @ BMS 08-01-2018 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
Yes it's one of those problems that comes up every couple of days or weeks. So we have to make a change, and drive a lot, to see if it was resolved.

Larger IC would lower IATs for sure. We're working on one.

I think we're working on meth injection too, right? :)

nicotino15 08-01-2018 08:08 PM

Both of those features would be huge for this Texas heat

vw_alex 08-02-2018 11:38 AM

Would not mind testing in Canada with our 94 gas even with the random error. Can't wait to test...

George @ BMS 08-02-2018 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vw_alex (Post )
Would not mind testing in Canada with our 94 gas even with the random error. Can't wait to test...

We trying to keep the testers local for now in case we need to do a board swop in the event the chips cant be flashed at home.

vw_alex 08-02-2018 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by George @ BMS (Post )
We trying to keep the testers local for now in case we need to do a board swop in the event the chips cant be flashed at home.

Ok. If ever you change you mind, I would pass via my known JB4 reseller/tuner here in the Montreal region, VAG Motorsport. They would send it back for me if ever it needs a swap. ;)

nicotino15 08-03-2018 01:34 PM

Terry - I emailed you about this, but just wondering about map5. Is it a matter of further testing, or it you think it's too aggressive for E30? Or are you just trying to address IAT before additional map updates?

Is anyone else using their JB4, just curious because there was a lot of conversation before beta units went out, and it's been kinda dead since. I know once it goes live it will generate more discussion, but kind of surprised the stinger is getting more interest then S4 crowd.

Terry @ BMS 08-03-2018 03:29 PM

We collectively spend some time daily on the S4. Right now only maps 1-3 are well tested.

There is a higher boost map5 programmed but not tested across various conditions. You can experiment with if you want. Worst case is likely a CEL you can clear. Grab a log or two on E30 map5 and lets see how its working for you.

nicotino15 08-03-2018 09:11 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
We collectively spend some time daily on the S4. Right now only maps 1-3 are well tested.

There is a higher boost map5 programmed but not tested across various conditions. You can experiment with if you want. Worst case is likely a CEL you can clear. Grab a log or two on E30 map5 and lets see how its working for you.

Just wondering where the other S4 beta testers are?

Here's a log from tonight on map 5, doesn't really see more boost as far as I can tell, but it seems like it likes the E30.

Terry @ BMS 08-03-2018 09:45 PM

Around 30 BETA S4 systems out.. Most just email in to George or myself if/when they need help. Log looks good to me!

Payam @ BMS 08-06-2018 11:57 AM

I deal with a local S4 beta customer weekly. Terry also has his own S4 that I see him work on a few times a week. The S4 JB4 beta is a huge difference in performance over stock.

Kekela98a 08-10-2018 07:17 AM

Just installed a beta unit yesterday. So far so good. With 93 octane, which map has most of the other beta users settled on?

George @ BMS 08-10-2018 02:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kekela98a (Post )
Just installed a beta unit yesterday. So far so good. With 93 octane, which map has most of the other beta users settled on?

On 93 most use map 3.

Flexinator 08-16-2018 09:40 AM

any updates?

George @ BMS 08-16-2018 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flexinator (Post )
any updates?

IAT fault seems to be ok, having a slight issue with rough idle that we ironing out and we good to go.

Kekela98a 08-19-2018 04:57 PM

Running Map 3 without any codes until today. Had to reinstall the unit for an unrelated visit to the dealership for tire insurance issues and during a stop and go traffic I suddenly got a “drive system Malfunction” on my gauge cluster.

Stopped and deleted the code with obdeleven (forgot what the code was) and then I got another Code on the way home. Not sure what’s causing the codes. George thinks it’s the IAT bug.

The second code was P007A00, “charge air cooler temperature sensor bank 1.”

Terry @ BMS 08-19-2018 05:13 PM

Read codes via the JB4 itself, but if the code didn't reduce power or do anything, and disappeared when you restarted the car later, then yes it's the IAT bug we're hunting down in the SENT signal channels.

Kekela98a 08-19-2018 06:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
Read codes via the JB4 itself, but if the code didn't reduce power or do anything, and disappeared when you restarted the car later, then yes it's the IAT bug we're hunting down in the SENT signal channels.

Will keep an eye next time.

1st code - 8A4D
2nd code later - 8176

wyld 08-21-2018 07:00 AM

I've gotten the 8A4D error a couple times as well but only when I was in reverse!

Kekela98a 08-21-2018 09:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyld (Post )
I've gotten the 8A4D error a couple times as well but only when I was in reverse!

Got the same fault code again yesterday but it did stay cleared after clearing it so far.

Kekela98a 08-22-2018 05:09 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Return of fault codes.

wyld 08-22-2018 06:42 PM

Yep - same error as me and same message on the screen. George mentioned they have a fix and are just figuring out how they are going to package it up for us as an update.

George @ BMS 08-23-2018 04:19 PM

Guys we looking for a tester with a S4/5/SQ5 in Lexington KY specifically . If you in that area drop me a email.

Terry @ BMS 08-24-2018 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kekela98a (Post )
Return of fault codes.

If you are able to recreate the fault rather easily, as a test hit "start logging" on JB4 mobile and record say 5-10 min of just cruising around at various throttles, save the log, and email it in so I can check to see how often IAT is jumping around in your log.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Copyright 2007 - 2022, JB4tech.com