N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion

N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/index.php)
-   N54 (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   E Series N54 JB4 (https://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10605)

ajsalida 04-30-2020 08:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Payam @ BMS (Post )
All software versions will work, just follow the wiring guide depending on which FSB you have.

Thanks for responding. I'm a little dense though so could you clarify: what happens if I upgrade the software and do not rewire the version 1 FSB? Will I get same non-progressive meth or will I get something else?

AleksiH 05-02-2020 01:54 AM

Hello, I recently bought "Upgraded master chip" for my JB4. From BMS they told that would help to connect the phone. But when i changed that chip, car works fine except it's not as aggressive as before, feels like i'm 100 hp off, boost hits 5 psi lower than before. I'm was driving with map 2 before and after chip change. I could swap old chip back because phone doesn't work with new one either but it would be nice to have new chip there... what can i do ?

Payam @ BMS 05-04-2020 09:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AleksiH (Post )
Hello, I recently bought "Upgraded master chip" for my JB4. From BMS they told that would help to connect the phone. But when i changed that chip, car works fine except it's not as aggressive as before, feels like i'm 100 hp off, boost hits 5 psi lower than before. I'm was driving with map 2 before and after chip change. I could swap old chip back because phone doesn't work with new one either but it would be nice to have new chip there... what can i do ?

Would need a log to diagnose please.

AleksiH 05-04-2020 09:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Payam @ BMS (Post )
Would need a log to diagnose please.

Cant get log because cant connect my phone to jb4 even when changed that chip... Main reason I changed it was to connect phone. No fault codes nothing, car just changed completly after chip change... strange? :shrug With old chip I was getting random misfire codes, but not with this new. But that's not what causes that...

TomLopez 05-06-2020 03:15 AM

Hi guys,

I have a 335i E92 for 6 years now with the JB4 installed since 5 years. The car is still in very good conditions and never had any trouble with it except a Lambda sensor that had to be replaced. I also installed proactively Index 12 injectors 2 years ago.

It is currently in Stage 2 with BMW Performance exhaust and a Wagner intercooler. I am using mainly Map 2 with SP98. From time to time and mainly just after the engine has warmed up, after WOT (just after I release the throttle) the blinkers light are flashing and the JB4 goes in rescue mode MAP4. I do not have any codes in the DME.

Can this be related to menu 10 or 12 settings? To me it looks like the boost pressure continues to be too high for half a second after I release the throttle caudsing the JB4 to switch in MAP 4 after overboost detection, I might be wrong but any insight from you is appreciated :-)

Thanks,
Tom

Ness 05-10-2020 09:58 AM

Trans temp broken
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jonny535XI (Post )
Good afternoon all: Just upgraded to 32_14_t11 (stable) now trans temp is broken. Anyone else seeing this? Tried searching the threads, nothing recent.

-Update, I downgraded to 32_12 and the issue resolved.

Trans temp is broken for me too with both 32_14_T11 and 32_15_T1. I just installed JB4 on my 08 E92 335xi and couldn't find 32_12 available for download.

BreakMyWallet 05-12-2020 09:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Any idea why the filenames for my logs changed format? It seems like they still refer to dates, but not the correct dates.

MPTUNED335I 05-14-2020 08:49 AM

4/2 TRANSPORT MODE
 
howzit i just did the mhd jb4 back end flash when i put my car into 4/2 it goes into transport mode which is another option i can try to get it into backend flash mode????

Rule77 06-05-2020 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BreakMyWallet (Post )
Any idea why the filenames for my logs changed format? It seems like they still refer to dates, but not the correct dates.

Iím wondering the same thing. Does anyone know?

The915 06-06-2020 09:52 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Please help.... I have been scratching my head on this one so much that I'm losing hair. But I tried to do a log. The car is running like doo doo. Cant get passed code 2D33.

ludo 06-22-2020 11:22 AM

when on my JB4, it says the range number for meth safety is 0-3

what about the 4th :4 - Run a progressive meth safety on all maps


still available ?

Jaysn54 08-10-2020 05:08 PM

Hey so Iím having issues with the jb4 not connecting to server to download most recent firmware update. This is a brand new unit and m not getting any help other than YouTube. Any assistance would be helpful.

mg3 08-26-2020 10:25 AM

Hello new Jb4 n54 user. I have been looking and can not find the updated steering wheel controll map for latest stable firmware. Found a few on this thread but they are all old.

Thanks

MG

Terry @ BMS 08-29-2020 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mg3 (Post )
Hello new Jb4 n54 user. I have been looking and can not find the updated steering wheel controll map for latest stable firmware. Found a few on this thread but they are all old.

Thanks

MG

The one in the first post should be accurate?

Terry @ BMS 08-29-2020 08:33 AM

For those running meth + flex fuel sensor, I've opened up an extra input on the small 9 pin connector, spot 8, formerly where the clutch wire went that is no longer needed. This new input can be used for flex fuel input with a firmware update. Just email me if you need it and we will include that change in the next public firmware release.

Maffixx 08-29-2020 11:42 AM

Hey, owned my 335i for a couple of months now FBO, recently changed the injectors to index 12's 800 miles ago running mhd stage 2. Yesterday I fitted jb4 followed the instructions perfectly, took the car out today and in every gear it hesitates really bad like there is zero boost running the pump tune bef map 5 changed to map 1 and then 2 both doing the same thing definitely noticeable in 6th there is zero power (manual btw) , changed back to mhd stage 2 and it's better but at some points it feels like the car misses slightly then continues to climb the revs, never done this before hand. Also sounds like the bov is open constantly with the jb4? The car isn't throwing any codes either.

bmwboyee 09-21-2020 05:26 AM

I have had high battery drain since I installed the JB4. I am on firmware 14. I have heard that many people have flashed to firmware 12 and that solved their problem. My problem is I can't find the firmware 12. The link that is included in the thread shows only 14 and 15.

Is there somewhere I can find firmware 12?

Th31nfamous 12-08-2020 07:59 AM

Hey guys, just wondering if the exhaust flap can be open / close with the procedure shown below with a 08 135i, i can’t manage to have this method work, i’m able to control the flap in the jb4 menu but not the with the flasher method

Is it suppose to work or is it for newer car only?

Toggle between flap open, flap closed, and OEM operation, by pressing the button for 2 seconds and letting go. The left blinker will flash for valve open, right blinker for valve closed, and both blinkers for OEM operation. The valve setting is persistent and will remain in effect until you change it. If you hold the button too long you'll jump in to the in dash menu system below

RadarContact 12-08-2020 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Th31nfamous (Post )
Hey guys, just wondering if the exhaust flap can be open / close with the procedure shown below with a 08 135i, i canít manage to have this method work, iím able to control the flap in the jb4 menu but not the with the flasher method

Is it suppose to work or is it for newer car only?

Toggle between flap open, flap closed, and OEM operation, by pressing the button for 2 seconds and letting go. The left blinker will flash for valve open, right blinker for valve closed, and both blinkers for OEM operation. The valve setting is persistent and will remain in effect until you change it. If you hold the button too long you'll jump in to the in dash menu system below

What button are you talking about. Sorry, late to the party... is there another thread number that explains this? I have a 2010 535 and Iíd like to play with this just for fun.

Th31nfamous 12-08-2020 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RadarContact (Post )
What button are you talking about. Sorry, late to the party... is there another thread number that explains this? I have a 2010 535 and Iíd like to play with this just for fun.

My bad while looking for the video i saw this, i found out it was in the n55 thread

So it is probably the reason it aint working on my 08 135i

Look in this thead for the vid, first vid on the post

F Chassis N55 JB4 - N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion

Stevae 12-27-2020 04:15 PM

Sorry this is a bit off topic guys, but I need some quick information to make sure I'm not buying an unusable JB4.
If a JB4 G5 for N54 has a Single Turbo firmware already, can you flash it back to a twin turbo firmware? Is it as easy as a normal firmware upload? Is there any reason I should NOT buy a used JB4 with a single turbo firmware???? Thanks!

Jamesholden 12-27-2020 05:08 PM

Yes,it's ok you can go back to twin turbo ,but if you use jb4 app i think you have to buy the app

mg3 12-28-2020 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevae (Post )
Sorry this is a bit off topic guys, but I need some quick information to make sure I'm not buying an unusable JB4.
If a JB4 G5 for N54 has a Single Turbo firmware already, can you flash it back to a twin turbo firmware? Is it as easy as a normal firmware upload? Is there any reason I should NOT buy a used JB4 with a single turbo firmware???? Thanks!

Hope I can clarify a little.

JB4-

Here you dont flash specific Single turbo or hybrid firmware. You just update the firmware for the JB4 to the latest version. If you ar buying used you must manualy return all settings to default. If not your carr will probably not run o run very badly. How you update is through the app or with PC cable ... have a look at the stikies in this forum it is all explained you just need to read through. Same with default settings.

Your cars ECU MSD80/81

If you have a JB4 and would like to flash BEF (Back end Flash) either OTS ( off the shelf) map or custom map. You can do this and it is recomended and required for some features. Here you will be flashing your cars ECU not the JB4. For a BEF you can do it many ways the easiest is using MHD app and wifi dongle. The BEF maps for JB4 are free ... read throught the BEF thread. You must purchase the MHD BEF license (USD79 or something like that)

Anyhoo .... all this is reversable. Either your Jb4s firmware level or your ECU flash.

Stevae 12-28-2020 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mg3 (Post )
Hope I can clarify a little.

JB4-

Here you dont flash specific Single turbo or hybrid firmware. You just update the firmware for the JB4 to the latest version. If you ar buying used you must manualy return all settings to default. If not your carr will probably not run o run very badly. How you update is through the app or with PC cable ... have a look at the stikies in this forum it is all explained you just need to read through. Same with default settings.

Your cars ECU MSD80/81

If you have a JB4 and would like to flash BEF (Back end Flash) either OTS ( off the shelf) map or custom map. You can do this and it is recomended and required for some features. Here you will be flashing your cars ECU not the JB4. For a BEF you can do it many ways the easiest is using MHD app and wifi dongle. The BEF maps for JB4 are free ... read throught the BEF thread. You must purchase the MHD BEF license (USD79 or something like that)

Anyhoo .... all this is reversable. Either your Jb4s firmware level or your ECU flash.

When you say I must manually return all features to default, you mean though the app, correct? And you only get the app by paying for it on your phones apps site, correct?
Thanks for the explanation. I truly appreciate it.

mg3 12-28-2020 03:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevae (Post )
When you say I must manually return all features to default, you mean though the app, correct? And you only get the app by paying for it on your phones apps site, correct?
Thanks for the explanation. I truly appreciate it.


Correct if you ar purchasing a used Jb4 you will need to enter the configuration either throught the Jb4 app or throught the cable and change the settings to the default by hand.

Have a look here at post #3 and #4 for default values.

E Series N54 JB4 - N54Tech.com - International Turbo Racing Discussion


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Copyright © 2007 - 2020, N54tech.com