N54Tech.com - Your Source for International Turbo BMW Racing Discussion
(#1)
Old
Mid_Night_F20 Mid_Night_F20 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 37
Join Date: Mar 2017
Car: Bmw 125i F20
Default N20 - how to adjust idle speed ?- PLEASE HELP - 08-09-2017, 04:32 AM

Hey guys,

Since installing a full exhaust with a ******* ** my car has issues when idling while in D or R gears, idle drops to about 600-650 rpm, sometimes even stalls or hesitates, quite bad vibrations are felt in the car also, when N gear is selected it idles very smooth and no vibrations.

I think it may just need more rpm on idle, how can this be adjusted on the F20 model with N20 motor?

thanks in advance !
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
TheDoctor's Avatar
TheDoctor TheDoctor is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 262
Join Date: Sep 2015
Car: BMW 335i
Default 08-16-2017, 10:19 PM

I don't think the jb4 would help you with that, but you can read out the dme then using WinOLS and the N20 damos files in the web you will be able to increase the idle when gear engaged.

If you have the right tools to read and write the ecu, I can help you with it.


335i M//, 07",IC, CP, BOV, LPFP stage 3, Meth kit, MHD ST,PI,PTE 6466, 32psi ~ 750whp
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
CedarPerformance CedarPerformance is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2017
Car: All of 'em
Default 09-07-2017, 09:56 PM

Many old-school mechanics told me that bouncing the idle is usually masking another problem. Sounds like perhaps something went wrong with oxygen sensors.
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
Mid_Night_F20 Mid_Night_F20 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 37
Join Date: Mar 2017
Car: Bmw 125i F20
Default 09-30-2017, 01:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDoctor
I don't think the jb4 would help you with that, but you can read out the dme then using WinOLS and the N20 damos files in the web you will be able to increase the idle when gear engaged.

If you have the right tools to read and write the ecu, I can help you with it.
Thanks for the reply.

What tools would I actually need? I'm a newbie to BMW to be honest...

Are you saying I need the car hooked up via the OB2 to get a fault reading first? Or actually a copy of the factory maps etc?

thanks !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2007 - 2017, N54tech.com