N54Tech.com - Your Source for International Turbo BMW Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old

Car: 335i
Default Rough idle, multiple misfires and limp mode - 11-02-2011, 06:39 AM

So i'm hoping someone has some advice as to what I should try to resolve this issue.

Yesterday I drove to work as usual. No problems. When I left work, I started the car and it was misfiring and chugging like crazy. Eventually went into limp mode (Yellow engine half clear/half yellow).

Pulled the codes, it said there were 6, but only 5 flashed when I checked.

30BB Injector Bank 2 or ECU, Internal Error
2D60 Fuel Mass, Monitor
29D1 Misfire Cyl 5
29D2 Misfire Cyl 6
29CC Misfire Multiple Cylinders

I have an 07 335i w/JB4 and DCI.

I tried clearing the codes but they came back again shortly after. Car barely had enough power to get back into the parking lot.

Very rough idle and when it goes into limp mode, the idle is surging up and down constantly.

I'm new to BMW, but after some research, I'm thinking a sensor or maybe o2 sensor...My plan is to upgrade to the newest firmware, clear the codes, try again. Failing that I'll get it towed home and deal with it there.

I replaced the plugs about 1000km ago, but haven't had any issues until yesterday...

Any thoughts? Thanks
(#2)
Old

Car: AW 335i 6MT
Default 11-02-2011, 07:58 AM

Probably a bad injector or injectors... Hard to say since you have misfires in multiple cylinders. There was a recall on a lot of the injectors take it to the dealer and see if your car qualifies for the new ones.

JB4, AR Design *********, AA Intercooler, BMS DCI, Vishnu Meth kit, AE exhaust, Koni FSD, Eibach Pro-Kit, 19" Iconz 880Z RB TURBOS
Best ET/Trap: 12.196 @ 122.693 (no methanol)
(#3)
Old
IXLR8

Car: 335xi
Default 11-02-2011, 09:19 AM