JB4tech.com - International Turbo Tuning Discussion

JB4tech.com - International Turbo Tuning Discussion (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/index.php)
-   Infiniti Q50 Q60 VR30DDTT (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Infiniti Q50 3.0t VR30DDTT Red Sport and Silver Sport BMS Stage1 & JB4 (https://www.jb4tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=46774)

JCB 05-14-2022 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Silversport22 (Post )
Hi All. After looking at the RS and SS boost per PSI it seems that map 2 would get my SS closest to a stock RS figures. Is Map 2 safe for a daily set and forget? I know I could push higher depending on gas but I like the comfort of where it is. Also I did some math using others map 6 customs (with 5psi being their highest entry) and in the end they seem pretty close to the map 2. Anyone know the last bit of taper burger built on their map 2? Should I be setting a map 6 to mirror the map2 but to taper slightly more the last few rpm entries? I thought even adding a few psi to a SS even at high rpm is still equivalent to the rs?

If you are happy with the boost level at map 2, I would leave it there. The car's ECU AND the JB4 both taper at high RPM, resulting in sufficient taper. No need to do anything further in Map 6. Map 2 is generally conservative if you have good quality 93 octane fuel.

JCB 05-14-2022 07:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XCCOS (Post )
Another update for anyone interested.
I ran more testing tonight. With the JB4 disabled, I did not have dangerously lean AFR on my runs. Under Map1, I again experienced severely lean conditions. I've found other posts from other forums reporting this issue with the JB4, I'm sorry to say.

JB4 without fuel wires installed/activated has no way to influence fueling. Even if the fuel wires were installed and malfunctioning to call for a very lean AFR it would show in the log under the fuelen field (just theoretical, I have not seen this ever occur in a log). I am always trying to learn more though. Can you post the log of your stock pulll where AFR looked good? Also link to the information about JB4 causing lean condition?

Silversport22 05-14-2022 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XCCOS (Post )
If I'm understanding you correctly, you're experiencing a case where you are accelerating, then the rate at which you accelerate decreases (like you suddenly started pulling a heavy object), and then the rate increases again (as if you were no longer pulling that weight). If that is true, I would believe you may be experiencing a timing pull from your car, which would be an octane issue, and you should go with a lower boost map. I also experience this at times but I have been having issues with AFR. You may want to check your logs for either of those.

The rate doesnít seem to decrease then increase Ö itís almost like it does a slight downshift and pulls harder.

XCCOS 05-15-2022 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JCB (Post )
JB4 without fuel wires installed/activated has no way to influence fueling. Even if the fuel wires were installed and malfunctioning to call for a very lean AFR it would show in the log under the fuelen field (just theoretical, I have not seen this ever occur in a log). I am always trying to learn more though. Can you post the log of your stock pulll where AFR looked good? Also link to the information about JB4 causing lean condition?


I cannot seem to get the file to upload at this time, so you'll just have to trust a stranger on the internet haha. As far as other forums discussing it, you can search 'JB4 AFR lean' or similar and you can find a few forums here and there discussing the possible causes, but nothing definitive for a solution. To me, it's reasonable that if my Map0 runs have no issue but Map1 leans out, and Map2 just a bit more from there, that my vehicle is unable to provide enough fuel when I use the JB4 to request more air. The reason for that is what I am not sure of, but I don't think it would simply be a fueling issue from the car if it behaves normally while stock. I'm hoping to get to the bottom of this so I can safely run the JB4 because most discussions I've seen around it have been nothing but rave reviews which is why I was excited to purchase and run it.

ilift66 05-15-2022 10:13 AM

First post and trying to clarify something. Several weeks ago I purchased a JB1 from Burger. My Q50 is pretty much stock. I run 93 octane. I have been playing around with 3,4 and 5psi over stock. Today I was looking at the JB1 hooked up to my car and noticed under maps (upper right hand corner) I have maps 0 through 8. I know the JB1 only has 0,1 and 3. I am able to select any map and it saves. I also selected map 6 and was able to select different boost and different RPMs. Is it possible I have the JB4? I just selected map 2 and is saved. Now when its saving it says JB4 saving. A little confused....
Thanks for any replies. Note: I don't have the bluetooth connection. I use my labtop.

ilift66 05-15-2022 05:38 PM

Disregard previous post. I have a JB1.

Bogarmora 06-02-2022 09:48 PM

JB4 connection issues
 
My JB4 connects with Bluetooth displays map and boost but no rpm,temps,AFR, I tried blowing and reconnecting every wire and taking it off resetting the phone and updating the app nothing seems to work when I unplugged the obd2 wire from the JB4 some data popped up then froze (JB4 for q50 vr30) thank you and sorry in advance for not knowing where to ask this I tried looking for it but didn’t find it on here

MohammedS 06-27-2022 06:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
On the IAT the good news is I was able to confirm that most of you are in fact recording MAF air temperature, rather than the intended charge air temperature, in the JB4 interface. I'm not quite sure yet what the best way to fix it is, but we're working on it. Definitely hold off doing any intake temperature comparisons until resolved, lol.


Has this issue been resolved? How can we see actual charge air temperature now?

MohammedS 06-27-2022 06:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bogarmora (Post )
My JB4 connects with Bluetooth displays map and boost but no rpm,temps,AFR, I tried blowing and reconnecting every wire and taking it off resetting the phone and updating the app nothing seems to work when I unplugged the obd2 wire from the JB4 some data popped up then froze (JB4 for q50 vr30) thank you and sorry in advance for not knowing where to ask this I tried looking for it but didnít find it on here

Your OBD2 connector is somehow not connected. I had the same symptoms once before because I had forgotten to connect it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Copyright © 2007 - 2022, JB4tech.com