N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion

N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/index.php)
-   N54 (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   E Series N54 JB4 (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10605)

moodi 02-13-2011 10:39 PM

I was reading firmware 20/1 updates ,terry mentions on the second point that he changed the boost limit for the first and the second gear ,how would this affect my take off (0-100)? any one tried this?

how about the adaptive PID? is this enabled by default on the new firmware?

Robmaster 02-14-2011 12:24 AM

what is PID???

Orlin 02-14-2011 12:30 AM

FAQ

What is adaptive PID?

Adaptive PID is not the same as full "autotuning", but it's an important component to it. It's an algorithm to adapt the boost control to your cars specific wastegate stiffness, mods, local conditions, etc. We'll be building upon it in future releases while we simultaneously add the other components needed.

As you do subsequent WOT pulls you'll see the FFMAX value under user settings adjust itself between 0-130. This represents how much of the duty cycle increase is fixed/hits instantly and how much is variable through the PID process. Ideally you want most of the increase to come through the fixed/feed forward as it will result in you hitting your target much faster than waiting for the PID to integrate to it. But if the value is overly aggressive you'll get overshoot and throttle closure. So the adaptive PID ranges FFMAX based on historic data collected during WOT runs. Right now its ranging one value which scales the entire 3D curve but the next step on adaptive PID will be to have it learn on a cel by cel basis (rpm, gear, target).

moodi 02-14-2011 01:35 AM

its mentioned on the first page of this thread...but i am curious to know if any one tried this with the new firmware, any change to take off(0-100)? ,hows the driving experience with this option enabled?

mobilefitt 02-14-2011 07:10 AM

Love CmGs with jb4 and Map 3. Pid is adjusting nicely! I see PID change when I swap fmic's, use richer mixes of meth, and add octane boost. Car is so friggin fast that without a dyno or a time slip, it's hard to say how well its working. My car is getting ready to hit 70K. It's my DD and been JB tuned since 30K. 1/4 mile runs from a stop scare me now so I rely on my butt dyno more and more.

infinity 02-14-2011 09:32 AM

I have configured the future use option = 2

Where it is configured in 1 st and 2 nd gear, is 10 psi (or configuration that is suitable for the 0-100m) ???

I use map 3 (methanol progressive)

elsabor67 02-14-2011 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by infinity (Post )
I have configured the future use option = 2

Where it is configured in 1 st and 2 nd gear, is 10 psi (or configuration that is suitable for the 0-100m) ???

I use map 3 (methanol progressive)

+1 (minus the meth part). I thought it was under the 1st and 2nd gear boost redux? I set those at 10.0 and they still go above 12-13 PSI in 1st and 2nd.

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 12:55 PM

You may see throttle closure spikes, DTC, etc, above that but the target should reflect what you entered. If not email in a CSV and we can check it out.

Red135 02-14-2011 02:43 PM

For my own sanity, could someone please verify for me that the JB4 won't connect to the laptop until it is installed on the car because of the need for the power source?

Darkcyd335xi 02-14-2011 02:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Red135 (Post )
For my own sanity, could someone please verify for me that the JB4 won't connect to the laptop until it is installed on the car because of the need for the power source?

That is correct! You need to have the JB4 installed on the car before being able to access it via laptop because of the need for a power source.

Red135 02-14-2011 02:57 PM

Thank you.

I was losing my mind until that thought occurred to me.

DCTepper 02-14-2011 04:13 PM

Dumb Question: I have downloaded the latest software and firmware, now what do I do? How do I update the JB4 module?

Tried searching the thread without luck (52 pages and growing is a wealth of information, but not easily found). Thanks in advance!

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 04:20 PM

You just go upload firmware from interface and select HEX file to upload. :)

DCTepper 02-14-2011 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
You just go upload firmware from interface and select HEX file to upload. :)

Now I feel dumb, I should have looked before asking. Thanks for your help! :)

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 07:31 PM

If any of you "lonely hearts" have time tonight/tomorrow morning and want to help the cause I have some new firmware that needs logging. While I'm out with the wife pretending I'm not thinking of work... ;)

Just email me.

GbreeE90 02-14-2011 07:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
If any of you "lonely hearts" have time tonight/tomorrow morning and want to help the cause I have some new firmware that needs logging. While I'm out with the wife pretending I'm not thinking of work... ;)

Just email me.

I might be able to help tomorrow :D

Darkcyd335xi 02-14-2011 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
If any of you "lonely hearts" have time tonight/tomorrow morning and want to help the cause I have some new firmware that needs logging. While I'm out with the wife pretending I'm not thinking of work... ;)

Just email me.

Emailed...I'll even bring the mrs with to help log! ;)

telkayat 02-14-2011 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
We sell and support the CM progressive kits. The new trunk mount fully integrated kit is nice and pretty easy to install. And compatible with 70/30 meth mixtures and soon hopefully compatible with 100% meth too. :)

I've had some customers email asking if they can use the $250 basic kit and just mount the pump in the engine bay and push the pickup in the washer fluid res. We've tried it before and it didn't work consistently but I'll do more testing. That would be a nice "ease of install" option if we can get the pump sucking properly.

Hey T, can you explain the bold portion of what you said? Are the new CM tanks suppose to be compatible with 100% meth?!?!

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 07:59 PM

The tank and pump have always been 100% compatible. It's just the flow sensor that can lock up with pure meth. So CM is testing something new and better. I hope to start testing it myself in a week or two.

GbreeE90 02-14-2011 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
The tank and pump have always been 100% compatible. It's just the flow sensor that can lock up with pure meth. So CM is testing something new and better. I hope to start testing it myself in a week or two.

Cant wait to see that! Im ready to get a kit and use the progressive meth!

LostMarine 02-14-2011 08:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terry @ BMS (Post )
If any of you "lonely hearts" have time tonight/tomorrow morning and want to help the cause I have some new firmware that needs logging. While I'm out with the wife pretending I'm not thinking of work... ;)

Just email me.

IM IN!!

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 09:31 PM

OK got plenty of takers. Thanks for the help guys! :)

Kevron 02-14-2011 09:40 PM

Lolz, I was just about to email you cuz I drive vast distances to work until March, plenty of opportunity to enjoy some spirited runs...

Terry @ BMS 02-14-2011 09:46 PM

If all goes well I'll post it in a day or two.

Jnic335i 02-14-2011 11:22 PM

So how many Mac users running JB4 interface? :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Copyright 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com