N54Tech.com - Your Source for International Turbo BMW Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default Help with my 535i - 10-10-2017, 06:43 PM

Hi guys. I have a 09 535i that has turned into a total nightmare.
The car's rev's surge and eventully the car shuts off after a couple of minutes. See the video. The following codes are what i'm getting. This car is 100% stock no mods ever done
3100 - Boost pressure control 2
2DEB - Power-management power failure
2AA3 - Camshaft sensor exhaust, loss
2AA2 - Intake camshaft sensor, gap loss
2ACB - DME relay short circuit
2CEF - Throttle actuator
2D09 - Throttle
2F9A - Ambient temp sensor (sensor's missing already have that part in just haven't plugged it in)

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMIPa9ke_SY

Last edited by Wuz; 10-10-2017 at 07:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
LessIsMore's Avatar
LessIsMore LessIsMore is offline
Inner Circle Member
 
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: 2009 535i Sport SAT
Default 10-10-2017, 07:06 PM

Mods and tuning?

Have you already searched this site for those codes and/ or done any troubleshooting?


2009 535i Sport
JB4 G5 | MHD E85 Hybrid BEF | VTT GC Lites | VTT Inlets | VTT Outlet | VRSF 3" D-P's | VRSF 7" FMIC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | Fuel-It TBI | BMS DCI | ER CP | Forge DV's | 3.5 Bar TMAP | RB PCV | Koni FSD | 15mm Rear Spacers
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
E36graduate E36graduate is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 227
Join Date: Nov 2010
Car: 335xi Sport
Default 10-10-2017, 07:06 PM

No a professional but trying to help.....

if you have a tune on, shut it off......you probably already did that! My car had an episode like that once and it was because I shorted out my jb4 which also shorted out my TMAP sensor at the DME.. All hell broke loose then. Shut off jb4, grounded tmap and everything is fine.

Battery good and charged?




2013 335i M-Sport - 6MT - Not too many mods.....Yet !
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-10-2017, 07:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessIsMore
Mods and tuning?

Have you already searched this site for those codes and/ or done any troubleshooting?
nope no mods at all. I got the crankshaft sensor replaced, waste of 115 bucks. made no difference. Vanos are clean too
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-10-2017, 07:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36graduate
No a professional but trying to help.....

if you have a tune on, shut it off......you probably already did that! My car had an episode like that once and it was because I shorted out my jb4 which also shorted out my TMAP sensor at the DME.. All hell broke loose then. Shut off jb4, grounded tmap and everything is fine.

Battery good and charged?
No mods or tunes at all. Battery is almost dead, but i tried with another and the problem is the same
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
E36graduate E36graduate is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 227
Join Date: Nov 2010
Car: 335xi Sport
Default 10-10-2017, 07:16 PM

Why not plug in temp sensor - reset codes and check codes again?




2013 335i M-Sport - 6MT - Not too many mods.....Yet !
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-10-2017, 07:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36graduate
Why not plug in temp sensor - reset codes and check codes again?
I thought that would be useless, but I'll give it a try. I get a message on the dash saying it's -40 outside.
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
E36graduate E36graduate is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 227
Join Date: Nov 2010
Car: 335xi Sport
Default 10-10-2017, 07:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuz
I thought that would be useless, but I'll give it a try. I get a message on the dash saying it's -40 outside.
Probably is.....not sure if it affects anything other than the temp gauge.....I was thinking it was somethings else, sorry.

Something is up with your throttle control, agree? Do you have any boost leaks before the throttle? Charge pipe leaking?




2013 335i M-Sport - 6MT - Not too many mods.....Yet !
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-10-2017, 07:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36graduate
Probably is.....not sure if it affects anything other than the temp gauge.....I was thinking it was somethings else, sorry.

Something is up with your throttle control, agree? Do you have any boost leaks before the throttle? Charge pipe leaking?
I literally have no idea. It was leaking oil from the oil filter housing. Got that gasket replaced and the oil cooler was messed up too and replaced. After that it started to have problems
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
LessIsMore's Avatar
LessIsMore LessIsMore is offline
Inner Circle Member
 
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: 2009 535i Sport SAT
Default 10-11-2017, 10:43 AM

A low battery charge can definitely make a bunch of random codes show up all the sudden. Are you sure the newer battery you put in was good? Low battery seems like the most likely cause of all those codes coming up all the sudden, especially in cold weather. Unless your DME got wet or something.

Clear all the codes, see if they return.
if so, search this site and other forums for the codes you are getting, to see what are the common causes and fixes.


2009 535i Sport
JB4 G5 | MHD E85 Hybrid BEF | VTT GC Lites | VTT Inlets | VTT Outlet | VRSF 3" D-P's | VRSF 7" FMIC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | Fuel-It TBI | BMS DCI | ER CP | Forge DV's | 3.5 Bar TMAP | RB PCV | Koni FSD | 15mm Rear Spacers
Reply With Quote
(#11)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-11-2017, 01:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessIsMore
A low battery charge can definitely make a bunch of random codes show up all the sudden. Are you sure the newer battery you put in was good? Low battery seems like the most likely cause of all those codes coming up all the sudden, especially in cold weather. Unless your DME got wet or something.

Clear all the codes, see if they return.
if so, search this site and other forums for the codes you are getting, to see what are the common causes and fixes.
I need a new battery for sure. Will the one on the picture work?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
(#12)
Old
casterson's Avatar
casterson casterson is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2017
Car: Audi A5
Default 10-11-2017, 01:51 PM

So is the battery definitely the issue?
Reply With Quote
(#13)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-11-2017, 02:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by casterson
So is the battery definitely the issue?
I doubt it, when I got the car it had the same battery and it didn't give any codes or issues, besides the oil leak. it's not the BMW battery, it looks like a normal size Camry or Accord battery.
Reply With Quote
(#14)
Old
LessIsMore's Avatar
LessIsMore LessIsMore is offline
Inner Circle Member
 
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: 2009 535i Sport SAT
Default 10-11-2017, 02:24 PM

After installing a new battery, you also need to register the new battery to the car using MHD or INPA, or at dealership.


2009 535i Sport
JB4 G5 | MHD E85 Hybrid BEF | VTT GC Lites | VTT Inlets | VTT Outlet | VRSF 3" D-P's | VRSF 7" FMIC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | Fuel-It TBI | BMS DCI | ER CP | Forge DV's | 3.5 Bar TMAP | RB PCV | Koni FSD | 15mm Rear Spacers
Reply With Quote
(#15)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-11-2017, 03:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessIsMore
After installing a new battery, you also need to register the new battery to the car using MHD or INPA, or at dealership.
I know, but I don't think the battery will make a difference because these problems came after the gasket and oil cooler were replaced
Reply With Quote
(#16)
Old
LessIsMore's Avatar
LessIsMore LessIsMore is offline
Inner Circle Member
 
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: 2009 535i Sport SAT
Default 10-12-2017, 08:35 AM

I don't see how the OFHG or oil cooler could cause the codes you are seeing. Maybe something else was damaged/disconnected during the install ...

It seems like an electrical issue, not a hardware issue to me. Check for blown fuses.

This thread seems like it may be similar symptoms:
http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36083


2009 535i Sport
JB4 G5 | MHD E85 Hybrid BEF | VTT GC Lites | VTT Inlets | VTT Outlet | VRSF 3" D-P's | VRSF 7" FMIC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | Fuel-It TBI | BMS DCI | ER CP | Forge DV's | 3.5 Bar TMAP | RB PCV | Koni FSD | 15mm Rear Spacers
Reply With Quote
(#17)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 10-12-2017, 08:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessIsMore
I don't see how the OFHG or oil cooler could cause the codes you are seeing. Maybe something else was damaged/disconnected during the install ...

It seems like an electrical issue, not a hardware issue to me. Check for blown fuses.

This thread seems like it may be similar symptoms:
http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36083
What fuse can it be? I think it may be a electrical issue too, just can't figure it out. I drove the car yesterday and after going about 1000ft the car lost power and completely shut off. It wouldn't start back up just kept cranking. It did eventually start but that was after 5-10 min
Reply With Quote
(#18)
Old
LessIsMore's Avatar
LessIsMore LessIsMore is offline
Inner Circle Member
 
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2012
Car: 2009 535i Sport SAT
Default 11-10-2017, 10:01 AM

OP, any update?

Have you tried resetting adaptations with MHD or INPA? Also clear 'other module codes'. See if that changes the behavior and/or codes.


2009 535i Sport
JB4 G5 | MHD E85 Hybrid BEF | VTT GC Lites | VTT Inlets | VTT Outlet | VRSF 3" D-P's | VRSF 7" FMIC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | Fuel-It TBI | BMS DCI | ER CP | Forge DV's | 3.5 Bar TMAP | RB PCV | Koni FSD | 15mm Rear Spacers
Reply With Quote
(#19)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 11-10-2017, 10:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessIsMore
OP, any update?

Have you tried resetting adaptations with MHD or INPA? Also clear 'other module codes'. See if that changes the behavior and/or codes.
Nothing yet, put a new throttle body and reset adaption and still nothing. The throttle body doesn't do it's click sound where it opens and closes. All the connections have power going through
Reply With Quote
(#20)
Old
BrownPower's Avatar
BrownPower BrownPower is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-11-2017, 01:57 AM

if checking the fuse panels didn't solve your problem, there is a series of 5 larger fuses inside the DME box. I had some similar codes and it turned out one of those were blown. My car did not start though.


Located in Toronto
Cars:
2006 Saab 9-3 Aero 335whp+390wtq
2008 BMW 535i; JB4, MHD PUMP BEF, DCI, VRSF **, ER CP TIAL BOV, BMS FSB METH KIT
Reply With Quote
(#21)
Old
turboalb's Avatar
turboalb turboalb is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Join Date: Sep 2014
Car: 08' 535i
Default 11-11-2017, 03:09 AM

It seem like this are ghost codes, Dme relay would definitely cause a no start issue. Check grounds and trace back anything that was touched when it was at the shop


08' 535i sport auto, jb4/mdh/xhp
10' x5m 11.72 1/4 record jb4 only
00' hayabusa turbo street bike
440 rwhp 1/8 5.42 141mph
07 SS trailblazer tuned/flex fuel
Reply With Quote
(#22)
Old
DOCRAMON DOCRAMON is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jul 2013
Car: 2008 535i
Default check the odb2 cables - 11-16-2017, 10:55 AM

I had something like that happened to me.
It was the odb2 cables to the female plug some got disconnected.
Reply With Quote
(#23)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 11-29-2017, 08:04 AM

Bmw shop says it needs a new DME, which i got but the new one can't be programmed without the cas and remote from the same car
Reply With Quote
(#24)
Old
BrownPower's Avatar
BrownPower BrownPower is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2015
Car: 2008 535i
Default 11-29-2017, 06:36 PM

Reputable shop?

You checked the fuses i mentioned in the DME box???


Located in Toronto
Cars:
2006 Saab 9-3 Aero 335whp+390wtq
2008 BMW 535i; JB4, MHD PUMP BEF, DCI, VRSF **, ER CP TIAL BOV, BMS FSB METH KIT
Reply With Quote
(#25)
Old
Wuz Wuz is offline
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2017
Car: BMW
Default 11-29-2017, 07:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownPower
Reputable shop?

You checked the fuses i mentioned in the DME box???
yep, they switched the dme cas and remote from a different car and it worked perfectly. its my 3rd time buying a DME, 1st one was wrong, 2nd one didn't have cas and remote. Maybe 3rd times the charm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2017, N54tech.com